We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atipik Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is an excellent friendly, clean hotel in the center of Annecy. I had booked a room with a view over the canal which was great and it had two large windows which was very useful as it was very hot when we were there. An old building that has been decorated in a modern tasteful way.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful, suggesting places to visit, eat and supplying umbrellas for us in a downpour.
Minor problem with the shower not keeping to temp.but then you can't have everything perfect in the real world.
Would highly recommend this hotel and we will certainly use it if we are back in that area again.

Room Tip: Try to book one with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milne258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Réceptionniste at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Milne258,

First of all, thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Actually, all the team do his best, everyday, to make your stay better. We are really happy to read that we succeed to offer you a stay at your convenience.

We will be glad to welcome you again and to give you some additional advices to discover Annecy. So do not hesitate to visit our website or to contact to benefit from our best offers and prices.

Best regards.

Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    311
    48
    7
    0
See reviews for
108
496
58
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here on our first real night of our 3 week road trip and loved it.

I have been to Annecy a handful of times in the past and always wanted to take my significant other... and boy did we enjoy it. Town itself is a bit toursity... although arriving on the weekend of major festival probably didn't help! The town is beautiful - particularly at night and the surrounding area and lake is wonderful.

We enjoyed a big bike ride during the day and one of the best meals of my life by night.

The hotel itself is much as you would expect in a town like Annecy, the price you pay, and the location within the town.

The rooms are small - fair enough, but you're not there to hang out in your room and we had more than enough space to unpack, shower and sleep for two of us.

No lift - so what. It's not like there are 5 stories here and it's part of the huge charm that you get staying in these older places. If you want sterile lifts and larger rooms - stay in a chain on the outskirts of town.

Staff - fantastic. Really helpful for everything from checking in, breakfast, advice on town maps etc.

Parking - okay. This was a bit of a pain and an expense we hadn't really considered. But let me tell you - this is completely common in all these little places - and again, if you're not prepared to pay a little extra to park your car... stay on the outskirts and it'll cost you taxis. For the majority of guests I would imagine parking isn't a problem - and to be honest a couple of blocks walk and a few extra Euro not a huge issue.

Would I recommend it to others - absolutely. One of the better places I've stayed in Annecy in terms of cost and convenience.

Would I stay there again - hopefully!

nb. probably could do with better pillows :)

Room Tip: Given central location - there may be some street noise. Although the double glazing did remove the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roamingfellowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Réceptionniste at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you a lot to share your opinion about our hotel.

We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in Annecy and with us. That's why we are going to transmit your feelings to the rest of the team because we are all working in the same way : offer you the best stay as possible.

We totally agree with you. Annecy it's a wonderful town.

We will be very glad to welcome you again in our hotel. For your next stay with us, we will give you other activities, ideas and more advices.

Pending this pleasure, do not hesitate to visit our website or to contact us to benefit from the best offers and prices.

Best regards.

Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is very close to all the touristy things in Annecy. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and go out of their way to help - eg carrying my heavy bag up the stairs.
The rooms have just been recently done up so they are quite funky - but still very small. The superior double room we booked didn't have air conditioning and looked out onto two busy streets either side of the room. It was so noisy that we didn't open the windows - but it was also incredibly hot in the bedroom. So we didn't sleep all that well at this hotel. The noise goes late into the night and starts about 5am.
The breakfasts were really good and the breakfast room looks as if it has just had a wonderful lime green makeover with a lush tree mural on the roof.
The hotel has a special arrangement with the city car park 5 minutes down the road so you can get subsidised car parking. However as we were there during massive rain showers this turned out to be a real pain - especially with the one way streets which meant it was difficult to travel back to the hotel to collect our luggage. Overall we thought it was a hassle having a car in Annecy and we think on reflection it would have been better value and more convenient if we had stayed outside of the city and just visited the city during the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Réceptionniste at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear bluekakriki,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our establishment.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast and the location.

Apparently you have been disappointed by some points.

It is true that we do not have air conditioning, because the technical constraints of a building 200 years old historical area in ranked do not allow us to do so. Fans are available in the rooms

All our windows are phonics, it is true that if they are open, we are in the city center! You were here during the World Cup football which resulted, at times, fans who express their joy in the streets of cities!

And to finish, the weather has been unusually wet for July.

Pending the pleasure to welcome you again in Annecy,

You can visit our Facebook page and if you want to benefits from our best prices and offers, you can contact us or visit our website.

Best regards.

Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The staff is what really shined at this hotel, constantly willing to help. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had, they had the local cheeses which included Tomme de Savoie, mmm. Fresh croissants, baguettes, cured ham, cereals, and all their homemade jams (which I bought a jar of to bring home it was so good).
In the pictures it shows a picture of a lake but this is not on the lake, but it is right in the heart of Annecy where you can walk to all the local patisseries, restaurants, shopping etc.
The room is brand new and spotless, just a little small.
Let me say again how good the breakfast is.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, I think the First and second may have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaredSmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Réceptionniste at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

We have to thank you about the time taken to share your opinion about our establishment.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are going to transmit your feelings to the reset of the team who will be happy to see their work awarded in a so good way because, each one of us, try to do his best everyday to offer you the best quality as possible.

For the breakfast, we try to serve local products, for you to taste and to discover producers, craft and specialities of Savoy.

Pending the pleasure to maybe, welcome you again in Annecy,

You can visit our Facebook page and if you want to benefits from our best prices and offers, you can contact us or visit our website.

Best regards.

Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The newly renovated family room has a seperate bedroom for the kids with a bunk bed , a door to a balcony and a shower with sink. The other room has a double bed, complete bathroom with shower. The room is on a corner of the building so there is a window on one wall and a patio door to a balcony on the other wall. Keep in mind that the room is small but perfect size for a family of 3 or 4. There is no space for an extra bed but maybe a baby cot could fit in the corridor between bith room.
Breakfast is 8euros/pers. This is not expensive as the food is good. But you can also go to the corner bakery, grab croissant and a coffee for 4 euros max.

Very well located in the heart of Annecy, the hotel pays for your overnight parking at the public parking a few steps away. It cost us 14 euros for 2 days.

We were well received, staff is very nice and accomadating.

Go to the marina , rent a boat at 10am for a few hours and make sure you swim in the beautiful lake:-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Réceptionniste at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Julie M,

First of all, thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Actually, all the team do his best, everyday, to make your stay better. We are really happy to read that we succeed to offer you a stay at your convenience and more particular the family room.

Your advice to rent a boat is an excellent idea to discover the Annecy Lake. Also we will be glad to welcome you again and to give you some additional advices to discover more again. So do not hesitate to visit our website or to contact to benefit from our best offers and prices.

Best regards.

Florian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Handy location in the town centre, close to the old town and railway station. Very helpful and welcoming staff. The room was quite small, but comfortable, clean and stylish. No door/curtain on the shower, so water went everywhere. Some street noise at night, but not too bad for a town centre location, and there were no disturbances from within the hotel. Great breakfast buffet - well worth EUR 8.50. We felt very comfortable here.

Room Tip: Glad we went for the canal view - very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Réceptionniste at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear jrm 209,

First, thank you for sharing your opinions on our hotel.

We are delighted to have met your expectations.

It is a pleasure to read your encouragement that we share with our team.

Your sentence "We felt very comfortable here" il very important for us, because everday we work to create this atmosphere and to satisfy you .

Waiting to welcome you back, do not hesitate to visit our website or contact us to get the best prices.

Best regards.

Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We often visit France and only last year we stayed in the Alexandra Hotel

We had a wonderful time last year but this year it wasn't quite as we remembered.

Positives
- Secure hotel
- Location: a stones throw away from everything
- Parking: although a 5 minute walk away it's discounted and secure
- Room: Fit, feel and finish has been done to a high standard
- Room Service: Offering very cheap drinks and nibbles

What we felt could be improved
- Maid service: I appreciate you're a small hotel but house cleaning at 12:30 wasn't ideal. We were in the area for 4 nights and wanted the occasional lie
- Room facilities: The room NEEDS a safe. Can't understand why this hasn't been done. We recommended this last year. We were traveling around Europe in our car so had car keys, registration documents etc which we wanted to feel were secure
- Noise: It's centrally located so I expected noise. Last year it didn't seem to bother us, maybe as we arrived during the Summer Festival and Annecy was in 'party mode' This year, it was rather noisy with scooter passing by at full pelt at 4am, drunken antics on the street and noisy cars passing throughout the night. The room was far too hot to sleep with the windows closed so we decided we'd rather sleep in a noisy environment rather than a sauna! Maybe some further installation or A/C would help
- Reception: Last year we were greeted by the owners. They really contributed to our 5* experience providing recommendations, a friendly smile and conversation. This year we didn't seem them and their replacements lacked that extra bit of service we had been used to. Which was disappointing.
- Bathroom: We stayed in room 7 and although the shower is amazing, I can't understand why half of it is open. It just leads to a very slippery and dangerous floor, wet towels and a damp smell from the surrounding area.

The hotel is fab and if you're comfortable with the noise you will enjoy it, however we'd probably have a look elsewhere for next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJWCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalexandra74, Propriétaire at Atipik Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guest,

First, we thank you for your loyalty.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, good value bar menu, the size of the shower, the security of our institution.
Apparently you have been disappointed by some points.
It is true that we do not have air conditioning, because the technical constraints of a building 200 years old historical area in ranked do not allow us to do so. Fans are available in the rooms. Our building is not facing south, fortunately we suffer relatively little heat, apart from some rare heatwaves.
All our windows are phonics, it is true that if they are open, we are in the city center! You were here during the World Cup football which resulted, at times, fans who express their joy in the streets of cities! This is not usual, you found the quiet last year.
We were not there this year and are sorry to see that he misses you feel that you had found last year.
Regarding the room, you had the same as last year, at your request. The shower is very large, walk-in shower (semi-open concept shower).
We would be very pleased to welcome you again and we invite you to contact us.
The satisfaction of our customers is our priority and we are certain to give you complete satisfaction on your next visit.
We remain at your disposal.
patrice and nicolas.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
2.0 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#5 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atipik Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atipik Hotel Alexandra

Property: Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Address: 19 Rue Vaugelas, 74000, Annecy, France (Formerly Hotel Alexandra)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#2 Best Value Hotel in Annecy
#2 Business Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Atipik Hotel Alexandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atipik Hotel Alexandra is ideally situated 300m from the lake, 200m from the railway station and the entrance to the old town. Personalised hospitality, family atmosphere and the charm of the place, all add to the comfort of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Atipik Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Annecy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing