We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location great staff”
Review of Hotel Les Lanchers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Lanchers
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value and location great staff”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed in the family standard rooms which are in the old part of the building. Two ajoining rooms with a very small "pod" bathroom in the attic of the hotel. Was a little disappointed at size of bathroom and no balconly which I requested but overall the accomodation was adequate for our purposes.The big positives about the hotel was the restaurant we went half board and the food was consistenly good and the waiting staff in particular Patrick. If you are not on a tight budget however I would recommend the superior rooms which are excellent. Hotel very close to Flegere lift and handy for bus to town. Very nice walk along river takes about 20 minutes to centre of the resort. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room with balcony. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0lidaydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    112
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
77
138
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I have been coming to the Chamonix valley for years and had wanted to try les lanchers for a while as I really like the hamlet of Les Praz and am not bothered abotu staying in Chamonix central. I initially intended on going alone and booked a single room, some 6 months in advance of my stay. Two weeks before my stay I asked whether they still had a double room as a friend wanted to join me. They didn't, but they offered to move the "double" bed (140 cm wide) out of the room and exchange it for two single beds. This was a brilliant solution for me and my friend as most hotels in the valley were fully booked by now. We received an entry code for late arrivals but when we arrived the staff was actually still on site and despite obviously having finished work for the day they checked us in as normal whcih was very kind. The room was indeed small now that is had to serve as a doubel room but it would have been eprfect as the single room. It had a little balcony and we had lovely views towards Les Drus and the Mont Blanc and a great shower with good water pressure. Breakfast was simple and fairly plain - no fruit or eggs in any shape and a rather limited selection of other foods but the daily freshly baked croissants made up for that. The location of the hotel is excellent - within walking distance of the lifts from where you have access to Flegere and Brevent. Free shuttle busses to Chamonix village and the other slopes stop in front of the hotel and there is a large parking space next to the hotel too. At breakfast the last day we met John the manager who I had been corresponding with abotu the extra bed, he came to introduce himself and ask if everything had been alright which I thought was a nice touch. I think this is a good hotel for couples, small groups of friends and possibly families with older children. I personally did not like the atmosphere that was created by the fact that the huge flatscreen TV in the bar / breakfast room was on pretty much 24/7 showing sports and sometimes some pretty loud music, it seemed to contradict the more romantic impression I got looking at the hotel from the outside, with it's pretty painting and the cute little terrace.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front face th emonth blanc. Room 3 and 6 have a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

we have just returned from spending a week at Les Lanchers, this is our sixth visit to the hotel and it never fails to impress us. The hotel has been upgraded and the hotel has a modern open feel about it. The standard rooms are perfectly adequate for an activity holiday or short break but the superior rooms are a definite step up with their modern and more luxurious bathroom fixtures and fittings, it was lovely to have the luxury of a bath after a hard day skiing. we chose the bed breakfast and evening meal option and the food was lovely. The staff are always polite and extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The position of the hotel is ideal for skiing in flegere, but there is also a bus stop outside the hotel to take you into chamonix itself. We will be returning again next year for ski holiday. thank Jon and Celine for a fantastic holiday from Diane, Phil, Laura and Emily

Room Tip: The standard rooms are perfectly adequate for an activity holiday or short break but the superior ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The location is very good: within a five minute walking distance to the ski lift that, in my opinion, takes you to one of the best skiing areas in Chamonix. Bus stops close by connect you to the other skiing areas, and buses operate frequently.

The hotel is a 25 min. walk away from the Chamonix city center, and the last bus back is before eight PM. Taxis are expensive and hard to find..

The pictures on the hotel web site are all from the new wing, whereas we were located on the old side of the hotel. The rooms were ok, apart from the really uncomfortable beds and tiny bathrooms. Sound proofing was also inadequate - but luckily we were on the same daily schedule as everyone else (up early to catch the first lift), so the sounds didn't matter that much.

Breakfast was surprisingly good, although a bit of variation would have been nice... The restaurant was pretty full every evening, so make a reservation! The food was good and reasonably priced (compared to the other restaurants in the area).

There are a few ski rentals right next door, and a small shop right across the street selling water, snacks, etc.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the new side! Room 3 (old wing) has its own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Htossu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I chose this hotel based on the TA positive reviews, and having seen its location (next to Flegere lift) last year (this was our 5th year in Chamonix). Big mistake!
1)We were given an extremely small room although we booked for 11 nights and we clearly indicated that we had a one and a half year old who needed a cot. We could not stand up at the same time with my wife, let alone a toddler who needed a little space to play in.
2)As soon as we arrived the manager tried to sell us the half board option and breakfast. We don't like being 'pushed' into such things and it was a big disappointment to come across such aggressive selling strategies the minute we arrived at the hotel.
3)Thank God we didnt go for it! The food at the restaurant is well below the quality you can get at most nearby restaurants and hotels (we tried a few of them, L'Arveyron, Le Dahu, Le Sarpe). It is also hugely overpriced for what you get.
The bar area is nice but 6 euro for a glass of beer is ridiculous.
4)The room radiator was tiny (suitable maybe for a small bathroom) and inadequate to heat the room (window insulation is very poor for noise and heat) we ended up having to sleep wearing jackets and ice on the inside of the balcony door was evident every morning.
5)The bathroom was a plastic ship-standard cabin with no heating device-we had to let the warm water run for 10 mins before we could take a shower because of how cold it was in there.

All the above at a price of over 115 euros per night room only? No thanks!

6)To 'add insult to injury' and following my negative review at the venere website (where I had booked) the manager sent me a rude e-mail saying that we should be grateful that they didn.t charge extra because my son had accidentally spilt some beverage on the room floor!

There are much better, friendlier, cheaper, warmer, professionally managed hotels in Chamonix area.
I don.t understand how they got the positive reviews.

Room Tip: Room 6 (where we stayed) is the smallest and suited realistically for single occupancy although adve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sotirip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Chamonix is expensive overall. We placed here and in Mercure central. This place offers good value for money! It is in good location, walking distance to Flegere lifts. If you are a total beginner stay in the centre of Chamonix, close to the Les Planard beginner ski slopes. It doesn't matter though where you stay if you have a car but make sure you can drive in severe conditions!!!! We saw many cars stuck on the way!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elcin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights in January for a ski holiday from Australia. Really loved the hotel. Check in was efficient and the room was great. We had a lovely balcony off our room that was cleared of snow regularly by hotel staff. Staff at the hotel were more than friendly giving us tips on public transport and the best ski areas. We took the half board option and could not have been happier. Food was great, with choices of entree, main and dessert. The creme brulee was a highlight for us and one of our group had it 5 nights in a row! The small bar area was good for afternoon tea and we often had a drink or 2 here first before heading into Chamonix town. The bus stop is right outside the door and buses run regularly to the centre of town, 5 miniute trip, we'd get off at Mummery station. Flegere the gondola up to the ski areas is a 5 - 10 minute walk from the hotel.
I would love to return to this great hotel, although next time I might hire a car to make getting access to the many mountains a bit easier waiting for buses after skiing all day was not ideal!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Live4holidays2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Lanchers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Lanchers

Property: Hotel Les Lanchers
Address: 1459 route des Praz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Lanchers 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated near the cable car for access to the ski slopes in winter and walking/biking trails in summer, we have 19 comfortable ensuite bedrooms accessed by an elevator. Our lounge bar offers a cosy place to relax after a sporty day in the mountains and to perhaps be tempted by the classic french cooking of our head chef, Thierry and his team, in our Restaurant Rendezvous. The hotel has a sauna, drying room and ski storage with free wi-fi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Lanchers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing