We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French shabby chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dauphine
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“French shabby chic”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The fantastic location of this hotel is enough to make you happy with your choice. The rooms are small but clean and tidy. Don't forget to take your own tea, coffee and kettle as the French don't provide them. Also, take your own shower gel as they will not replenish the very small bottle provided on arrival. Breakfast is good and if you have parked in the car park near by, the hotel will stamp your ticket for a discount.

Room Tip: Ask the desk to turn on the room aircon before you go up to the room. And use the stairs as the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-young-five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    118
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
28
96
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night, found this to be a basic and relatively calm hotel located in the heart of the city.

We arrived in Toulon while there was a Rugby match going on and the city was filled with fans. In addition to shouting fans a lot of people were using their car horns. Needless to say, it was very loud outside.

We reserved a "Comfort Plus" room, which is a bit larger than the regular rooms. The room was indeed large and even with the noise outside, it was very quiet (great noise-isolating windows). The room was modern and clean.

Room Tip: The Comfort Plus rooms are a bit larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
970 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a decent, basic hotel. It's not a modern and fancy hotel. It's in a great location, in the middle of Toulon's city centre and a short walk from the Opera House. There is also a car park nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishTemplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for one night in January and it was ideal being so central in the pedestrian area, and near to nice restaurants and the Opera House. We arrived early from the train (before check-in time) and were given an upgrade as our room wasn't ready which was very helpful. The staff were friendly, spoke good English and showed us how to find the nearby parking because next time we expect to arrive by car. Unlike other reviews, our room had a kettle, paper cups and drinks! We also thought the buffet breakfast good value and better quality than some chain hotels (eg some organic products; nice bread and croissants etc from a local bakery).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A group of us stayed for 3 nights. The position in the centre was good on foot, but difficult to find in the one way system if driving. Rooms were small but comfortable and clean with an up to date ensuite shower room. Oddly a kettle was provided (brilliant for France) but no mugs/cups/spoons! just a couple of sachets of coffee. Throughout our stay this was not changed despite requests. Also we were left without any bath towels one of the days, and I had to make a big repeated fuss to get any!!
That said we enjoyed our stay, the included breakfast was better than expected and the staff were always very polite -if not very efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul / Turkey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Such a cute hotel in the middle of the city, very close to the main attractions and nice restaurants. The parking is very close and they have a special agreement with the hotel so ask for a stamp on your parking ticket. The rooms were basic, small but very clean. The breakfast was included to the price with limited food choices but it was ok. I would definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is not an expensive hotel with fancy amenities but, that said, it served us well for two nights. Our experience found all the staff helpful and willing to slip into English when our French gave up. Our room was compact but perfectly functional. Free wifi was a big plus. Didn't seem to be able to adjust the aircon but that didn't bother us as the temp was only high 20's. Breakfast was pretty good at 9 euros. Location is a big plus as it's a 15 min walk from the station and an even shorter walk from the marina where there are loads of nice places to eat at reasonable prices. The lift is a really small so two adults plus luggage was about it! We found the hotel very good overall for the price and taking into account its great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulon hotels
Hotel Amiraute
#3 of 16 in Toulon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Mourillon
Hotel Les Voiles
Hotel Les Voiles
#1 of 16 in Toulon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dauphine

Property: Grand Hotel Dauphine
Address: 10 rue Berthelot, 83000 Toulon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Toulon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dauphine 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dauphine has a central location, close to the port, the Mayol Stadium, The train station and the main touristic attractions. Parking at 50 metres. Free wifi in the rooms. Buffet breakfast with a selection of organic products. 3 Stars hotel combining authenticity, convinience and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Toulon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing