We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location and this cramped rambling hotel could not spoil it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and this cramped rambling hotel could not spoil it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We paid a premium for one of the few rooms with a balcony and a view of the canal. A beautiful setting with the lake down the lane and the square opposite.

The down side was that we had to put the TV on the floor, stack two chairs on top of one another and put the case rack in the toilet to make enough room to put a case on top of the fridge so we coul walk around the bed!

The up-side is the location and the friendly staff. The room was clean and the air-conditioning worked.

A hint on breakfast: You can get an anglo breakfast (eggs and bacon) at the cafe just arount the corner for less that the cost of the hotel's ham and cheese roll.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    125
    67
    28
    11
See reviews for
38
174
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have just come back from Annecy and the Palais was a great location to explore the old town and have a comfortable place to stay when you have done all your walking. The hotel is always full on a Saturday when the town is busy but there are still plenty of restaurants and bars and plenty of atmosphere. We stayed in ROOM 303 which faces out over the square and the river and high enough to leave any street noise as nothing more than a background hum. We chose not to have breakfast, there are so many nice places to have breakfast in the town that it gave us more choice. The room was very clean and deserved its 3star status. Parking can be a problem but there are two free car parks close by (one next to the police station) which aren't far away or you can choose the underground CPs closer, the hotel will give you a voucher for the period between 7pm and 9am each day and you will need to pay the difference. You can drive up to the hotel entrance using the intercom at the entrance to the pedestrian zone however car parks are close so not much of an inconvenience.
Would stay again at this hotel and would recommend both the hotel and the town to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank two59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac,MD
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Very worn and run down, in the middle of a crowded tourist area, very small uncomfortable room.In life you usually get what you pay for and this is partially true here because the cost was more than it was worth. Parking was difficult, could not easily pull up to hotel to unload because it is in a pedestrian zone of the old town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psdunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Annecy hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in August; we hadn't booked and found this hotel by chance - and what a find!

Lovely and charming, very clean and welcoming.

We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on this and the only down side to our stay was the lack of parking, but this is understandable considering the location othe hotel.

Would stay again and recommend to others.

.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mikadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights in the middle of August coinciding with the Festival du Lac, and Annecy was absolutely heaving. We watched it all from our superior room on the 4th floor, soaking up the atmosphere, but the joy was that we could close the windows, turn on the air conditioning, and we couldn't hear a thing - a real bonus.

Our room was a bit small, but that was compensated for by the sheer convenience of the location. Nearby restaurants were better than expected and for an escape from the bustle, we found a charming wine bar on the ramp up to the castle which was a great respite.

Parking was tricky and carrying luggage to and from the car park was a pain, but the hotel even managed to store a bike securely for us in their cellar

A previous reviewer mentioned the charming lady who served them at breakfast and we would recommend her as well - a funny and cheery start to the day

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank williams_garsington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

You can't be much more at the centre of annecy than this! This is the perfect starting point for exploring the old Annecy, a lovely medieval town.
The hotel itself is an old building, or rather a series of (probably century-old) houses built next to each other and transformed into a hotel. This is beautiful for a couple of lovers' extended weekend, but there are no miracles: The rooms are small (even though we had the luxury ones), and feel overall cramped. We were directly under the roof, which was a dream of a love nest, but I could not completely stand under the shower (I'm 1.68M, so not exactly basketball player material). If you need more room, you're probably better off at the Novotel, and you'll only walk 10 minutes to get to the center. If you want 'romantic', on the other hand, this is definitely it!
Everything is in walking distance, you will not need a car. Neither will you be able to park it anywhere near the hotel (you've been warned). My tip: The parking at the 'stade nautique' is a 10-minute walk from there, and is situated directly beside the main police station, so your car will still be there when it's time to go home.
The best bars in town are a few meters away from the entrance (The café des Arts was nice, on the way to the Palais de L'isle). This is great for a last nichtcap after the great dining experiences Annecy has to offer. It's less great if you're trying to sleep. It will be noisy until midnight -- one night, the noise even went on until 2AM. I doubt it's possible to sleep before midnight with a window open. This, of course, is not a problem if you opt for the bar until the early morning hours (probably the better option).
We thought the bed were great (firm) and we slept well. The room was clean, and had AC. There was some room (about half the total volume) left in the minibar for my stuff, which I personally love (I'm cheap. I take my own bottles of water).
In short: This is where you take your girlfriend for a romantic night or two, but probably not where you take your family for a week of relaxation. I loved it and had a great time, hence four stars -- YMMV.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrfrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Right in the heart of the most picturesque part of this eminently picturesque alpine town, the hotel is a perfect place from which to experience Annecy for a night or two.
Staff were friendly, rooms spacious enough and well enough appointed for an3 star hotel at this price, especially in peak summer when we were there.
Breakfast was decent in the cheery breakfast room.
Be advised parking is a few minutes walk away and car access to the hotel is challenging when there are a lot of tourists around.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
0.3 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#7 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#16 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais de l'Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais de l'Isle

Property: Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
Address: 13 rue Perriere, 74000, Annecy, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Palais de l'Isle 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Palais de l'Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing