We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of L'Olivier

L'Olivier
Ranked #105 of 476 Restaurants in Annecy
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Enjoyed a splendid Valentine´s evening meal here and was suprised and the quality of the food -made from fresh ingredients, and the quantities, which were ample without being overly rich and filling. Our bottle of rosé came perfectly chilled and the service was fine without being intrusive. My only complaint was that my food was not quite hot enough - by the time the plates were carried up the stairs (on a cold feb. evening) the food lost much of its heat. If the plates were warmed up first and possibly covered was well, this could be avoided. Otherwise pleased.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    107
    47
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fällanden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Inspired & Delicious”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Tired after a long ride I got this restaurant recommendation by the receptionist of the nearby hotel Pré Carre. Just wanted a light little something before going to bed. To make it short: What a pleasant surprise it was! As a main I had a filet of Dorade, served on top of deliciously spiced aubergine slices, surrounded by three small portions of light vegetable mousse and a deliciously spiced little pot of sauteed moroccan style vegetable - it made my evening! L'Olivier seems to have many 'habitués' which is always a good sign. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Volker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Generouse plates.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This French bistrot-type restaurant is in a corner of Place Carnot, between the old town of Annecy and it's shopping district of Rue Carnot. The restaurant isn't huge and most of the tables are a flight up the stairs and you very quickly have the feeling of being in a crowded environment dut to the lack of space between tables. The terrace in summer is more welcoming.

Though the quality of the food is good but not exceptional, you tend to leave the place with a full stomach, your belt unbuckled, due to the very generous portions in your plate for a reasonable price. Don't expect fine French cuisine. This place serves a more rustic Southwestern influenced cuisine with the quantity of food accordingly. I would recommend the lamb, the duck or the beef tartare.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldtrotterCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GREAT RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I had standard cuisine but it was exceptionally well do and not too expensive. Popular outside dining. Cozy inside. Lively ambience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laciii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Olivier also viewed

Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to L'Olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing