We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Le Fer a Cheval

Le Fer a Cheval
Ranked #2 of 227 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We shared the black mushroom fondue, and it was outstanding. The service wasnextremely good, the waiter was attentive, while not being bothersome. Would definelty go back there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellerwanabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    162
    21
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaillard, France
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Typical food you'd expect in a Brasserie in the Alps”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here many times and am rarely disappointed. The service is hit or miss... sometimes fab sometimes horrible, but always friendly. Great fondu, good salads and excellent fries! :-)

Helpful?
Thank USAfrGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília, DF
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect fondue”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great atmosphere, excelent service and such a delicious fondue! This is a restaurant for locals and very traditional in that city. Perfect for groups and/or romantic dinners.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LFavilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fondue!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our family dined outdoors with exceptional views of the mountains! The fondue was delicious, and the price was reasonable:) We had a great evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good food, reasonable cost”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This restaurant is just outside of the tourist area. We dined there our first evening in Chamonix since it was close to the hotel and recommended. The duck was superb and we liked it so much that we returned for dinner again. If you like good French food, this is the place for you. The service was very good as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amber9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Fer a Cheval also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Argentiere, Chamonix
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Fer a Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing