We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Mixture”
Review of Hotel Mont-Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Strange Mixture”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

When looking for a hotel for our vacation, we found none with 5 stars in Chamonix. We settled for MB knowing that after being closed for refurbish was now in a reclassification process and dreaming to be the first in that league. It could have been but ...
It has clearly the best location in town ! It is very nicely decorated , with attention for detail, clean looking even warm.
Our room, a junior suite, has been large enough, with a beautiful view to the Mont Blanc mountains, with a large, comfortable bed, a nice bathroom and a large shower cabin including a sauna [!] with a state of the art touch-screen controller.
Nevertheless when you need to transfer the content of your bags you are confronted with a too small hanging space and badly placed drawers .
The minibar - the smallest ever seen- brought reminiscences of the hotels of the third world : it included two [small] bottles of water and nothing else ; there has been no coffee maker, no tea, nuts, etc
An other shock was the restaurant menu at the dinner time : it contained two pages and among the very few meals it included three kinds of sandwiches !
We had a kind of reverse shock during the New Year's Eve party when we were served with a dinner at the level of Michelin stars !
An other weak point is the staff which is made of many young persons lacking the experience and language skills required ; the concierge did not exist and the front office personnel lacked the competence to provide those services..
It is frustrating to see such a property underperforming ; if better managed could quickly get to the top !
Nevertheless we do not regret choosing it

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cetatzeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarik T, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear client,

We thank you for writing this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the facilities that it provides.

Considering the minibar, since it is free of charge, we are not allowed to put any alcoholized drinks or such in it. However, it is obvious that there has unfortunately been a problem with the filling of the minibar, which usually of course includes water, soft drinks and salty snacks. We apologize for this and agree that it is not acceptable.

You mentioned a reduced restaurant menu and we regret that the member of our staff in question did not explain to you that since the restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday evenings, we serve a reduced two page menu during these two nights. All the other nights of the week we serve the normal restaurant menu with a larger choice of course. We agree that in terms of service, it is very important to precise this kind of information and we assure you that we have completely acknowledged all of your remarks and transmitted them to the entire personnel.

We are pleased to hear that you were in general satisfied with your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future.

We remain at your entire disposal for all further information.

Best wishes,

Tarik & Janina Taittinger
General Managers of the Hotel Mont-Blanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    59
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
72
223
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I am being extremely generous with this rating, simply because the hotel is physically quite lovely, and I am hoping that they manage to get their act together soon. It is a beautiful old building that was recently renovated to perfection. However, things seem to have gone badly astray once the architects and designers left. The poor management is puzzling at best.
First, although the rooms themselves are beautifully furnished, with luxury fixtures and bedding, the amenities are, well, non-existent. Yes, there was the basic soap, shampoo, body lotion and Q-tips, but in inadequate quantities. There were two small bars of soap to cover the three sinks, bath and separate shower in our room. They were also never automatically replenished, as in most hotels, but only upon request- which involved speaking to three different people at the front desk and at housekeeping, before someone finally came to our room with an extra bar of soap. There was no shower cap ,no laundry bags, no pad and pencil next to the phone, - not even a sheet of paper with basic information about the hotel or its amenities. Nothing. Rather bizarre.
Not only was there no coffee maker or tea kettle, but there was no room service menu at all. When we asked if one could be sent to our room we were told that they could tell us what they have, but that they could not provide a menu. Ordering as much as a cup of tea from room service turned into a comical adventure worthy of a Seinfeld episode, requiring several tries and multiple conversations.
The young women at the front desk were always cheerful and tried to be helpful, but appeared to be in a perpetual state of confusion and sources of incorrect information. We arrived at the hotel on a Sunday, and when I asked where I could find a pharmacy I was told that they were all closed on Sunday. An hour later I went for a walk and found an open pharmacy right across the square. Another day I was sent to a non-existent ski school on the other side of town, when the guide that the hotel itself had booked for me was actually located next door to the hotel. It would have been comical had I not been running around in the falling snow for 30 minutes frantically trying to be on time for a group activity (which in the end I would have missed but for the guide's willingness to drive back to Chamonix to get me). The incompetence at the front desk is simply inexcusable for a 5 star hotel, leading me to believe that the hotel employees were all trained at the Fawlty Towers school of hotel management.
The gym in the basement has a few machines (one of which was broken even though the hotel has only been operational for several months) and a temperature suitable for hot yoga, not cardiovascular exercise.
The spa is closed between the hours of noon and 3, which I found a bit odd, since this was high season.
The restaurant is lovely- and a tad overpriced, with a sommelier straight out of central casting with an air of Napoleonic arrogance . Breakfast consists of a fine buffet, however the items remained the same for the entire week of our stay.
Since this was our first time in Chamonix, I have no idea how it compares to the few other luxury hotels in town in terms of service. If all you want is a comfortable bed in a beautiful room in a perfectly situated hotel, then by all means go. If you expect competent service to go along with your room, I would keep looking.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Mont Blanc get beautiful afternoon sun. The fifth floor rooms can be a bit darker due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chookoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarik T, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your remarks that we have of course taken very seriously and carefully analysed. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the interior design and the general aspect of our hotel and of course saddened that you had experienced some deceptions during your stay. We are constantly working on bettering every aspect of the hotel that has opened in late November 2013.

Considering the problems you experienced in terms of different incomprehension issues, we are getting to the bottom of it and have taken all precautions in order to prohibit that it will reproduce. Considering your overall remark about our staff and the service that they provide, we admit that most of them are young, but we can assure you that they are competent and that they do their very best for our clients.

If one day you will come back to Chamonix, we hope that you will give us a second chance to give you a better first impression.

Again thank you for taking the time to write this review, it is very helpful for us.

We remain at your entire disposal and we wish you all the best.

Kindest regards,

Tarik & Janina Taittinger
General Managers of the Hotel Mont-Blanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We are currently staying at the Mont Blanc and it is lovely. The renovation work is excellent, very modern and clean but still cosy and they have kept the old features such as the stair case and corniches. Our room is a superior, immaculate and tastefully decorated but a bit on the small side. We had drinks in the bar beside the restaurant and the barman was very friendly and knowledgable about the wines in the area unfortunately we were too jet lagged to make it to dinner but they served us some Amuse Bouche which were delicious, so we will definitely be dining here tonight. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is right in the middle of Chamonix so great for strolling around.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Mont-Blanc last weekend & it was fabulous. Now we know a thing or two about luxury as we own a boutique chalet company, The Alpine Club. It is with pleasure that I can say The Hotel Mont Blanc surpassed our expectations. It was fab! Beautiful, stylish decor, with lots of "wow, look at that' moments (Chris is an architect so always looking at the details). Deep, sink into sofas in the lounge & bar; attentive, professional, yet warm service; flexible service - The pool didn't open until 10am yet they happily opened it at 8.30 for me. Oh yes, & what a great pool with views of, had it not been cloudy, Mont Blanc. We had dinner in the restaurant & the food was delicious. Artful presentation, imaginative combinations.

My massage by Helene was luxurious & relaxing, I was fully pampered. Try the senses shower in the spa area....I won't spoil the surprise!

Our room was beautiful; gorgeous decor, lots of luxury & a superbly comfortable bed.

When you're in Chamonix, the Hotel Mont Blanc is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel on the 5th floor which had views of mont blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thealpineclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont-Blanc

Property: Hotel Mont-Blanc
Address: 62 allee du Majestic, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#2 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mont-Blanc 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer and winter alike, Hotel Mont-Blanc is the must address to visit in the valley of Chamonix. This elegant establishment has all the comfort and services for an agreeable stay. But more than that, this historical establishment has the extra charm to make this experience unique, immersed in the heart of a city living to the rhythm of one of the most exceptional mountain sites in the world. The 5 stars hotel was fully renovated by the interior designer Sybille de Margerie, inspired by nature and the environment. The bedrooms face a beautiful panorama of mountains, providing space, luxury and comfort. « At the Matafan, I offer a cuisine that goes back to basics, both delicate and tasty, always with an allusion to local gastronomy. » The chief Mickey Bourdillat does not limit his inspiration to the products from the most beautiful French alpine valley. His cuisine is a journey through the Alps, the Aosta Valley and even the Mediterranean Basin. The hotel Spa is a real haven of relaxation with over 250 sqm of pure wellbeing. It invites you to unwind with Clarins treatments and massages surrounded by earth colours and wood that create a warm and inviting atmosphere. . You can also enjoy the steam room, the sauna, the experience shower and the cold shower to get your blood circulation going, or just unwind in the beautiful relaxation room with a healthy smoothie or tea. The gym with fitness equipment of latest technology invites sport lovers to warm up for the day and the large (14 m x 10 m) heated outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi with an impeccable view on the Mont-Blanc Mountain range, propose an elegant combination of luxury and wellbeing. A hotel H8 Collection Founded by Jean-Philippe Cartier, the H8 Collection group bets on exceptional hospitality with character, built in attractive areas: the Mas de la Fouque in the heart of Natural Park of Camargue, the Vieux Castillon few meters from the “Pont du Gard” bridge in a medieval village, the Domaine des Hauts de Loire near the castle of Chambord, most recently the Mathis in Paris and the Hotel Mont Blanc in Chamonix. H8 Collection employs about 200 people and aims to acquire 2 to 3 hotels per year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mont Blanc
Mont Blanc Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing