We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirt cheap backpackers accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chamoniard Volant
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirt cheap backpackers accommodation”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I am surprised by all the terrible reviews this place is getting. What do people think they are going to get for this price, I paid less than 20 euro a night. The place is scruffy, the boarders kitchen is messy and the whole place smells like an old sock, but that is part of the charm. If you are in Chamonix on a budget and want a place where you can sit about with some like minded snow bums and cook your own pasta and drink cheap wine this place does what it says on the tin. It had hot water and warm beds and at this price you can't expect much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chemicalhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    17
    10
    21
See reviews for
5
11
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I went here in August 2013 with my girlfriend. The owners are very nice. As I remember they can speak 3 languages (French, English, and Spanish). They also let you to keep your luggage in the hostel after you check out.

This hostel has a kitchen that you can use. I used it because I don't want to spend my money to buy food in Chamonix restaurants which is quite expensive.
The bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom is clean. And as the other hotel and hostel in Chamonix, you will also get bus free pass from this hostel.

I recommend this place for the people who look for cheap hostel in Chamonix area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Expectations were low given the previous reviews of this place, but I needed somewhere cheap to stay at short notice so booked anyway. Not the friendliest of welcomes but it could have been worse. They did accuse me of leaving without paying because they could't keep track of their records.

Positives:
Convenient walking distance for Chamonix town centre, close to the sports centre/swimming pool
Hot showers
View of Mont Blanc from my dorm

Negatives:
"Self catering" is a bit of joke - the "kitchen" consists of a row of archaic gas burners, a fridge and a sink and not much else. Cramped, dirty and very limited selection of chipped and dirty crockery and cutlery and a few dirty bent saucepans -take you own lighter, mug, plate, spork and penknife/multitool and plan on simple 1 pot meals only!

Very poor security - hostel not looked at all at night. Key pads for code entry to the dorms only work on some rooms -others are unlocked. Small lockers in dorms (require own padlock)

Breakfast was included in the price of my bed but otherwise costs 6€ for a couple of pieces of baguette with jam, cornflakes and tea - not worth it.

Dorms are cramped with plastic coated mattresses on beds, take your own sleeping bag or sheets. Heavy self slamming doors + paper thin walls = little sleep

Communal (mixed) shower room with tiny cubicles and nowhere to hang you stuff in the cubicle so it doesn't get wet, but need to have it in the cubicle so don't flash to everyone!

Simple things easily rectified with a bit of thought and care at little cost - the impression overall is very much that they don't really care about making your experience pleasant. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The experience would have been fine if not for the rude, miserable staff. I didn't expect much from a €16 per night hostel, but I certainly didn't expect such unpleasant hosts. I would avoid this gite in future, especially having been told of others at a similar sort of price.

The big dorm was just about clean, and comfortable enough even when full. The kitchen was crowded but functional, and again... clean enough (tip: bring your own mug and penknife). The showers are always hot.

There's zero security, as has been mentioned elsewhere, so have a locking case or something if possible. Anybody can walk in off the street at any time.

The rumour is that the owners are trying to sell this place, so perhaps it will improve under new management one day.

Final positive note: being a backpackers', the gite/hostel is always host to interesting people - travellers, seasonaires and the like. I don't know whether or not the other hostels have such a mix.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Well, where shall I start......we were greeted by an unfriendly & impatient woman who no body saw smile the whole weekend. The hostel has a side door that is left unlocked all night. The main room on the top floor has no door. In our group of 12.... 6 people were robbed in the night. The hostel owner didn't seem surprised or concerned. Avoid this place if you can, sleeping at a bus stop would probably be safer.

Room Tip: Get a small room that has a solid lock on the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The robbery is probably as good as anywhere to begin, in the night 6 people in our dorm were relieved of wallets and cash totaling over €1,000 and we heard another person had their skis taken.

However, a robbery would have been more palatable if it hadn't been in one of the least hospitable and unfriendly hostels I have ever had the misfortune to stay.

The woman running the place and her cohorts were rude and abusive to my group barely before we'd even stepped through the doorway. The dorm was cold, sparse and one power socket in a room for 16 is hardly sufficient.

The breakfast such as it was (cornflakes, warm milk and baguettes) was probably the best thing about this place.

If you pay peanuts you get monkeys as the saying goes but no matter how cheap this place was it probably isn't worth it. Especially when you factor in the fact that most of our group ended up lighter in the pocket thanks to somebody pilfering from our cash

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

If you want to leave Chamonix without any of your valuables, and to have permanent ear damage from being screamed at in pigeon-English by the tyrannical owner, then stay here. If not, look elsewhere sharpish. A terrible hostel with appalling management. There is also a nightly thief. Our group of 10 had c.£3,000 worth of belongings stolen in the first night and on being told of the theft, the owner just shrugged her shoulders. Extraordinarily poor level of customer service. Needless to say if I ever go to Chamonix again, this is the last place I'd stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jones_MEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#13 of 73 in Chamonix
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#39 of 73 in Chamonix
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chamoniard Volant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chamoniard Volant

Property: Le Chamoniard Volant
Address: 45 route de la Frasse, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Le Chamoniard Volant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chamoniard Volant Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing