We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for 1 night”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok for 1 night”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Apart from the bathroom smelling of old wet rags, the room is ok for 1 night. It is ideally located and the staff are very kind.

Nothing exceptional about this place. Though the view can be splendid! Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincentv1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    106
    34
    13
    4
See reviews for
31
122
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Been there before. Gone a bit downhill due to frosty unfriendly recrptionist (the older one) who showed little concern for guest welfare and enjoyment. The Hotel was very noisy during the night too. Breakfast @ €8 was not good value gor money. No availability of coffee on its own instead of whole breakfast. Won't be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The place is very well situated near the old city but it is an old home. The rooms are acceptable but the bathrooms are so tiny you cannot move in them. The owners are friendly but the place needs an urgent facelift. As it is in town the price is high. We found better places in the outskirts.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The location was great - a 10 minute walk from the train & right in heart of bustling old town, yet somehow just far enough away that it was remarkably quiet at night.
The rooms are very small.. but for the price point (70-80$), that is mostly ok with me.. but be warned with 2 small suitcases, there was barely room to put your feet on the floor. It was inexpensive to add a nice breakfast to your stay & we enjoyed our coffee on the little outdoor patio - usually almost had it to ourselves.
My only complaint is that some of the reception staff seemed kind of unhelpful or unhappy. Wasn't sure if we committed some sort of accidental-rude-american faux pas or what.
Also, no elevator and it resides on a rather steep cobbled street. So if mobility is an issue, may not be the best bet.
Anyhow, I'd definitely recommend if you are OK with a good deal, excellent location, and a few potentially stubbed toes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We came across this hotel by chance via a last minute search via the local tourist information. When speaking to the owner on the phone he said that the room was quite small but we were happy to take it anyway. When we arrived we had a pleasant surprise: The room was actually not that small at all (stayed in smaller), and had fantastic views over the roof tops of Annecy (we stayed on the second floor). The room itself had lovely romantic touches, heart shaped pillows, coat hooks, etc. The wardrobe is on the small side, but as we were only staying for three nights we did not mind. Saying that, if you stay for longer it might be better to ask for a bigger room.
The bed was comfortable and the room generally clean. The bathroom was okay, with a shower, toilet and wash basin, there must have been a problem with the drains as the bathroom had a nasty smell that would not subside during the whole of our stay. I have to say that this was the only gripe we had with the room, and to be fair I did not mention this to the owner, who might have sorted this out had I asked.
There is WiFi in the hotel with worked fine in our room. We were able to park our van in the small car park outside - hotels with parking are hard to find in Annecy, so this was a real plus for us.
I loved the breakfast: again the breakfast room had nice romantic touches. The choice was great, with lots of fresh fruit, different cheeses, croissants, bread, yoghurts, cereals, etc. The owner was very attentive and kept filling up drinks and replenishing food.
Location was very convenient - two minutes walk down the cobbled street and you are in the heart of the town with everything you need.
We did not get a chance to speak to the owner much, who was friendly when approached but did not get out of his way to approach us, which might have been a language barrier (we don't speak any French and he said that he speaks little English).
One thing that I found strange, even though it was not a problem, was that we were asked to pay at arrival - not something I had come across anywhere in France before, but I had read about in a review of another hotel, so it might be practice in some French hotels.
Generally a great hotel - I would definitely stay here again and recommend this to everyone who is looking for something with character.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here for one night travelling through France, didn't want the usual chain of hotel. This was lovely, family run, very pretty hotel, we had room of second floor with fantastic views, it had a lovely terrace to use too. It's up by the Chateau therefore all the views, but less than 5 minutes down the steepish footpaths - there's three to choose from - right into the heart oif the old town with its little streets and waterways. Breakfast a the Hotel was good with choice of fruit, cheeses yogurts, fresh bread and crossiants. We were very lucky getting a parking place in the tiny car park. But there is a multi store very close by which the owners of the hotel cover the cost of night parking for you. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms give wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a great family run hotel. The owners who operate this hotel all speak English and were very helpful in our of need. The hotel is very well located near the centre of town, but well away to be private and great views over town and mountains.

Room Tip: Top floor Room quiet but outlook over square. Wifi only works in Public area which worked out well
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerQ992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 47 in Annecy
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 16 Rampe DU Chateau, 74000, Annecy, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing