We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A barn with chandelier swinging monkeys”

Le Panier des 4 Saisons
Ranked #20 of 222 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$64
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A barn with chandelier swinging monkeys”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews so i'll be short and sweet
-appetizers and mains were ok, although consistently underseasoned
-dessert panacotta was excellent
-wine selection was passable
-service was poor. We had a table of 10 loud obnoxious, rude and crude neighbors that completely disrupted the entire restaurant. Only at the end was there even recognition that this might have affected our experience...it was like not noticing monkeys swinging on chandeliers. I have been in such situations before but in every case the restaurant at least tries to calm down the rowdy guests or tries to somehow help make the experience better with a table change or complimentary drinks, anything....not the case here.
-this alone is enough for me to recommend you try other venues if you prefer to be treated with respect.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OneWorldManyDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    130
    12
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great chef/great service”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This tucked-away restaurant, up a lonely staircase, and inside a business building, is perhaps the greatest culinary find in Chamonix. The new chef spun gold out of the salmon entree, and even the amuse bouche was superb. The setting is nouveau Alpine, with the rustic wood and late 19th-century photos of mountain climbers, combined with contemporary music (Nouvelle Vague). The service is exceptional. I highly recommend this restaurant, and hope that it stays around for years to come.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pfafftripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality food away from the hustle”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were in Chamonix during the height of French vacation as well as it being a special event the weekend we came here. This restaurant was a lovely find and great recommendation from our hotel. It's close to the main strip and center of Chamonix but tucked away. There's only about 15-18 tables so you must reserve, but this provides a quiet ambiance perfect for a relaxing evening after the slopes. The food was incredible and some of the best I have had in the mountains. We both had fish - me the sea bass and scallops, which came with some sort of coconut curry sweet sauce that was heavenly, and salmon which was seasoned with a flavorful chili that was not spicy. The fish were fresh and the meal was large portions for European food - after a starter of a salad and an entree, neither of us could eat desert. The menu offers both full and half bottles of regional wine at great prices for such a nice restaurant (we paid less than 15 euro for a half bottle, and there were several full bottles in the 20-25 euro range). The service was attentive, helpful, and knowledgable. This restaurant is a must in Chamonix - remember to call ahead for a table!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bec_lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The original French food”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

When we tried to come for dinner, the reservations were fully booked, which made us expect something good.
And yes, it was fantastic. Some people say that it's the standard French food, but that was why we liked it more. We especially liked the meat and the pepper sauce on it.
Also, it has a cozy atmosphere. It's a great place to go after climbing the 3,000 metre Mont Blanc.
I would like to recommend to someone who would like to taste France. I would like to come back again and have dinner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnnnn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gourmet food at reasonsable prices in great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The food at Le Panier is outstanding in every way - fresh, top-quality ingredients, cooked to perfection. The server provided spot-on recommendations for champagne and wine to accompany our meal. The menu has a nice mix of classics and innovative dishes. I highly recommend the Ravioles de Chèvre Frais, Fondue de Poireaux, Beurre Léger au Parmesan. My partner had the Filet de Bœuf Simmenthal en Croûte de Poivre, Jus à la Moutarde Violette, Gratin Dauphinois au Lard. I have never had such an excellent steak! The quality and the preparation were spectacular. We were there for a birthday celebration. The atmosphere is perfect for a special evening such as this or for a romantic dinner for two.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinanciallySavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Panier des 4 Saisons also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Argentiere, Chamonix
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Panier des 4 Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing