We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, decent size room, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The fellows who run this place seem to genuinely enjoy their work. They were always helpful, cheery and welcoming. The old part of Annecy is close by, and the lake is an easy walk. The room we had was decently large by European hotel standards, and the bathroom was updated. If you are a light sleeper, or like to keep your window open at night, I strongly recommend getting a room away from the street. The Saturday night crowds can be noisy, and the buses often stop by the front of the hotel. That was the only concern we had with this excellent property.

Room Tip: Get a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRDEagan_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Decent hotel and centrally located--walk to train station and lake easily. My single room was tiny and on the street side, which can be loud. TV worked. Bed was small but OK.

Breakfast was decent for 7 euros. Hosts were helpful. But be warned, there is no elevator, so you'll have to climb at least one flight of stairs.

Room Tip: Single rooms are probably on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were traveling by train, so we wanted a hotel by the station. The Hotel Alexandra is less than a five minute walk from the train and bus station in Annecy. The hotel is also very close to the lake and the old town. The location is very convenient. Unlike many of the the TA reviewers we never met the owners, but became very familiar with the hotel manager. He is very welcoming and helpful. He gave us restaurant recommendations and offered to make reservations for us. He gave us a brief overview of the area pointing out highlights and directions. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet for 8Euro per person that is well worth the price. The buffet is a typical European breakfast buffet with cold meats, cheese, yogurt, cereals, breads, croissants, juice and coffee. Although it is very nice to be sure this is a 2 star hotel. No elevator, no A/C, no in room safe or mini-refrigerator. However, there is an in room water heater to make tea or instant coffee. The rooms a clean and typically European small in size. There is very little storage space, so fully unpacking is unlikely. The bathroom is also very small with no tub and a shower reminiscent of something from an old cruise ship. Although the hotel has installed double doors/windows pedestrian and traffic noise can be a problem for street side rooms.

Room Tip: Try not to get a street facing room and remember there is no elevator, so you have to carry your lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Propriétaire at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Cotta,

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, the quality of our services and hospitality of our team.
In fact, we took a few days off after the summer so we have not had the opportunity to meet you.
Have you stayed in a standard room. Next time, do not hesitate to book a superior room or suite that offers a size and comfort.
Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you next time.

Nicolas and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

A 2 star hotel that treats you like a five star guest. Got a canal view room and was very clean and great view. Asked the hotel in advance to book restaurants for me and they got back to me within minutes. I cancelled hotel splendid to book this hotel, brilliant decision. P.s didn't have breakfast here, so can't comment...and it doesn't have a lift...but am sure they will bring your suitcases to the room if you can't.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whistlermack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Propriétaire at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear whistlermack,

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and in particular the view of the canal offered some of our rooms.
In fact, we help to carry luggage for customers who need it with pleasure.
We share your support with our team.
Thank you again.

Nicolas, Patrice and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Wonderful staff who were always ready to help with restaurant recommendations (and were just as quick to tell you where to avoid). The room was charming and comfortable-- it's small by American standards, but get over it you're in France. The value was amazing, excellent location, clean, mostly quiet. We were there during the Fête de la Musique and had a DJ right outside the window until late one night, but I can't hold that against the hotel-- every other night was fine. The hotel has installed double windows which work great. The breakfast isn't included, which is good, it's only average and there are much better options just around the corner.

Room Tip: No need to spend extra for a canal room, which I thought would be nicer and quieter. While it was ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastroCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Propriétaire at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear CastroCathy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed all of our establishment.
We hope your return trip went well.
Thank you and hope see you again.

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a super three night stay at Hotel Alexandra. Super location and super staff who helped with directions, recommendations and kept our four bikes secure despite not really having the space to do so. Very kind! The hotel is small but perfectly formed with a lovely breakfast room and super options for great value! Everywhere was spotless and when we ordered some drinks before going out, we were given complimentary crisps! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estonia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Propriétaire at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Estonia2012,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
You enjoyed our hospitality, our guidance and breakfast and we are delighted.
Indeed, we have the ability to offer hot drinks, soft drinks, beer, wine glasses, champagne ... to our customers. This allowed you to drink after bike rides!
It was a pleasure to welcome you!
Thank you again.

Nicolas, Patrice and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here in July during Bastille Day, 2 adults and one five year old. It's in a great location, within walking distance to the center and park. The staff is great and helpful. The rooms are clean, modern bathrooms, too. No Aircon, so if you open your windows expect some typical street noise.
It was a little tricky finding out how to unload our stuff, but you just pull up on the sidewalk across from the hotel while doing that. Be sure you ask the staff for the voucher for the parking garage (about a 3 minute walk away). There must have been some miscommunication, because he knew I was parking my car in the garage for 3 days, but didn't give me a voucher...just told me I didn't have to pay during the night. When I picked up my car, the garage bill was much larger than expected, and the staff guy said I was supposed to get a voucher from them before paying. He was great and fixed things and took some money off the bill, but I still may have paid more than I should have. But his kindness and apology made up for that. They also let us keep our cooler freezer packs in their freezer. The staff were great. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Propriétaire at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Goldtoes,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
Thank you to report the quality of our services and hospitality of our team.
We have indeed nights parking in certain parking garages in the city. We must give you a coupon before pay parking.
We have indeed made a gesture on your bill because you set the parking before applying the coupon.
Thank you again and see you soon.

Patrice, Nicolas and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.9 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#5 of 47 in Annecy
1,101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atipik Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atipik Hotel Alexandra

Address: 19 Rue Vaugelas, 74000, Annecy, France (Formerly Hotel Alexandra)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#2 Business Hotel in Annecy
#3 Best Value Hotel in Annecy
Price Range: £58 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Atipik Hotel Alexandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atipik Hotel Alexandra is ideally situated 300m from the lake, 200m from the railway station and the entrance to the old town. Personalised hospitality, family atmosphere and the charm of the place, all add to the comfort of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atipik Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Annecy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing