We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional alpine food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of O Savoyard

O Savoyard
Ranked #92 of 465 Restaurants in Annecy
Cuisines: French, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leeds England
Level Contributor
155 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Traditional alpine food.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived in Annecy from South of France as it was 9.00pm and rather chilly compared to what we had become use to we decided to eat inside and thought this restaurant look cosy.

The inside is timber clad and very alpine in character. We therefore decided to go for a cheese fondue. It was quite a simple meal bread and cheese but very tasty and reminded us of the days we went skiing.

Service good and price very reasonable. Other dishes being served also looked good.

Would recommend if you want to try traditional food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    369
    167
    112
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“O S-avoid!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We went here for dinner and wish we had not! The food was overpriced and the service was terrible. The people at the table next to us got up and left as they were waiting at least 25 minutes without being asked to order even a drink. We noticed that the French customers were provided with tap water and a large quantity of bread, where as we were given mineral water which we were charged for.

The food was expensive and nothing special. The wine was very overpriced compared to surrounding restaurants.

Go elsewhere!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
187 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location and good regional fare”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

While vacationing in Annecy, after wandering to find a good location and regional menu we decided for this restaurant. This one has both. We were sitting on the canal side where they have tables right on the pathway along the old city jail house, They were five of us and we were comfortably seated in the shade and enjoying the view of this old part of the city. The service was prompt and efficient as well as very nice. The young waitresses are all working hard. We decided to go for local specialties: aperitif maison, fried small fish (you can eat everything) with tartar sauce, steak tartar and tartiflette Savoyarde (potatoes with melted local cheese) served in a small pan. For wine we had a local refreshing rose wine.For dessert I would recommend the lemon sorbet with strawberry coulis. Overall a great place which is also kid friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PixieSam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice evening on the canal”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

After walking around the many, many restaurants and reading menus, we plopped ourselves down at O Savoyard at a table outside on the canal. We had to move once because the table we sat at had two more chairs than we had people! :) So we sat in a pool of water instead. The staff was fast and buzzed around alot. The wine we had was very good and typical of the area. We both got starter salads--Nicoise and some sort of potato and cheese dish. The Nicoise salad was excellent. For main, we shared one order of fondue that came with potatoes and meats. Not so good. The fondue was oily, separated, thin, watery, and a very thick coat/crust stuck to the sides of the dish leading me to believe it might have been overcooked. I have had good fondue in the past and this wasn't it. The location was lovely and it was fun to watch people walk by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Bistro in Annecy Old Town”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We visited on the last night of our holiday. We sat outside overlooking the canal. We were given an english copy of the menu. The range of dishes was the local classics, much the same as all the surrounding restaurants. The staff were friendly and some had good english.
The wine was good, the food was very good. The service was swift and friendly.
The only shock for someone from the UK is the bill. Why is eating out in france so cripplingly expensive?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John-the-Phone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Savoyard also viewed

Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Saint-Pierre-en-Faucigny, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to O Savoyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing