We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus La Corniche
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We've just returned from a superb weekend in Toulon. We watched Toulon play the Exeter Cheifs. We saw this hotel on the Trip Advisor website and booked it. What a gem! The position is perfect. On the coast with lovely views. The hotel itself is lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were on the small side. The bathrooms were very good. We didn't eat in the hotel, but wished we had booked breakfast. Not many places nearby. Plenty of restaurants for the evening though. We walked to the rugby ground and had lunch at the port. A great buzzy place. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grannysmith90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcorniche, Responsable commercial at Best Western Plus La Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Dear Grannysmith90,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience by giving such a nice comment.
We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and that you made the most of your rugby weekend. We have the privilege to offer our guests a high quality service with a very nice position indeed. There are a lot of restaurants nearby with a large variety of meals. We also offer a complete and varied breakfast, including sweet, savoury and home-made dishes.
The immediate surroundings are calm but you may enjoy the bustling activity near the beach and
the port, which is always a good experience during the rugby week ends. We kindly thank you
for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again at Best Western La
Corniche.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here with a couple of colleagues on a business trip in November. We booked a little late so had to book better rooms than usual. I had a garden room which had a separate lounge area and bedroom with ensuite bathroom. I think this room was designed for wheelchair access as it was on the ground floor and had a wet room type shower. The room was very nicely decorated and in very good order. The only slight niggle other than the rubbish pillows, was that it faced the entrance to the hotel and I could hear people coming and going late at night and in the morning. This didn't really bother me though. The staff at the hotel were very polite and attentive and all of them spoke very good English, meaning I didn't get much chance to practice my school French!
The breakfast was what you would expect in a French hotel, mostly bread, cakes, fruit, yoghurt, cold meat, cheese, etc with a small selection of cooked food (sausage, bacon, scrambled egg). The view from the restaurant watching the sun rise was superb. Breakfast was slightly expensive at 16 Euros.
The location of the hotel is what makes it slightly special, being right on the sea front. It was only 10-15 minutes walk into town and the marina.
Overall a very pleasant, clean hotel in a stunning location.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The view from the back of the hotel isn't great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcorniche, General Manager at Best Western Plus La Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Sir,

Our team are very pleased that you have taken the time to share your experience and comments on your stay at BEST WESTERN Hôtel La Corniche.

It is very important to us receive such feedback and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We acknowledge your comments regarding the pillows and it is something that our team will look into.

Offering a warm welcome and being attentive to our guests is part of our everyday commitment to quality.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind regards.

La Direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed there for 2nights and enjoyed our stay, we had a room with a balcony with a sea view but on the first floor but i won't complain as we got it for a good price including a lovely breakfast, the room is a bit on the small side but has everything you need, and the staff are very helpful and nice .the location is quite good, the have a parking but there is free parking at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ybdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcorniche, Directeur général at Best Western Plus La Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We all look forwards to welcoming you back here very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for a business conference because the price and location were better than the conference hotel. The rooms are definitely small, but who cares if you don't plan to do anything but sleep there. We had a room on the back side, overlooking the pharmacy. It was clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable. Free water in the mini fridge was a nice touch. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful - I was sick one morning and went down to ask for orange juice. Not only did the gal at the front desk get it for me for free, she insisted on bringing it up to my room and seeing I was settled comfortably! Breakfast was not included in the price, and frankly not worth what we paid. There's a little grocery store right around the corner and we got fresh baked goods there for less than a Euro. We also picked up more OJ to keep in the mini fridge. The location is nicely situated on the waterfront, with restaurants in walking distance. The only negative is that the elevator is really small and really slow. It's faster to take the stairs, even with big suitcases. We were satisfied with the stay and would probably choose this hotel again for another trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav-Bug222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcorniche, Directeur général at Best Western Plus La Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your stay at Hotel La Corniche.
We pride ourselves on providing an excellent level of Customer service and believe our team to have succeeded in this case.
We acknowledge your comments regarding the buffet available,through various evaluations of this service we believe the price to be competitive for the different choices available and the pleasure of enjoying it in our breakfast lounge with a stunning sea view.
We are aware that lift is small and unfortunately it is not something that could be extended during our refurbishments due to building regulations.
However,our team staff is available 24 hours to assist luggage and other requests.

We look forwards to welcoming you again to Hotel La Corniche and thank you for taking the time to comment on our establishment.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Dinky hotel in super spot overlooking Morillon beach just outside Toulon. Rooms are tiny but well air conditioned and amenable. Staff are superb and do everything they can to help you. Would recommend highly

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mappyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcorniche, Responsable commercial at Best Western Plus La Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Dear Mappyuk,
We appreciate your comment on your experience in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the setting and the location.
It is in our priorities to do everything we can to make our guests’ stay the perfect one.
We warmly thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again within our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Really nice room on the second floor overlooking the sea. On the small side but had everything you would want. As previously mentioned by other guests, hard to get cold water out of the taps, but free bottled water int he fridge.
Staff extremely helpful and pleasant and spoke excellent English but appreciated our restricted French vocabulary.
Had to ask for 'nibbles' with our drinks in the evening. Breakfast, buffet style, slightly chaotic but a good range of food. (Both cooked and 'Continental'.
Overall would return and recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tobago_Magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcorniche, Responsable commercial at Best Western Plus La Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Dear Tobago Magic,
We thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your experience
within our establishment. We are glad that you enjoyed your sea view room and you made the
most of your stay.
We pay a particular attention to assist and do everything possible to make our guests feel comfortable and have nice stays, and we also always appreciate to share and exchange with the guests as all the staff manage to speak several languages.
We are happy that you enjoyed our complete and varied breakfast, in which we are proud to offer savoury, sweet and home-made dishes. We kindly thank you for your recommendation, and would be delighted to welcome you again within our establishment.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had booked a Standard room, but the hotel wasn't fully booked for the first of our two nights, so we were given the choice of an upgrade for the first night with a move to a Standard room for the second night or a Standard room and no move. We chose the former, and had a room with a balcony, then moved to a smaller room. Both were fine, well-kept. Our only problem was that the water coming out of the cold water faucet in the sink was warm. I suspect this is not a new situation, as the hotel made a point of giving us a bottle of cold mineral water each day.

There was free parking behind the hotel (and a lobby-level entrance) or on the street in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toulon
Le Mourillon
Hotel Les Voiles
Hotel Les Voiles
#2 of 16 in Toulon
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amiraute
#3 of 16 in Toulon
385 reviews
Grand Hotel des Sablettes Plage,...
#2 of 9 in La Seyne-sur-Mer
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus La Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus La Corniche

Address: 17 Littoral Frederic Mistral, 83000 Toulon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Toulon > Le Mourillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Price Range: £62 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus La Corniche 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Mediterranean sea, the Best Western hotel La Corniche is situated a few steps aways from one of the most beautiful beaches from the coast.Ideally located in the Mourillon district, facing the small fishing port St Louis, the hotel will welcome you in a warm and unique atmosphere.The Best Western hotel La Corniche respects an eco-friendly way of life and is proud of its Ecolabel certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus La Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Toulon
Best Western Toulon
Toulon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing