We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French breakfast was standard - service, average”
Review of Irish Coffee

Irish Coffee
Ranked #7 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Chamonix
Cuisines: Italian
Description: tel. 04 50530519
Restaurant details
Description: tel. 04 50530519
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“French breakfast was standard - service, average”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Service here for breakfast was okay - very hurried and inattentive. I sat outside which was okay but they could have done with some heaters. The main waiter broke a glass and didn't even apologise or come over to clean the glass that had shattered beneath my feet... Somewhat odd. French breakfast was fine - standard - baguette, croissant, orange juice, coffee. 10 Euro for breakfast seemed okay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bepeaceful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    55
    45
    35
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out...”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Some friends and I stumbled on to Irish Coffee while wandering around Chamonix on a cold, rainy afternoon and dropped in for lunch and drinks. It's located conveniently in the center of Chamonix on the main town square. The restaurant itself is well remodeled and fairly modern. There is a choice of indoor or covered outdoor (with space heaters) seating areas.

Our waitress was multi-lingual and very nice. Drinks came out fast and were very tasty. Our meals were ok but not great (sandwiches, burgers, fries, pub grub in other words). Post lunch coffee was excellent.

I would highly recommend this place for drinks but you if you want outstanding dining, there are better choices. Prices are higher than I would like but in keeping with other bars in the area. Still, on the strength of the service and the drinks, I'll give it a 4 star rating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not the most interesting”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We went there for a late lunch and the one and only waitress was very busy serving the people sitting outside. We ordered their bacon burger and they were not a great experience – tasteless and the French fries tasted like they were boiled in to old oil. The only good thing was their Edelweiss bier.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebbwlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Top spot”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Thanks to staff and chef for hosting me for a couple of days when injury forced me off the piste.

Not an obvious choice for food and bar ( name Irish Coffee?????) but the staff made the place work like clockwork and enjoyed the typical local food and beverage.

Greta location at the top of bar street, and perfect for quick easy food and drink before a night out further down the hill.

Thanks

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoxtrotUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

9 euro for an Irish Coffee. The venue smelled like sewage, so we had to sit outside. But they couldn't turn on the heating lamps during the day, and they didn't have blankets.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irish Coffee also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Irish Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing