We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden spot in Chamonix”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Lapin Agile - CLOSED

Le Lapin Agile
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European, French, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A hidden spot in Chamonix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Came over this small cozy cafe/restaurant last year and have been here 5-6 times since then. This is a small restaurant with very great service. Would recommend theri Chevre salade, cheese and ham plate and their panacotta and chocolate dessert. Combine your meal with a glass of wine or a cup of coffee. Bring your book or pc and enjoy your time their with finger food and a good glas of wine,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivaparaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Odd menu, but a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good service -- we came without a reservation (which seems to be a bad idea in Chamonix) but were still seated quickly. Nice by-the-glass wine options. The menu is a little odd; most of the mains are pastas of some type, no real meat/fish + sides type dishes. That said, it was well-executed and we were very happy with everything we ordered. Would recommend & return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Found the service friendly enough and the food very good. Wine by the glass slightly limited, but nevertheless very good. Ambience is great for a busy ski resort!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You are wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Frankly your review tells us more about you than the Lapin Agile. We go to Chamonix about 6 times a year and always try to eat there. Your comment about the long wine list and the short menu reflects the fact this is a wine bar that does food. The 6 or so wines that are available by the glass are affordable and chosen with care by the owner, they never disappoint. The menu is limited to what the chef can prepare as each item is ordered and in my experience are all wonderful. You mention the seafood pasta which is my personal favourite. It is wholesome, and delicious; it would be good if you were at the seaside!
I am sorry that you had a poor experience but if you want fast service of mediocre food that is prepared before you have sat down, in the busiest week of the winter season, there are literally 10s of restaurants in Chamonix that will meet your need.
My advice is simple: If you are planning a trip to Chamonix do not miss a visit to the Lapin Agile

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Shockingly Slow....more dead rabbit than agile!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for 5 on a Friday night, based on the great reviews. Sat down at 8.05 to peruse the world's smallest food menu and the world's most comprehensive wine menu. Ordered at 8.10pm 2 soups, 1 charcuterie plate and 1 goats cheese croutons......they arrived at 9!!! Meanwhile it took 30 minutes for the waitress to tell us the wine we ordered wasn't in. Cue more menu browsing. Mains took another hour....4 seafood pastas and one goulash. Pasta was salty to the point of being inedible.
We were leaving on Sunday afternoon so thought it best no to risk ordering dessert!!!
Awful awful awful place.....the distinctly average food was nowhere near worth the farcical wait. No apologies from staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Slesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Lapin Agile also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Argentiere, Chamonix
Vallorcine, Chamonix
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing