We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like unwelcome guests...”
Review of Chalet les Frenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet les Frenes
Ranked #11 of 30 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Dinomarino's review sums it up nicely. It's potentially a decent, good value chalet close-ish to chamonix.
The owner needs to get the service right and make the guests feel welcome. I genuinely felt like an uninvited guest in someone's house. To find the place empty, unlocked and unclean was a really bad first impression. Not to mention the dog!
If you're running a place like this you should get the basics right.

A small change in attitude and this would be a perfectly good place to stay. Suggest any future visitors have clear dialogue with owner before arriving. That might do it??!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigfromNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philhennem, Owner at Chalet les Frenes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Sorry you found the place unlocked but it is a B&B, people come and go all the time and guests frequently leave the chalet unlocked (as you guys did).

And yes, the skiroom may have been a little untidy but we had to leave early that morning before outgoing guests had left and only had the opportunity to finish cleaning when you guys had already arrived.

And the dog! You knew we had a dog, I had told you in emails previously. Seems a bit petty to complain about something you had been forewarned about no? Most people love Pepper as he is such a good natured animal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2011

It's all there but it ain't all that!

As we entered the Chalet we had to check whether or not we were in the right place, it looked live in and there was a good reason for that..... it was! It turned out to be OK just not what we were expecting.

Overall review of the place is that it is just below average.

Our rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The owner seemed to think he was doing us a favour by letting us use the Lounge area/ dog bedroom. Apparently if you are not a large group he doesn't let you do this, (would have been very disappointing without it).

Kitchen wasn't the cleanest, bath/ shower rooms were serviceable.

Taxi's are expensive and as this place is just off the main road and a good few miles from Chamonix centre you need to factor this into costs.

The hot tub was just a garden ornament. We didn't use it as we just didn't fancy crossing the muddy garden in just a towel. Take your trainers and a torch if you plan to use it.

If you just want a place to sleep and dump kit, it works.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philhennem, Owner at Chalet les Frenes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

If this client didn't get what he was expecting, he should read more carefully what he is booking. Of course the place is lived in - myself and my girlfriend "live in". I thought this was pretty obvious for a B&B. You do you think would be doing your breakfast?

I am sorry the client had to walk across wet grass to get to the hot tub but in spring when the snow melts, the garden does get a little soggy. A minor problem that donning a pair of shoes would solve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Upon arrival the chalet looks a little remote from anywhere, apart from the main road! The 1st thing that hits you are the views - spectacular!!!!

Chalet les Frenes and its grounds looks average from the outside - nothing that a little time, money and TLC wouldn't go amiss! (Same could be said for inside the chalet too)

After finding out for ourselves the whole place was unlocked we were a little shocked to find a number of things:-

1. Nobody about?
2. Kitchen smelled awful
3. Lounge still in an untidy state
4. Previous guests items such as a handbag, suitcase and ski wear available for anyone to take
5. A dog

We finally got to meet the owner, who was British but wasn't the warmest of blokes - seemed more interested in accusing us of breaking the house rules as we had our outdoor footwear in our rooms - than getting to know us a little or even properly introducing himself to us - GOOD START.......NOT!!!!

I thought the owner was clear with his details regarding breakfast and towels, polite & helpful with restaurant - transport recommendations.
However i just thought he lacked that bit of extra something to make us feel like we were welcome, like paying guests should be - maybe because we were a group of 10 men and he'd written us off already? - no excuse really.

The only off putting thing for me was that the owner, his partner and dog all live in the Chalet which was quite unexpected, after a nice meal and a few beers out we would have liked to have just chilled out and had a beer in the lounge - but instead found the owner and his partner cuddled up on the sofa watching a movie in the darkness!!! Not good and didn't find it very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinomarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philhennem, Owner at Chalet les Frenes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Responding to this guests comments....
1. Nobody about?
He knew this would be the case. I had texted him and emailed and told him as such. He had the code to get in, find his rooms and make himself at home.

2. Kitchen smelled awful
Kitchen does not smell awful. This is a plain lie. If the kitchen smells of anything, it would be fresh ground coffee and freshly baked bread

3. Lounge still in an untidy state
As I stated to this guests colleague who also wrote a less than fair review. We had to leave early and finished the cleaning when we got back.

4. Previous guests items such as a handbag, suitcase and ski wear available for anyone to take
When some guests vacate their room, they don't plan to leave until the evening and we allow them to store their luggage in the skiroom. Guests have found this to be a useful service and I think to criticize us for this is petty, selfish and short sighted.

5. A dog
The guest was told we have a dog. Most people love him.

Other points this guest made..." the owner, his partner and dog all live in the Chalet which was quite unexpected,". Of course we do, it is a bed and breakfast, a guesthouse. Who would you expect to do the breakfast?

And yes, I did ask the guest and his friends to remove their shoes (after first introducing myself and checking that everybody was OK). I don't think this is untoward. I do however think it is untoward to ignore large "remove outdoor shoes" signs and continue treading dirt around someone's house.

Basically, this client didn't read what he had booked and the poor snow conditions didn't help. It's a B&B, the owners live in, they have a dog. If you don't want this, don't book. If you want simple but comfortable accommodation on a small budget and an owner who is helpful and friendly, this will suit you just fine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Waking up at Chalet les Frenes each morning was unbelievable. The views were unreal. There are lots of hiking trails nearby, with gorgeous river and mountain views. Phil, our host, was very friendly and accommodating!

We didn't find it a big deal to get from Les Bossons to Chamonix. You can hike there and back, or take the train which is about ten minutes.

We got everything we wanted out of Chamonix, yet we got to stay in a more secluded and quiet area with our own private views and at a more inexpensive price. Bathroom was great, showers were hot, bedrooms were comfy, wifi worked pretty well.

Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilabirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The host, Phil, was awesome. We didn't actually see him much, but when he was around was very kind and gracious.

We lucked out. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the mountains. We had a little balcony from which you could see a glacier and even Mont Blanc if I recall.

Rooms are lockable but with a very basic key - never worried about anyone going into our room, but if you are, just don't leave valuables in there.

Phil had some bikes available for us to bike into Chamonix (which was actually quite fun) - there is a busstop nearby but we never used it.

You can't beat the price for that view.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phonethegphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

You get what you pay for with this chalet, the rooms are basic and clean, breakfast is good and conviniently timed.

The only problem I had with this chalet is that it's a 10-15 minute walk to the bus stop and when carrying skis and boots, it can be tyring, but you get what you pay for. The chalet is quite some distance form Chamonix and there are a couple of resteraunts nearby and a hotel, if you can't be bothered going into Chamonix, which we couldn't due to the logistics involved and returning bus times not being convinient.

But the skiing is good, Chamonix itself is very expensive, so this is a good alternative if you can cope with the walk. I would reccomend this place but would stress the walk to the bus stop and waiting may put some off.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nahkdkdbba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#17 of 73 in Chamonix
504 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
3.2 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
61 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet les Frenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet les Frenes

Address: 637 route de Vers le Nant, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range: £52 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Chalet les Frenes 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast, bike hire and jacuzzi. A typical alpine chalet offering an economic alternative to costly hotels and catered chalets. The chalet is set in the corner of an alpine meadow and looks up at the mont blanc massif and it's glaciers. There are 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a terrace and huge garden for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Chalet les Frenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing