We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite worth the money”
Review of Hotel Les Lanchers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Lanchers
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Convenient location to bus stop. As stated on website, close to train station Les Praz but service not running (from Chamonix Gare to Les Praz) hence either need to walk or bus from chamonix 3 km. Rooms were hot at night due to a door as only ventilation and noise from downstairs diners/Bar/smokers and flies meant kept door shut. Food was convenient but shop around as there are many places to experience. Overall would probably look elsewhere next time closer to Chamonix.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamianWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

We liked this hotel. We stayed for 4 nights this past week. The room had a nice balcony and view of the mountains including Mont Blanc. The staff was very helpful. The location is very nice as we rarely stay right in the middle of town (in this case Chamonix) but it was a pleasant 15 minute walk each night into the town center along the river trial. A 2 minute walk to the Laflere chair lift and easy parking and car mobility. We are budget travellers and we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slot14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I was lucky to get the very last room in this hotel last Saturday (had no booking) and I enjoyed this stay. The hotel is located in Praz, approx 2-3km from the centre of Chamonix, very close to the Flegere cable car station. The hotel is modern, clean, relatively quiet, with great, friendly service. Two hints: book a superior room, they were recenty renovated and it is worth an extra 20-30 euro. And DO NOT eat in the hotel restaurant - maybe this was just bad luck and I made wrong choices, but having ordered 3 courses for a dinner, I found all 3 of them simply disgusting. A little comfort during this meal was the wine list: they have very good wines at very good prices.

Room Tip: superior rooms are worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheButterflyEffect75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Nice place, friendly stuff, good dinners, 2 big TVs in the lobby, but very small bathrooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zhucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Having explicitly requested a quiet room, we were surprised to have to endure the noise of a wedding party, taking place in the hotel restaurant, which lasted deep into the night, followed by the nerve-racking rearrangement of tables and chairs. Of course, the staff didn't bother to warn us ahead of time that this event will occur just beneath our room. So… pack some earplugs and sleeping pills.

Don't expect too much sympathy though from the staff or owner. You get the feeling here that hospitality is lip service and that rather than being a guest you're just a source of revenue.

If you stay longer than one night you might also want to bring along your own shower-gel and shampoo. The empty tiny bottles left in clear sight, with the lid off, failed to inspire the maid to replace them.

And this was the more expensive "Superior" double room in the new wing.

Breakfast (not included in the room rate) is nothing to write home about and at €9.50 per person is overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissTraveller_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Boutique hotel, recently renovated with amazing hospitality, free parking, quiet and convenient location, great kitchen and smaller cozy rooms with amazing views. The staff is very friendly, always smiling and ready to help. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the food was one of the best I've ever had in Chamonix. Didn't find a single thing I would improve or change.

Room Tip: would recommend room no.7 - amazing view from both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ___terka_k___
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Small, old and smelly room. Noisy location. Owners appeared uninterested. Breakfast bland. Nothing to commend a return visit I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hailmaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
867 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
619 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
565 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Lanchers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Lanchers

Address: 1459 route des Praz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £74 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Lanchers 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated near the cable car for access to the ski slopes in winter and walking/biking trails in summer, we have 19 comfortable ensuite bedrooms accessed by an elevator. Our lounge bar offers a cosy place to relax after a sporty day in the mountains and to perhaps be tempted by the classic french cooking of our head chef, Thierry and his team, in our Restaurant Rendezvous. The hotel has a sauna, drying room and ski storage with free wi-fi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Lanchers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing