We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming chalet with stunning views”
Review of Vert et Blanc

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vert et Blanc
Ranked #8 of 30 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I interacted with Jackie and David on email and phone extensively to book a room for my mum; their friendly and helpful emails/chats were very reassuring even before the trip was underway.

Mum had a nice stay at the chalet, and absolutely loved her room - it had stunning views of the glacier. She also enjoyed the scenic walks into town, though it helps to learn the bus routes. Apparently there is a bus stop right outside the chalet, that takes you upto the golf course or into town, depending which way you face.
She did miss having a cuppa first thing in the morning though, and I wonder if this is something that changes with the winter schedule.

What worked for her the most were the other guests she met at the chalet - she thoroughly enjoyed her conversations with everyone she met there. If you are a people-person, you will love your stay at the Vert et Blanc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BohemianRhapsody30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Wonderful time there and David was a great host. Fabulous breakfast and met some neat people from Canada. David even set us up with an appointment for paragliding!! Awesome
And our view out our bedroom window in the morning was breathtaking.
We did have trouble finding the street number of chalet in the dark with our bus driver and so worth our stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarjScanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were 'just passing thru' for one night. What a lovely, welcoming inn. David was great. Nice casual common room and beautiful deck/garden. Great spot to share a bottle of wine. A pleasant 1/4 mile walk to downtown restaurants along nice path. Well lit at night. GREAT breakfast and coffee. Close to many wonderful activities. We hope to return one day for a week of skiing and fun. And to try the hot tub and sauna! Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our stay at Vert et Blanc was excellent. David and Jackie are both wonderful hosts - personable, helpful and professional. The house is enchanting, the views stunning.....and the 15-20 min walk to town along a gorgeous little river make the stay even more pleasurable.....nothing like a short stroll after a good meal. I'd recommend this place to everyone looking for a magic spot in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Rather a late review for a skiing long weekend. David was an excellent host. the food was superb and the accommodation very good. David also ferried us around to whichever lift we wanted to go to and did the pick ups at the end of the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 535raffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This place is ok, but I personally don't think it's worth five stars, not sure how it has such good ratings. The chalet is reasonably clean and is a nice place to stay for a few days, though €90/night/couple seemed a bit steep afterwards for a B&B. My mine gripes were:

- Our room was small with a very small double bed and didn't have a good view. The shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom was not replaced and had to be used over three nights.
- The jacuzzi was tepid at best and was absolutely filthy with all sorts of stuff floating around in it, clearly hadn't been cleaned for weeks. My girlfriend refused to go in it. I went in for about a minute and got out.
- The breakfast is ok though the croissants seem to be of the frozen variety and there is no fresh baguette, this is France after all! The scrambled eggs are nice though not much variety otherwise.

If this place was 60 per night per couple, I probably wouldn't have been so harsh with my comments. Though, for what it is, this place isn't a great deal despite what the other reviews say.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a Mont Blanc facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Wow what a place to stay! Jacqui and David were fantastic and made us feel really at home. The chalet had everything we needed including hot tub ( great to relax in after the TMB or a day skiing the nearby slopes), yummy breakfast and beautifully equipped bedrooms and clean bathrooms.
We have no hesitation in recommending Vert et Blanc to anyone wanting to share a wonderful experience in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mullaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
867 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Guest House
The Guest House
#1 of 5 in Vallorcine
94 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile
Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile
#2 of 30 in Chamonix
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel le Castel
Chalet Hotel le Castel
#5 of 30 in Chamonix
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vert et Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vert et Blanc

Address: 997 route des Praz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range: £44 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Vert et Blanc is owned and operated by Jackie & David and has been open since 2004. Operated as a catered chalet during the winter ski season and bed and breakfast during the summer months. The chalet is a real home from home. Guests have use of the spacious sitting room dining room 8 en- suite bedrooms sauna & outside hot tub. The winter catered package includes, breakfast, packed lunch, afternoon tea and dinner 6 nights a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vert Et Blanc Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing