We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day trip to Aiguille du Midi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aiguille du Midi

Aiguille du Midi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$358.29*
and up
Private Tour: Mont Blanc and Chamonix Day Trip from Geneva Including Michelin...
Ranked #1 of 65 things to do in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From Chamonix (1035m), fl y over the forest to reach le Plan de l’Aiguille in 10 minutes (2317m). On your right, the Glacier des Bossons, in front of you the Mont-Blanc (4810m), on your left the Aiguille Verte, the Drus and the Aiguilles de Chamonix. Then take a second cable car which, in just 10 minutes takes you up to 3777m, over the seracs, the glacier des Pelerins and the hanging glaciers on the north face of the Aiguille du Midi. . From the top, a sightseeing panorama unique in the world. Experience a very high altitude.
houston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Day trip to Aiguille du Midi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Make sure to get there prior to 8 am, and start coming back down before 1 or you will have long waits

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank greenetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,633
    558
    112
    29
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Number 1 Attraction in Chamonix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is of course number one attraction in Chamonix.
Not every day you're find yourself at 3,842 Meters above the sea level and can see such amazing views of the huge mountains and Chamonix downside.

To enjoy the most of it:
- Clear weather is a must...
- it is pretty cold up there - be prepared! A lot of snow around and winds (even in July). But there are some "closed" places with big windows where you can enjoy the views comfortably :-)
- there is not much oxygen up there - be ready for light headache and weariness. All this disappear once you go down.
- it is not cheap - 53 Euro up and down. I bought 2-day pass for 70 Euro and visited some more mountains.
- it is crowded there, as expected.
- if you want to make a short or long hike, to have a picnic or just sit outside and enjoy the weather and nature - middle station (Plan de l'Aiguille) is the place. The weather (and oxygen) are much comfortable there, less crowded and there are a lot of places to walk and rest.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RomanTsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fabulous cable car but allow time to go "into the void"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We loved every part of it. We did not expect the "void" where you stand over plexiglass and almost missed seeing it. You have to climb stairs that are not altogether clearly marked. Views are fabulous.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist22903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views from the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Cable car to the top was an experience in itself.
Once on top, the views are amazing, but the high altitude (>3800m) did make me feel a bit dizzy/lightheaded. An hour or two at the top were enough. The "step into the void cabin" is a must do !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gabi1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“View of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Luck was with us in during the first week of October, 2013. It was a bright sunny day and we stepped right on to the cable car with no line up. What a ride! My ears did hurt a bit and I felt quite light headed when we reached the top, but I would do it in a heartbeat again, if I ever get the chance!

The views are magnificent. You are surrounded by snow topped peaks and below are teensy weensy little hikers moving steadily along the edge of winding snow drifts. The miniature town of Chamonix is nestled at the bottom. Hang gliders were out in full force the day we were there. What a treat to watch them run off the side of the mountain into thin air...very thin air, that is! Then you followed the colours of their bright canopies as they made their slow descent to the bottom.

It was -5C at the summit, so dress very warmly, no matter how hot the weather is in Chamonix. Don't forget a warm hat, scarf and mittens or gloves. There, I just channeled all the mothers of the world in that last sentence!

Our afternoon in the French Alps will be one of our favourite memories of a seven week trip in France. Don't miss this exceptionally beautiful and friendly region of France.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pokieman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aiguille du Midi also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Aiguille du Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing