We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Ciboulette

La Ciboulette
Ranked #14 of 465 Restaurants in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
627 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A memorable lunch”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Decided to eat here because of its Michelin star and because the owners of our apartment in Annecy recommended it and we weren't disappointed. Situated on an almost invisible little pedestrian alleyway that is all but hidden from the nearby throngs of tourists, La Ciboulette is a quiet and nearly elegant oasis in the overly busy old city of Annecy. The staff are almost too formal but they are efficient and they warmed up over time. The fixed price menu was overwhelmingly delicious--from the initial amuse-bouches including chèvre canapés, and cucumbers in a cream sauce, through two superb appetizers of lobster with wild asparagus and the most amazing roast pigeon in a rich brown mushroom sauce, to main courses of velvety smooth sea bream with asparagus, followed by a superb cheese course and delicately flavored creme fraiche to a dessert course of a cherry clafoutis with crisp sugary wafers and a strawberry mousse served in a chocolate basket accompanied with a light basil ice cream, to the coffee and petit fours accompanied by an astoundingly light but intensely flavorful cherry mousse (it was so delicious that my wife told the waiter that it brought tears to her eyes and he immediately responded by bringing her another), the meal was really all that we could have hoped for. This was not cheap, but for 57 Euros per person it was a memorable and delicious meal prepared and presented with skill and grace.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank v0yageur22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    158
    50
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
299 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant lives to its name and reviews ( for this price point ie. price value ratio). The service staff were excellent. The food was of high quality especially the lobster offering (best lobster we had in France). There was a mixed of local and tourists in the restaurant. The place has outdoor and indoor dining depending on your preferences. I would definitely return to dine given the budget. If you have a few days in Annecy and for a less expensive but equally enjoyable dining experience, give Le Denti a try. You will enjoy both places.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Cosy corner - nice culinary experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

La Ciboulette is situated in a cosy courtyard in Annecy, not far from the lake. The reception and the service were friendly and correct but not overwhelmingly personal. Well, the place was booked on this Saturday evening. The menu was very satisfying without exception. Lots of herbs and, of course, ciboulette (chives). The selle de veau was perfectly cooked. The beautiful food arrangements on the plates were worth to be shown in an art gallery! The 5-course menu at a very fair 70 € per person for a 1-star, with 2 amuse gueules. A very commendable restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant for a special meal due to the TA rating and Michelin star and were not disappointed! The location is great, close to the centre of town but in a cute cul de sac.
Service was fantastic - staff were friendly, patient and very encouraging with our bad French.
We both had different items from the gastronomy 3 course menu and loved every course. Delicious lobster, tender veal, incredible chocolate/berry dessert and amuse bouche too.
If I was being really picky I could mention that I wasn't a fan of the butter and it was a little hard. Such a minor point though as everything else was spot on.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Whales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
2 reviews
“Good experience”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Good restaurant, meals are delicious. Service is good. Plat is well represented. Recommend absolutelly

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Ciboulette also viewed

Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
 

Been to La Ciboulette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing