We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Grandmother's tarts" were the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Carrier

La Maison Carrier
Ranked #19 of 220 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$37 - US$148
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Installed on small chairs like the pasture and under the old wood paneling of the reconstructed farmhouse is a cuisine to be enjoyed on checkered tablecloths our country restaurant. Back in time to rediscover the old-those dishes simmered by our grandmothers, who hummed hours on the wood stove - is what we offer to our guests. Summer on the terrace facing Mont Blanc, the winter near the terminal, high Savoyard fireplace, is enchaineront popular dishes of popular cuisine: calf's head invigorates sauce, grilled pigs feet, the bowl Chicken liver, the roast lamb on the spit, pike quenelles in crayfish sauce, Piedmontese risotto or fried whitefish fillet. Of course, the chef Stephane Gassot did not forget to revisit some cheese specialties and bring up to date the classic old desserts. Tasty, tasty, real Proust's madeleine that will make you relive with emotion the exquisite flavors of the cuisine of yesteryear Alps. Perpetual ode to our ancestors who cooks ends with this "vre" garni thousand pies and gourmet coffee that can be enjoyed chocolates and cookies, all prepared in the kitchens of our establishment. In the dining room, our director Serge Ratton will offer you the most suitable wine to your desires and your dishes with a selection of fine wines from France, including wines from regional varieties of the best winemakers.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Grandmother's tarts" were the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a great meal made with very local ingredients. Even before the meal officially started the bread and local cold cuts (shown in the picture curing in the restaurant) were delicious. The restaurant itself looks like an old farmhouse on the inside, and is very cute and charming. The set menu was more than enough and the dessert bar of 'grandmother's tarts' had almost 15 different types of cakes, pastries, mousses, puddings, etc.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Candise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    187
    55
    40
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
195 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Service is everything!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This good restaurant, has a good price for their menu, and it is very cozy, all decorated in wooden, the food was good but not grate, but the service wasn't good they didn't try to please us or be nice, no explanations about the menu and as it was late we were almost abandoned in the end.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible and slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We are spending a week end skiing in Chamonix and were looking forward for some traditional local food. The place is nice and exhudes a lot of charm. We were a large group and endee being seated on two different tables while we had booked 1 table. The waiters had an attitude and then it took an hour to have our appetizers (which were good by the way). 45 minutes later we stil had not received our main courses although we had asked the waiters 3 times about them, we decided to cancel, pay and leave.

In summary they managed to ruin one of our week end evenings with their terrible and nonexistent service. What a joke.

Helpful?
Thank Lebmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice place, very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We eat every year in La Maison Carrier, when going back to Barcelona after our yearly stay in Zermatt. The quality and food are excellent, they've never disappointed us. We love eating in "La salle des guides" it's a very cosy place. The dessert choice is fabulous and everything is excellent. The "plat du jour" has always a very good price-quality ratio. We strongly recommend eating in this restaurant. The choice of menus is also very good and the prices are reasonable for what you get.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank calakmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Brunch on a snowy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have been at La Maison Carrier on Saturday February the 8th. I did book a couple of days in advance. and at a table of 6 friends we had a fantastic position with view of Aiguille du Midi (pity for the low clouds). We arrived at 1:30 PM but the kitchen was till fully opened and providing excellent cuisine and we spent there almost 2 hours eating some true French specialties associated with great wines. the best part of the meal was though the desert which came with free choice of all you wanted and they were all so delicious that everyone went at least for 4 or 5 different types of deserts and most had it twice. Final bill came at 160 Euro per couple but was money well spent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emiliano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Maison Carrier also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to La Maison Carrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing