We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Yang

Chez Yang
Ranked #74 of 220 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We are return visitors to Chamonix and are never disappointed by this restaurant. Great food with many options to choose from.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    56
    22
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good for Chinese Food in the Alps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Ok, so I went in with low expectations being it was Chinese Food in the French Alps, however to my surprise it was really good! We went there for dinner and my entire family was raving about food and service. The vegetables were fresh and perfectly cooked and the dishes were super flavorful. We left there with full bellies and a great experience. The set-menu was a great choice for those wanting to try a little bit of everything. So if you get an itching for Chinese food in the French Alps, by all means, go to Chez Yang. I would go back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
189 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I w ent here for an evening meal as part of a party of eight (five adults, three children). The waitress had to be reminded she had forgotten to take part of my order (assorted dim sum followed by crispy duck). When the meal arrived, the main course was served before the starter; the starter then arrived a few minutes later! The duck was 'ok' - nothing exceptional. The noodles ordered for the children were nothing special either - not warm, and not very much flavour.
Not cheap for a meal; I think they feel that they can charge high prices due to the passing trade - which is just as well, because I won't be hurrying back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I had lunch here twice during a week stay in Chamonix . The service was excellent with all the staff being very helpful and friendly . The food was tasty, well prepared and fresh. The restaurant had a good atmosphere and the seating was very comfortable. They serviced a delicious rose wine at a reasonable price.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok, but not a must-see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The food was fine but the experience was dulled by the slow service and the over-priced dishes. E.g. €8 for a "main rice" is really pushing it - instead go for "starter rice", as it's cheaper and still a big enough portion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Yang also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Chez Yang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing