We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic functional accommodation”
Review of Chalet Whymper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Whymper
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic functional accommodation”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Chalet Whymper is well situated. The staff were polite at all times and the free mini bus to the lifts was a real help. If you are staying for a short break as we were, then you can't complain. The food was not cordon bleu, just basic hearty fayre and the wine a bit rough but OK with food. The rooms were clean and comfortable but don't expect any frilly extras. A good option if you are just looking for a base and are planning to make the most of Chamonix.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Been to Whymper c 4 times initially with a party of c 8 from work on the recommendation of a colleague (thanks Grant!). Returned twice with work - final party was over 25 people so took another Bigfoot property as well
Also been with my family.
The venue is big. It is not the height of luxury but ....... is extremely central, clean and reasonably priced. It has a lovely big living area with a log fire, bBlconey and big sofas.
The Bigfoot team are excellent and have always given a great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

20 of us rented the Whymper chalet for the weekend in December (early season) and we had a good time. The chalet is nice, the common space is the best part, with fire place, cozy and big enough for about 15 people. The rooms are a bit shabby, but good enough for a weekend stay. We were unlucky because the heating broke down just when we got back from skiing the 1st day, so no one could shower. The managers said it was being fixed, but it wasn't fixed until morning, so we were very cold during the night as well. Not great experience. We also had a feeling that it could have been fixed right away, but the managers didn't care enough. Especially as the heating was back at 9am, which means the technician came only in the morning, instead manager making the emergency call. Also, even if we rented the whole chalet, time of breakfast was imposed to us from 8am to 9am, which was very surprising for us as we had the whole chalet to ourselves, and we all wanted later breakfast. This was almost unacceptable to me, and just for that reason I probably wouldn't go back. We come to Chamonix regularly at the beginning of the season and we always had better, more friendly experience and quite cheaper than what we paid here.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are bigger, quieter and have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana-MarijaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff.Good quality continental breakfast included in price.Two twin rooms booked and of acceptable quality for price especially as trip at end of walking season and building about to be made ready for ski season. Excellent location and 20% discount card to use at local pub/restaurant a bonus. Again staff very accommodating. Will use again.

Room Tip: Minor issue- chalet near to super u supermarket that start work approx 5 am and reversing loader has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plodhereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed here with a group of friends and would recommend it to people who like cozy little places that don't cost much. This was a nice chalet with clean rooms, bathtubs. good service, decent breakfast and the owner gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation at Le Caveau. Very cottage-like and excellent value for money!

Although the signs leading to the place and on the chalet itself could be more prominent... :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emaleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs, UK
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2009

What to say? Room was clean, staff were wonderful, breakfast was provided, and was perfect for a self catered stay. Definately stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaghetti1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Chalet Whymper is located close to the centre of Chamonix and ski lift, the staff were great and made us feel really welcome. The chalet was spotless, we had a really spacious room with big en-suite, free internet was a bonus.

We're going back to Chamonix in a couple of weeks and are looking forward to another stay in Chalet Whymper!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekymonkey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
14.9 mi away
Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc
7.9 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,086 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Le Dahu Hotel
Le Dahu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Argentiere
89 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
483 reviews
7.9 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Whymper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Whymper

Property: Chalet Whymper
Address: Passage L'Androsace, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located right in the heart of the town, Chalet Whymper is ideal for those looking for comfortable accommodation with the added benefit of having the shops and bars of Chamonix right on the doorstep. It is also within easy walking distance of the Aiguille du Midi and Brevent lift. The chalet has a spacious living area decorated in a traditional style with three large sofas set around the open fireplace for you to relax after a day in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chalet Whymper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing