We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and Location, but the accommodations are just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Ranked #51 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and Location, but the accommodations are just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Really appreciated the multi-lingual, cheerful, hardworking man who greeted us at the front desk . We also loved the location right on the pedestrian mall in the heart of restaurants and shopping. On site, free parking was a nice bonus as well.
The carpets, bedding, and furnishings are worn and tired and the cleaning staff is getting the job done, but it's not outstanding. It's OK, but you need to get a good price because it's pretty ordinary.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    59
    56
    17
    18
See reviews for
24
54
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

We got a cheap deal for rooms at the Hotel Croix-Blanche at the end of the skiing season. It was just what we needed - a decent enough hotel which was centrally located for the ski bus in the day and restaurants/bars in the evening.

We were two couples and our rooms did seem to be furnished to different standards (although same price) so I'm guessing they're in the process of slowly going through the rooms and refurbishing. Either way, they were both adequate for our needs.

The only negative was that we went to get breakfast there one morning and wanted to sit on the terrace outside, but were told we had to sit inside. As it was a lovely sunny day we chose to go elsewhere and enjoy the weather.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

this hotel is so central,to bus stop,restaurants,bars etc.we found the staff very helpful,our room didn't have a hairdryer but they had lots of things you could borrow from the reception and was only too happy to accomodate.its quite dated but does have an oldy worldy french feel to it which was in keeping with all the history in chamonix.
breakfast had a good choice of food,cereals,toast,french sticks,youghurts,han,cheese,fruit,juices and coffee/tea for 10euros.
chamonix seems to be more expensive obviously with the euros so take plenty of money and make some sandwiches if possible for lunch on the slopes,there is a spar type thing about 3 doors down from the hotel.
we had a great time,for cheaper drinks,terrasse bar do pitcher jugs of lager from 4-6ish,and bardup is 2 for 1 till 7.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcowLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

Location of Croix Blanche is great - close to slopes, buses & restaurants. Hotel was clean but very basic, just beware not all rooms have showers, we got one with a shower but the others in my party didn't & had to run the bath each night before they went out! Bring your own pillow & ear plugs if you want a good night sleep but after a day on the slopes these may not be an issue. The staff weren't the most helpful, it was our first time in Chamonix so wanted some info on where to go etc, you'll have to do this research yourself as when we asked reception we were grunted at twice. I would stay here again but I wouldn't be rushing back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

The best about this hotel: great, great breakfast. Perfect for skiers! Eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, cheese, etc, and the best chocolate croissants in the world. Hotel is situated in the center of the pedestrian street that crosses Chamonix, close to all the restaurants and shops. The heated terrace of the hotel is THE place to be for the après-ski, there is music, waffles and hot wine. The hotel is 5 minutes from the lift to the Brevent ski resort and to the Aiguille du midi and 5 minutes from the bus stop to go to the other ski resorts. Room was old but nice and cozy. Some rooms have been recently renovated, ask for one of these! Bathroom is nice and large (only downside: no shower curtain, you have to wipe the floor after each shower!). Heated room downstairs to leave your ski equipment. Staff is great, answered all our questions, even organized information meetings with mountain guides. Great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skivoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

very central, nice smallish hotel, room small but pleasant enough and bathroom very modern and nice.

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank hrmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

This hotel isn't pretending to be something it's not! Basic but clean accommodation in a perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#40 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#42 of 73 in Chamonix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#26 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richemond
Hotel Richemond
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Louvre
Hotel du Louvre
#37 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croix-Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croix-Blanche

Property: Hotel Croix-Blanche
Address: 81 rue Vallot | BP 135, 74404, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croix-Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hôtel Croix-Blanche, fondé en 1793, est une institution au cœur de Chamonix. Ouverte sur la rue piétonne et un grand jardin, le charme et la convivialité de cette demeure de caractère sauront séduire les amateurs d'authenticité.Plus qu’un hôtel ou une brasserie, vous découvrirez une ambiance inoubliable, un service de qualité et une animation discrète, notamment pour l’après-ski, en accompagnement d’une cuisine de tradition savoyarde. La terrasse de L’M rassemble toute l’année les hôtes de Chamonix, pour contempler le massif du Mont-Blanc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Croix-Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Croix Blanche
Croix Blanche Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing