We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“hotel review”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When I arrived at this hotel, it was the end of September. Although the hotel was very central, it did appear to be a little shabby. First thing I noticed was the very dirty windows on entrance, then at reception a smile would not have gone a miss to welcome us. I proceeded to my room, comfortable, but a little dated now and no tea and coffee facilities, but we did have a glass.

The decor was shabby with a leaking radiator and tiles missing around the bathroom , I think the drains are all linked as there was a smell somedays, not really pleasant.

The breakfast room was also a tapas bar/cafe and open to anyone who wanted to come in, a bit cafeteria and not very comfortable. Breakfast was very basic, the only thing hot was an egg, and you had to cook this yourself, oh and coffee, which was not very hot. I gave this a miss and had breakfast out.

I did not feel this warranted a 4 star hotel, it may have been in years gone by, but my rating would be a 2 and I feel this is being generous.

Forgot to say parking is a big issue, (only spaces for about 12 cars at a push) when I went there was only a handful of residents in the hotel, which could park ok, but if the hotel was any fuller, there would be nowhere to park at all. Big problem. View from room was excellent, Mont Blanc in full view.

Room Tip: I booked a superior room, which was just ok, so don't know what the standard rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    61
    57
    17
    18
See reviews for
24
54
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

positives: the rooms was clean in general and the hotel is at the heart of chamonix. Staff was friendly and there was an easily accessible parking at the hotel
negatives: no elevator and the water in the bathtub was brown when we first opened the tap

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Positive: Perfect location in the centre of Chamonix (during the night silent), everything can be done by foot, private parking (free of charge) just behind the hotel, beautiful views. Staff was very friendly, very clean, comfortable beds.
Negative: Bathroom old (but clean), no WiFi in the room, only in the reception area for a high fee.

No comment on the breakfast as we didn't use it. In general a cosy hotel which I would consider again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humbulumbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
252 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is beautifully located : most rooms have a great view towards Brevent and Aiguille du Midi. Some rooms have a small terrace. The hotel needs refurbishment (decent tv, wifi, decoration..), there is a feeling to be back in the 60's - nothing dramatic but it would add great value. Otherwise all is clean and neat. There are some suites 2 bedrooms and a shared bathroom. Breakfast is not bad but a little pricey (10.50€). One big asset is the free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingFrenchman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

La Croix Blanche is an old hotel and as such certain things such as a lack of a lift in certain parts of the building and scratched woodwork in places are to be expected. Bedrooms are not the same in size and shape (i was aware of this comment from a previously read review and although I didn't see the interior of any other room the floor plan displayed on each corridor/landing showed the relative dimensions). We enjoyed every aspect of my week's holiday at this hotel. The location is superb; right in the centre of town so that nowhere is more than a few minutes walk away. We were on a B&B tariff and so ate at a different restaurant each evening. The breakfast was good but not outstanding; the fresh fruit was not particularly appealing and a lack of anything hot, other than a boiled egg, was a disappointment. The coffee however was excellent. My bedroom (no. 34) had a great view of the Aiguille du Midi, Mont Blanc and Brevant. A late afternoon read sat out on the balcony was a most pleasant experience. There is an easily accessible free parking at the hotel. The service provided by all hotel staff and the manner in which they carried out their duties could not be faulted. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 21 and above are in the part of the hotel serviced by the lift, (i was in 34 right ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Hotel is right in the heart of Chamonix, surrounded by reataurants, shops and bars, with a supermarket only 50 metres away. The station is a few minutes walk as is the tourist office. The staff were very friendly and the service in the restaurant was very good. During our four night stay there was live music every evening on the raised restaurant terrace and our food was excellent. Overall the hotel is good value, the superior rooms were spacious, had good mountain views and although they are a little dated it was cozy. Free parking is available which is a bonus in Chamonix.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After reading, some of the reviews, I wonder if we were at the same hotel. Our stay was for three nights. Although I had booked a double room, we were given a suite for the same price. Yes, I'm sure this is coloring my review favorably! We found the location very convenient to everything in town. Our room included bedroom with large TV, separate water closet, bath with tub and shower--double doors in the bath opened onto a small balcony that overlooked the plaza below and the Mont Blanc Massif above. There was also a separate sitting room with a twin bed set up as a day bed and another--smaller--TV. We had no problems with a lack of hot water. Guests were quiet and we hardly heard any of our neighbors.

We were on the 4th floor (5th floor in Europe), but there was a small elevator at the end of the hall. I believe we were in the building behind the original hotel (which was built in 1793!), so perhaps we had more "modern" amenities. The lock to the room was a bit confusing, using a skeleton-type key that went in partway, a half turn, went in further, and turn--just so--once more to open. My husband could never figure it out, so I was in charge of the key.

The views were stunning, to say the least. Because the room overlooks the plaza, it can be loud at night. The music from the attached bistro (L'M) could go quite late. Earplugs help! We stayed over Bastille Day, so the noise from the celebration at Place du Mont Blanc about 6 blocks away was quite loud until around 2:00 a.m. but that's an exception to be expected on July 13! (Yes, they held the celebration the night before)

We found the desk staff to be very helpful and friendly. They all spoke English very well. We did not choose to partake of the petite dejeuner in the morning as we thought it a bit expensive at E10,50 per person (about $13US) and since there was a small fridge in the room, we had fruit, yogurt and croissants or pain chocolat from the bakery around the corner each morning. Internet is not accessible from the hotel rooms, but is from the front lounge area and the separate business room, which is quite large. You must pay for internet access (E2 for an hour or E6 for 24 hours--if you log off after you use the internet, you can use the rest of your time later), and there is a computer with printer available for guest use. We used it to print off our boarding passes. French keyboard is a little tricky, but doable.

Would not hesitate to stay here again.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I would ask for rooms in the newer part of the hotel, perhaps, though I did not see one of the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLWynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Louvre
Hotel du Louvre
#37 of 73 in Chamonix
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#39 of 73 in Chamonix
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#38 of 73 in Chamonix
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richemond
Hotel Richemond
#18 of 73 in Chamonix
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#25 of 73 in Chamonix
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croix-Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croix-Blanche

Property: Hotel Croix-Blanche
Address: 81 Rue Joseph Vallot, 74404, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croix-Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hôtel Croix-Blanche, fondé en 1793, est une institution au cœur de Chamonix. Ouverte sur la rue piétonne et un grand jardin, le charme et la convivialité de cette demeure de caractère sauront séduire les amateurs d'authenticité.Plus qu’un hôtel ou une brasserie, vous découvrirez une ambiance inoubliable, un service de qualité et une animation discrète, notamment pour l’après-ski, en accompagnement d’une cuisine de tradition savoyarde. La terrasse de L’M rassemble toute l’année les hôtes de Chamonix, pour contempler le massif du Mont-Blanc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Croix-Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Croix Blanche
Croix Blanche Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing