We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Star in Porte de la Foret”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Porte de la Foret

View from Main Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Main Bedroom
Port de la forêt Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
View from Main Bedroom
Port de la forêt
Enter a caption for your photo
Main bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Ouside...
Second Bedroom
Shower Room
Aguille du Midi - starting point for the Vallee Blanche
Private Area in Front of the apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Chamonix centre
Close to your apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Skiing at Le Tour
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Anna S
2 reviews
“Star in Porte de la Foret”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Porte de la Foret very much. The host is very friendly. The house is pretty and the rooms were comfortable enough.
Moreover, the location is very convenient – in the dearest vicinity to the Camonix sentre and no need to climb up mounting. At the same time it was all piece and quiet.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Porte de la Foret is convenient, comfortable, and a great value for the price!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thanks Sharon, You were perfect guests and left the accommodation in immaculate condition. We hope you had a good trip home :)
Cheers
Jody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jcrouan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spacious, well appointed, well priced apartment in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic week in this apartment with our two children aged 8 & 9. This was our 5th time in Chamonix and we have stayed in numerous apartments over the years, all of which have had their pros and cons. This apartment however, is the outright, all round winner for us and I would highly recommend it to anybody travelling with a young family. The apartment is in a lovely quiet area and has a large private garden which was perfect for our children to play in. Being a ground floor apartment, we were able to sit in comfort in the kitchen and enjoy a drink or two after skiing whilst the children played in safety outside. Parking is also immediately outside which made it so easy for us in the mornings when mobilising the troops. The centre of town is 2 or 3 minutes away by car or about 10-15 minutes on foot along a quiet road. The main ski areas of Brevent and Flegere are also reachable by car in about 5 minutes. Inside, the apartment is very spacious which, after years of being crammed in to ski apartments like sardines, was a welcome change. The children's bedroom is two rooms away from the main living area at the end of the main hallway which was great as it meant that we could sit up and chat and listen to music at night without worrying about keeping the children awake (experience tells us that tired,cranky children and ski holidays don't mix). The beds were very comfortable with lots of spare blankets and pillows, there was plenty of hot water for a family of four and the kitchen is well equipped with an electric hob, oven, microwave and dishwasher so we were easily able to produce decent meals in the evenings after a long day on the pistes. Last but not least, the owner and her family were lovely, thoroughly pleasant people who made us feel very welcome and were more than happy to help with any questions or queries that we had during the week. We felt that this apartment represented extremely good value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody visiting the area. If we return to Chamonix next year, I will definitely be seeing if it is available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, garden and spaciousness.
Liked least: Could do with smaller kitchen table in favour of bigger/more lounge furniture (but I'm being picky).
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and quiet”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Great place at a very good price. Fairly large with two very decent bedrooms. Location convenient to the bus (350m) and only 15' to the centre of Chamonix. A handy brasserie is a 7' walk. The owner is very nice, accommodating and pro-active. Highly recommended

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy R
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A very pleasant surprise when we arrived late - beautiful large apartment. A little bit out of town for walking to bus stops with snow gear but everything else exceeded our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lottesaha...
Sde Boker, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This rental is just minutes away from the Flegere ski lift in Chamonix-Sud. The rental is comfortable but not luxurious. It sleeps 4 easily, 6 would be crowded. Kitchen is well equipped for light meals. Owner very helpful.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanoeHele...
Sunbury
2 reviews
“Lovely quiet location, great access to some fantastic slopes”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Porte de la Foret; it's in a beautiful location, very close to cross country forested trails and five minutes drive to Chamonix (however, parking in Chamonix centre can be a bit of a problem in peak season). The skiing is great; we skied in 5 different locations over our 6 day trip - you do need a car or be prepared to take the regular bus service. Neither of these is particular to the appartment - just Chamonix in general. The appartment is great, really well equipped and with welcoming owners who are really happy to go out of their way to give help and advice. Whatever pastime you undertake, walking skiing, biking, just take in this awesome scenery; it really is fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude and warm friendly welcome
Liked least: Kitchen could be slightly better equipped
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing