We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a week in Chamonix!”
Review of Hotel Mont-Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“What a week in Chamonix!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Wow,,,,,one week perfect skiing in fantastic conditions. It was sunshine and blue sky all the time and the slopes were perfect prepared. Especially early in the morning, when the piste was slightly harder, you could find perfect moments on skies.

Of course, for an alpinist and alpine skier, the most enjoyable feeling is, when you achieve nice and precise carving turns. Those turns fullfills your body with powerfull energy and new experiances of new slopes and terrain are born into your mind. This year was exeptional....I made my first trip to Valle Blanche with a superb young quide. It was demanding but a wonderful skiexperience. Next year again.

There is one more thing, maybe the most important for some persons, the hotel where you stay. I felt absolutely perfect moments also in my hotel.

I stayed in Hotel Mont Blanc. This hotel is situated on the best place in Chamonix. You have in the hotels neighborhood everything what you need....shopping street, cafe, equipment service restaurants etc. etc..and the hotel itself is modern but warm and gave a luxurious feeling.

After skiing you could use the excellent SPA with a warm outside swimming pool with an amazing view to the Mont Blanc. If you felt that the warm swimming pool was not enough you could choose two saunas....one with steam and the otherone conventional. If you felt your body extremly tired you could go to the massage and after that to quiet relaxing room or alternativelyt to the brand new gym with new and modern equipments. This alternative is planned for "real" sportmen but suits very well to everyone, who is interested in keeping all muscles in good shape. In this hotel there are many variations how to relax your mind and body.
I choosed to go to my nicely and with good taste decorated, clean room with a very good.......for my body....bed. I relaxed completely and prepared myself for the next day.

During my visit in Chamonix I eated in several restaurants but have to say, that the the best food in Chamonix provided the hotels own restaurant. The food was worth its money. It was made with good taste fanastic rawmaterials. Excellent. You could eat in a quite and relaxing atmosphere and before starting your dinner you could take a glass of champagne in the comfortable bar.

I was very pleased and surprised with all the service what I got in the roomprice. In the reception the receptionist fixed to me the skitickets. Also the hotels own shuttle service, after we agreed my timeschedule, drove me from the hotel to the lifts and after skiing back to hotel, This worked brilliantly. I really felt that I am in good hands.

One thing is sure...next year again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    59
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
72
223
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were pleasantly surprised what a wonderful hotel this was especially after reading some of the poorer reviews.
In my view the Mont Blanc is situated in the best part the town. When you walk out of the entrance of the hotel into the pretty square and into the nearby bustling shopping streets you forget that you are in "ugly" Chamonix but that you are in a small charming Alpine village.
I understand the hotel has been recently modernised. Whoever advised on the renovations should be congratulated. They have managed to blend warmth, comfort and understated style throughout.
All the staff, including Katey in Reception, both the Porters, the Maitre-D were amazing and could not have been more helpful. The spa facilities were fantastic.
If we visit Chamonix again, the Mont Blanc will be the place to stay, as long they don't put their rates up ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel has been beautifully renovated. The four of us stayed a total of 3 nights,1night in 2 superior rooms and 2 nights in a suite on the top floor complete with its own sauna and steam room. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the beds were very comfortable and the views from the suite were lovely. Even the view from the cheaper superior rooms was not bad as beyond the road, one could see one of the ski areas. One disappointment in the superior rooms was the noise in the morning from the snow clearing machines. The hotel should put more effective double glazed sound proofing on the french windows.

The service was excellent. Katie at the desk would go out of her way to help, and was also super efficient at all times. The doorman always volunteered to help us with whatever we were carrying and the hotel driver was endlessly patient with us. When the ski lifts at the Grands Montets were mostly closed, he readily and cheerfully returned to take us to Les Houches several Kilometers away in the opposite direction from Chamonx. He showed care and attentiveness when he helped us with our skis and kit.

The staff throughout the hotel were helpful, friendly and efficient.

The one major offputting shortcoming was the breakfast. We found it expensive for what it was. It was not a bad breakfast. Quite the contrary...it was just overpriced. We were also surprised to be charged extra for eggs. This was a first for us. We travel a lot and extensively..but we have never been charged for eggs in a buffet type breakfast. I thought it a little mean to charge extra for the eggs, especially as the buffet breakfast was not cheap. It is a shame for an otherwise excellent hotel of high standing to let itself down just to earn a few extra pennies. We never had breakfast again in the hotel after that .

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floor rooms on the main roadside as they tend to be noisy when the road maintenance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizcoppola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just come back from 6 days staying at the Hotel Mont-Blanc for our honeymoon; we were not disappointed. Fantastic hospitality from kind, helpful and knowledgable staff. A wonderful spa, pool, bar and restaurant and fabulous boutique decor.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and I know we'll be back to celebrate many more times in the future.
Thank you for an amazing time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Being familiar with Chamonix after many years of vacationing there I was intrigued to try the newly reopened and renovated Hotel Mont Blanc. First of all I was pleasantly surprised that the renovation had managed to keep the signature style of early 20th century Alpine Grand Hotels (when Chamonix became a prime destination for sophisticated international travelers as the first alpine resort) and update it with contemporary stylish design and state of the art amenities.
Being one of the original grand hotels in Chamonix the hotel's location is in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of the restaurants and boutiques which is great because driving and parking downtown can be at times more challenging than skiing the Vallée Blanche. We had a fifth floor room with direct view on Mont Blanc and the famous Aiguilles from our balcony and didn't have to worry about traffic or pedestrian noise.
One of the first things I noticed was the attention to detail in the room: great lights for in-bed reading! (it seems to me that in hotels now either TV watching has replaced reading or candle light reading is "in"...), the bathroom decor was all about comfort and practicality in addition to its elegant contemporary design, just the right blend of alpine warmth and modern lines with a subtle nordic touch. The management team is young and professional and genuinely seemed to care about meeting our needs. Room service for breakfast was very quick and excellent. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the food was also excellent for reasonable prices given that it is Chamonix at the height of the season. The view from the outdoor pool is fantastic and swimming in a warm pool with snow all around was magical!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candide54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

An extraordinary place! The hotel has been completely renovated and has every modern convenience, a year-round pool, and a spa, yet it retains all its original charm and elegance as one of Chamonix's grand hotels. Excellent restaurant, warm, inviting, romantic corners throughout, and a grand salon to relax by the fireplace. The multilingual staff, who are generally a young and enthusiastic group, are supremely professional, attentive and courteous. Our room was spacious, pristinely clean, and imaginatively decorated. The hotel's location steps from the center of Chamonix's main shopping street is ideal, even though the hotel itself seems entirely secluded from the bustle of this Alpine wonderland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlatantHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent decoration and excellent hospitlity come together once in a while, Hotel Mont Blanc achived this. You start feeling surprized as this hotel gives beyond expectations from very first moment... Then you get uaed to experiencing the perfection of hospitality. Just perfect!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elaTmkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont-Blanc

Property: Hotel Mont-Blanc
Address: 62 allee du Majestic, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#2 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mont-Blanc 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer and winter alike, Hotel Mont-Blanc is the must address to visit in the valley of Chamonix. This elegant establishment has all the comfort and services for an agreeable stay. But more than that, this historical establishment has the extra charm to make this experience unique, immersed in the heart of a city living to the rhythm of one of the most exceptional mountain sites in the world. The 5 stars hotel was fully renovated by the interior designer Sybille de Margerie, inspired by nature and the environment. The bedrooms face a beautiful panorama of mountains, providing space, luxury and comfort. « At the Matafan, I offer a cuisine that goes back to basics, both delicate and tasty, always with an allusion to local gastronomy. » The chief Mickey Bourdillat does not limit his inspiration to the products from the most beautiful French alpine valley. His cuisine is a journey through the Alps, the Aosta Valley and even the Mediterranean Basin. The hotel Spa is a real haven of relaxation with over 250 sqm of pure wellbeing. It invites you to unwind with Clarins treatments and massages surrounded by earth colours and wood that create a warm and inviting atmosphere. . You can also enjoy the steam room, the sauna, the experience shower and the cold shower to get your blood circulation going, or just unwind in the beautiful relaxation room with a healthy smoothie or tea. The gym with fitness equipment of latest technology invites sport lovers to warm up for the day and the large (14 m x 10 m) heated outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi with an impeccable view on the Mont-Blanc Mountain range, propose an elegant combination of luxury and wellbeing. A hotel H8 Collection Founded by Jean-Philippe Cartier, the H8 Collection group bets on exceptional hospitality with character, built in attractive areas: the Mas de la Fouque in the heart of Natural Park of Camargue, the Vieux Castillon few meters from the “Pont du Gard” bridge in a medieval village, the Domaine des Hauts de Loire near the castle of Chambord, most recently the Mathis in Paris and the Hotel Mont Blanc in Chamonix. H8 Collection employs about 200 people and aims to acquire 2 to 3 hotels per year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mont Blanc
Mont Blanc Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing