We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Hotel Les Lanchers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Lanchers
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On the up side: good village location; good view; decent tasty dinner; friendly and helpful staff; large bath and plenty of hot water; comfortable beds
On the down side: flies in dining room in numbers - a bad start to the day to have to flick them off two otherwise tempting croissants waiting on the table - no other restaurant we ate at in Chamonix had this problem to this extent; only room ventilation was leaving balcony door open - a bit noisy both late evening and early morning; balcony at side of hotel adjacent to public toilets and bottle bank; no room safe.
On this basis I suspect it is a better winter hotel than summer but serves a purpose as a well located base for outdoor pursuits.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank drewwat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Les Lanchers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days, sharing a room with two friends. There was 7 of us all together. The hotel was clean, friendly, quiet and well run. Breakfast was continental and good, but it was the same for 5 days on the run so by day 4 I was bored of the food.
Would I stay there again? Yes I would as it was a great location and a lovely walk into Chamonix.
I hope to go back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here on our honeymoon. We ate in the hotel restaurant every night because the menu was filled with affordable, tasty and authentic french cuisine. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel also held our bags for 9 days while we did the Tour de Mont Blanc hike.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Les Lanchers for just one night in early August 2014 en-route from the UK to our summer vacation in Tuscany - a fairly regular trip for us, and our third stay in Chamonix but our first stay at this hotel.
Hotel Les Lanchers is a small privately owned hotel, which we found to be clean, quiet, efficiently run, with reasonable facilities and comfortable, unfussy rooms. Our room, a four bed family room on the top floor, had stunning views of Mont Blanc and the neighbouring mountains. As our car was fully packed with luggage, important to us was the fact that the hotel has a good size car park.
The hotel is approximately one and a half miles (2.4 Kilometres) from the centre of Chamonix, and initially this was a concern. The walk into Chamonix is, the hotel's receptionist advised, a pleasant one as it follows the path of a river, but we decided to take the bus. The free bus service stops directly outside the hotel, it is regular and quick so that within a few minutes of leaving the hotel we were in the centre of Chamonix. The distance proved to be a blessing; removed from the hustle and bustle of the very busy tourist town, we were afforded a more relaxed ambience at the hotel and very peaceful night's sleep.
We chose not to eat dinner at the hotel, but whilst enjoying a couple of bottles of Mont-Blanc beer (highly recommended) in the hotel's bar, we could see and smell the evening meals being served to diners in the restaurant and regretted our decision to eat in town earlier. The food looked to be of a high standard and those eating were extremely complementary of their meals. A glance at the menu revealed the prices to be better value than in the town centre too. So, with the caveat that we did not eat, I am going to recommend the restaurant on the reactions of those who did, and the smell and visual appeal of its food.
Breakfast was a typical continental buffet affair with tea, coffee, fresh croissants, bread, cold meats and cheeses in plentiful supply. We were unhurried, despite the hotel being full, and the staff pleasant and unobtrusive.
If, like us, you prefer quiet hotels away from the hubbub of town centres, and one which is clean, comfortable, and has a personal, friendly and efficient service, Hotel Les Lanchers is your ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CleanandQuiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here with my son for a week while walking in the mountains. We stayed in room 1, which is a family room with two interconnecting rooms.. We found the hotel to be clean and well run. The proprietor is English, which made communication a lot easier. The restaurant serves French food, and is of excellent quality for the price compared with other restaurants in Chamonix. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlesandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having stayed here in 2013 we decided to return this year to Les Lanchers. Before we traveled we saw on Facebook that the hotel was refurbishing their rooms. The rooms are now even better. The bathrooms are a lot nicer and very practical. The rooms are now modern and contemporary. As usual the staff was very friendly and breakfast great. One evening we had dinner at the hotel and it was very very nice and certainly cheaper than Chamonix restaurants.

Also, this hotel has plenty of free parking, is within walking distance of the Flegere cable car and a very short drive from Chamonix. The location really is great.

The only thing I can criticize is that during the refurb the balcony doors were not changed. We had three days of bad weather with heavy rain but as the balcony doors can only be opened and closed but not tilted we were left with the dilemma do we have a decent night sleep but therefore a wet carpet or do we close the door and suffocate.
But this was a minor issue (and we opted for risking a wet carpet)

Thank you to all the staff for our great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ukdani80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just writing this review on my last evening here in Chamonix before setting off on the TMB tomorrow morning.
I stayed for 4 nights at Les Lanchers and couldn't be happier with the experience.
Great little Hotel just outside of the main Chamonix area. Perfectly sized rooms with plenty of storage space, great bathroom, nice deck and incredible views of the Mont Blanc and surrounding mountains in all directions.
Downtown Chamonix is a 20 min walk away, but don't let that put you off as the walk is beside a lovely river and through some local forest.
Breakfast is a small but delicious buffet and the staff are very helpful and friendly....what more could you ask for?
A special mention to Gaelle who was a great help to me personally over email communications and also very helpful when we finally met at the Hotel - thanks for all your help Gaelle :)
My only problem now is that I have to stay somewhere else when I return to Chamonix as the Hotel is fully booked for the dates I need.
I would happily return to stay here and can highly recommend the Hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure...I stayed in room 3 and it was very nice. Incredible views!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank toosdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
609 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Lanchers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Lanchers

Address: 1459 route des Praz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £84 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Lanchers 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated near the cable car for access to the ski slopes in winter and walking/biking trails in summer, we have 19 comfortable ensuite bedrooms accessed by an elevator. Our lounge bar offers a cosy place to relax after a sporty day in the mountains and to perhaps be tempted by the classic french cooking of our head chef, Thierry and his team, in our Restaurant Rendezvous. The hotel has a sauna, drying room and ski storage with free wi-fi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Lanchers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing