We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Aiguille du Midi
from US$98.02
More Info
from US$121.41
More Info
from US$87.99
More Info
from US$75.74
More Info
Reviews (7,368)
Filter reviews
7,368 results
Traveller rating
6,037
944
226
74
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,037
944
226
74
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car mont blanc amazing views glass box warm clothes day pass du midi once in a lifetime afraid of heights out of this world visiting chamonix void cars queue altitude weather gondola
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 7,368 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

Most disappointing part of our holiday- but also the most expensive thing we did. £224 for a return trip for 4 of us. Going up was fine- they explained the weather wasn’t too good; probably one reason we got on and up to summit so quickly. However as we got off at the top we were handed a numbered ticket and told our descent wasn’t for 2 hours and 30 minutes.
I don’t understand why if they can tell you the weather conditions they can’t also tell you the about huge delay to come back down again. it was zero degrees up there.

It was packed up there , the extremely overpriced restaurant packed out with cold fed up people. Everyone asking to come down sooner but being told no.
We’ve been here before a few years ago and it was amazing. But now. Feels very revenue based- just intent on squeezing as many people in the cars with no thought about bringing everyone back. Also as with other reviews don’t go if you are claustrophobic as they pack you in like sardines.
How they can justify the price for being so under whelmed.
Never again

Date of experience: August 2019
6  Thank mlp2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONT BLANC N, Groupe Compagnie du Mont-Blanc at Aiguille du Midi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear Madam, Sir,

We took good note of your comments regarding the delay for the descent and the management of the attendance.

We draw your attention to the fact that the crowd in the summer period requires to manage more restrictively flows and queues. The cable car is subject to the influx of visitors, weather conditions or potential damage, we can not guarantee a precise schedule to go back to Chamonix. Boarding numbers for the return are distributed for logistical reasons, in order to avoid wasting time in waiting line for the visitors.

We regret that you missed information, we sent your comment to the Management of this excursion site, so that our teams will be more attentive to the information transmitted in this organization.

Eager to offer the best quality possible to our clients, we will take your remarks into account.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019

Superb experience from start to finish! Views from the top are majestic! The cable car ride offers fantastic views !

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Arpita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2019

There was only a short wait to get a cable car up the mountain. The trip up and down the montain, and the views from the peak, are just stunning, the highlight of our time in Chanonix. There are several interesting exhibits at the top you can also enjoy. Just be aware that at 3842 metres high, you will experience some wooziness from the lower oxygen level.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank evets1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2019 via mobile

We arrived in Chamonix today and we were anxious to experience cable car to Mont Blanc. We walked from our hotel to the station and purchased tickets with no delays. We took both cars to the top and enjoyed the scenery. Once we arrived we were given tickets with a number that meant we would have to wait 2 hours before before we could return to the bottom. We decided to eat in the restaurant to pass the time. With 20 minutes to go we got in line and were herded into a car 15 minutes late but we were packed in so tight, we regretted the experience. Anyone who is anxious or claustrophobic or unable to stand in one place for 30 minutes should avoid this activity!!!! The cable car was overloaded!

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank pamiepat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONT BLANC N, Service Marketing at Aiguille du Midi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear Madam, Sir,

Your comment regarding the transportation on board the cable car have received our full attention. We inform you that we respect the maximum capacity authorized by the manufacturer. In summer high season, the influx of visitors is important and we try to satisfy the maximum of customers who often come from far away to visit the Aiguille du Midi.
In order to free up as much space as possible, passengers are asked to remove their backpacks and to occupy all the available space in the the cable car.
We regret that the descent by cable car inconvenienced you.

We would like to assure you that we make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction of our customers, your comments will help us to improve and to better respond to your needs.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019

First I really have to admit that it was the BEST attraction in Chamonix, views from Aiguille are amazing! If you wish to visit only one telepherique in Chamonix - this is the one! Another important thing is to take warm clothes, we had winter jackets and were a little cold, but it was only May. There are awesome views from up there and I recommend to go early in the morning, when there is a high chance to actually see Mont Blanc as most of the time it's hidden in the clouds.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews