We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Meal and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'auberge du Lyonnais
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this lovely town and chose to have dinner at this venue. It is very well located. The price reflects the attractiveness of the location, coupled with high quality food and wine. The sea bass (for two) was boned and shared at the table. The smoked salmon was similarly sliced on the table. The white and red wines were around the mid price range. The service was formal and friendly. The bill for four was +€300. We felt that was a fair price for an excellent meal. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bobsoundgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    24
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
26
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
289 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fabulous location in lovely Annecy! We had an enjoyable two-night stay at L'auberge du Lyonnais. Yes, lighting is dim; yes, our bed fell (too!); but this hotel was an affordable option well-placed in town, and guest service was unfailingly cheerful, friendly, and helpful.

The hotel is towards the back of an elegant restaurant, lodging being almost a secondary business. Rooms are accessible via an infinite amount of steps. Wifi seemed to be stronger in the lower level rooms and of course, near the reception desk.

That being said, the purpose of my visit to Annecy was for all of its lovely outdoors activities, not to hang out in my room. Nor did I come to surf the web.

So, for a safe, affordable option, give this place a try. "Unplug" for a bit. (Oh - and the bed thing? My 11-year-old daughter and I fixed it in about two-minutes flat. The bottom wooden frame simply shifts. Disconcerting? Yes. World-rocking? No.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This traditional hotel is nicely located at the charming canal; the centerpiece of Annecy.
The hotel is a bit dated and would do with a renovation, but still clean and proper.
We had "canal view" room and that was very nice.

There was no door between the room and the bathroom; just a cloth hanging from the ceiling, not giving much privacy.

Internet was basically not working in our room. It did work in the dining / restaurant area, but with poor throughput.

Room Tip: Go for a room with "canal view" !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smbjerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

located in the heart of the old town right on the canal the character is just great. Staff are friendly and the walk along the canal to the lake is wonderful. Plenty of places to eat or drink. The boat trip on the lake is well worthwhile as well

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having been to Annecy before, I was determined to show it off to my sister. This I did, and she loved it as much as I had previously. Even at 66 years old I don't normally do relaxation(!) but sitting at the lakeside serenely looking at the surrounding mountains and watching the small boating activity is heavenly. The Auberge du Lyonnais is superbly situated next to one of the canals running through this beautiful town. It is an old building and this must be taken into consideration before criticizing. However this does not excuse my single bed collapsing even though I was only lying in it (stationary!). Previous reviews have complained of this, so the fact that nothing has been done about it shows the attitude of the hotel owners to their guests. (As an aside, it was lucky that my sister had her own room, otherwise she would still be laughing at the sight of me being catapulted out of my collapsing bed!!). Nor does the age of the hotel excuse the fact that the position of bedside reading lights made it virtually impossible to read at night. Other small things such as the timer lights on the staircases only staying on for a very short time plunging one into darkness on the steep steps could easily be adjusted by the management.
Also a chair in my room would have been nice. Wooden stools without a back support are not good enough.
Apart from that, we found the staff helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlejimbuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Annecy hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrived on train and hotel was easy to find. The location was great. Sleeping area was average. Bathroom was very small and not easy to use. Not enough electrical plugs. Rooms could have been cleaner. No elevator, so struggled 3 floors with luggage. On-timer lights would go off making it difficult. No view from our room except to another building. Had to go to lobby area to use internet, as problem in room. Probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

A lovely location but we were never told we could not drive on the street where the hotel is, so got lost. Were told parking, which was in a separate garage, was free, but that only applied to the nighttime charge; we still had to pay for the day. The ticket they gave me to pay their portion wouldn't work, so I had to pay the full charge. Room was ok but noisy. A shame because the location was very nice and Annecy is a lovely little place.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GordMcFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
0.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.1 mi away
Privilodges Le Royal - Apparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#20 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alery Hotel
Alery Hotel
#37 of 47 in Annecy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'auberge du Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'auberge du Lyonnais

Property: L'auberge du Lyonnais
Address: 9 rue de la Republique | Parking Sainte-Claire, 74000, Annecy, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — L'auberge du Lyonnais 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'auberge du Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing