We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Poor Location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel in Toulon due to going with Shearings Tours with the location being said as Centre of Toulon, well i must assure you that this is very much over rated as in a Taxi a good 10-15 minute journey according to traffic at a cost of around 9-10euros, to walk if in good health which many on the tour were not took 30 minutes to 40 minutes to the centre or harbour whatever you wanted such a shame as comfortable friendly and pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms were of good quality, suites were not seen. All rooms comfortable and of good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolwebb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    114
    37
    15
    11
See reviews for
31
83
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent 7 night stay at this hotel, only drawback being location as it is a good twenty minute walk into the centre of Toulon.
Good size rooms with air con, huge flat screen TV, comfortable beds, fridge and adequate wardrobe space. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable throughout. There is an outside terrace where you can take breakfast by the pool or sit and soak up the sun.
The breakfast offers everything you could ask for, wide selection of both continental and cooked options available. Evening meals were well cooked and presented by cheerful, friendly staff.
Unusually there is a pleasant area provided at the front of the hotel for smokers.
I would definitely be happy to stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Staying here for one week on a coach tour. Staff excellant, very friendly. The rooms are well furnished, plenty of room, comfortable beds, fridge and good wardrobe space. The bathroom is very well equiped with large shower, nice fitments and the best hairdryer I have ever had in a hotel. Air condition is very welcome in the rooms. Bar and restaurant area excellant as is the courtyard, nice to sit out in the evenings. Though outside pool on the small side, it is still great and very clean. Have to say the breakfast is really good with plenty of options.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentSharon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

And really it is: very nice well positioned city hotel. Jus few hundred meters from city center. Not so far from Toulon beach (half hour walk), Very nice, almost private, small swimming pool. Rooms and corridors needs refreshment (little bit tired), Staff is very nice and helpful, No room upgrade for Platinum members.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This Hotel is ideal for overnight stays and weekend breaks, within walking distance of the main line station, sporting venues and shopping centres, with the large market and cafes on the harbour front. I wouldn't say this was a four star hotel, a good three star, yes!
With a coach party travelling from south-east England and staying for six nights, we found the staff at reception efficient, the standard rooms and bathrooms were of an average size, but clean & tidy. But the constant noise of traffic from the busy A50 close-by and night-time temperatures of 22 degrees C meant windows kept closed and A/C on. Breakfast of a morning was of an average affair, something to suit all tastes, The swimming pool was large enough for a few strokes from one to the other, but cannot say about other facillities, as didn't use them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Robert G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to know that you had a smooth check in and appreciate your kind comments regarding our rooms. It is regrettable that you found the hotel only at average best. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this will help us look for more ways on how to provide you with a better stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
200 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having had 2 terrible stays recently in Holiday Inns it was with some trepidation that I found I had been booked into a Holiday Inn. This hotel is pretty standard, people are friendly, I got updated to an executive room which was pretty standard. A bit of a funny smell, a regular clunk from some machine somewhere, but clean and spacious enough. Didn't try the restaurant for anything other than breakfast, but again service was OK. Corridors could do with some love and a lick of paint but for a night or two it's OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Biddazzu,

Thank you for choosing us again and taking the time to write a review about your stay. Although I would have preferred you had a better stay, I am glad that you appreciate our hotel staff and the cleanliness of our facility.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfalls especially with the unusual smell and noise levels that you have experienced. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions will be used to consider improvements in areas where needed.

Once again, thank you for staying and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a good stop over for our one night stay in Toulon. Staff were helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was average but all fresh. Parking for our car was easy and also hotel was relatively easy to find

Room Tip: Book an executive room - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enigmaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulon hotels
Hotel Amiraute
#3 of 16 in Toulon
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Mourillon
Hotel Les Voiles
Hotel Les Voiles
#1 of 16 in Toulon
158 reviews
Le Mourillon
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Corniche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre
Address: 1 avenue Rageot de la Touche, 83000 Toulon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Toulon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre is ideally situated in the heart of the city, and is close to the Port, the 'Palais Omnisport' stadium, the Opera house , also to the shopping district, and only 5 minutes walk from the railway station. The hotel has 80 comfortable rooms , non-smoking rooms and rooms reserved for guests with reduced mobility are available on request. The rooms are fitted with air condition, WiFi internet access , satellite TV and Canal +. They have an office space and all rooms have tea and coffee-making facilities. A gym room is available for our guests, as well as an outdoor swimming pool in the sunny season Our recently renovated restaurant 'L Observatoire' proposes traditional French cooking and a warm and friendly atmosphere. The bar 'L Escale' will welcome you for a pleasant and relaxing moment. In the sunny season, lunch and dinner can be served on the terrace next to the swimming pool Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre has 130 m of adaptable function space. Designed to ensure success for your meetings and business events, the conference rooms are equipped with WiFi internet access and offer capacity for up to 130 participants. Underground parking facilities are available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre Hotel Toulon
Toulon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing