We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel charm, great location & stunning mountain scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Chamonix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Chamonix
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small hotel charm, great location & stunning mountain scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Set within the centre of Chamonix with extensive views of Mont Blonc and the surrounding mountains this is a charming well run hotel. The views from the room balconies are simply stunning. The front desk staff are very welcoming and extremely helpful and although the hotel only rates as a two star the overall standard is extremely high and is good value. Our group had a selection of rooms (doubles & family) the double being the better option and of a higher standard, with the bathrooms in the family rooms being a bit on the basic side. Although located in the centre of town we found the rooms to be very quiet.
There’s plenty of space for boot and ski storage in the basement and the ski lifts are a short walk away. The breakfast is a continental offering with a fair selection to choose from combined with an excellent level of service, you also have the option of eating in the centre of town. This hotel would be a good option for both summer and winter visitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DES32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    73
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
40
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I seldom feel happy about French hotels.
In Chomonix I tried 2 hotels before this hotel.
I went around this town and I found this hotel is the NO1 hotel!!!
I was so happy to find this hotel. And ladies (working or owner?) from Britain are so nice.
Not expensive at all.
And people are so nice.
I will come back here for sure.

Room Tip: This hotel is facing the square and fist floor is a restant runs till night. So if you want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maguder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The only downside is the bar beneath the hotel. Great location, beautiful view, clean, the bunk beds were a little weak to hold an adult. Pay parking is at the church 5 min up the hill. Very nice town, take the cable car, nice hike up to a falls 10 min down the road. Wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bricey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

this hotel is the best we have stayed in for a long time, from the moment we walked in after a very long drive we were made to feel like family

The room was perfect with he best view ever , the perfect size and excelently furnished

Breakfast at Le Chamonix is simple but very well done , could not ask for a better way to start the day

All the staff are so helpful and friendly , always taking the time to talk to you

There is nothing to complain about in this hotel, people that do have nothing better to do than find a fault that does not exist

We stayed here for 11 nights wonderful

Room Tip: Enjoy this hotel for what it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights and was really impressed by how amazing the staff were.
The location of the hotel is very central and restaurants are seconds from your door. The views from the room are amazing. The rooms are European size and so are the bathrooms.
It was clean and cute. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingCanadian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
310 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I am rating this very good because of the view and location and low price.
We stayed four nights in mid June. Room on second floor (Americans would call it the third floor) with balcony, one double bed and one bunk. Rooms are not large but are adequate.
Bathroom was good size but could have used a shelf or two - nowhere to put our stuff.


Liked - 1. Wonderful view of Mont Blanc and Aquille du Midi from our room.
2. Location - right across the square from the TI, Mountain Guides and trailheads. two blocks from grocery store and from main tourist street. Right across from a great bakery - opens at 7:00 am
3. Electric kettle provided on request
4. Some of the staff were very very helpful and gave wonderful recommendations for restaurants. (some of the staff were not at all helpful and didn't seem to want to be bothered with us)

Did not like-
1. Noise from bar below. Other reviewers said the bar closes at 10:00. Kept us awake quite late. Bar did not close until much later on the Friday night we were there, tho it closed around 10 on Tues - Thurs.
2. Towel service - I wouldn't have reported that one day they forgot to change our towels, tho all were on the floor as directed (they said they forgot and cheerfully gave us fresh towels) except that on the next day, they also did not replace our towels but instead neatly folded our wet/dirty towels and placed them on the bed. We quickly discovered that the towels were not clean, and took them to reception for replacement. Lady acted quite put-out to replace, and when we asked for four replacement towels (to replace the four we returned) she sniffed that we could only have three because there were three of us in the room.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room to avoid hearing those above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rustenburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

In the heart of Chamonix centrally situated and great service and good value for money

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheldonbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#49 of 73 in Chamonix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#37 of 73 in Chamonix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
#32 of 73 in Chamonix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chamonix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chamonix

Property: Hotel Le Chamonix
Address: 11 rue de l Hotel de Ville, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Chamonix 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Chamonix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing