We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional views”
Review of Mont Blanc

Mont Blanc
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$104.61*
and up
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva
Ranked #2 of 65 things to do in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A towering mountain range on the Italian border, the highest peak of which measures nearly 16,000 feet, making it the second highest mountain in Europe.
Longfield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional views”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The trip up to the top of Mont Blanc is a must if you are visiting Chamonix. The journey up in the cable car is relatively quick and it costs approximately €50 but was €50 well spent. The views are stunning and can only be described as a once in a lifetime experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    870
    102
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“One of the best adventures of my life”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My friends and I climbed Mont Blanc via Les Grand Mulets route in late August this year. The route had been closed for 3 weeks and the hut unmanned which made for an awesome adventure.

You can rent the boots, crampons, axes and you will need to buy a rope as they aren't allowed to rent these out. My friends and i paid 25 euros a day for the rental. We bought a guide book and headed off. We crossed Les Bossons glacier and it was a real adventure. We made the hut and had it all to ourselves as the last people in the sign in book were 2 weeks before.

The next day was a little tough. There was no path so we had to make our own and at the ice fall all the snow bridges had melted away so it took us 3 hours to walk around and find a way out of the icefall. We made the Vallot hut that night and joined the main path.

The summit day was easy as the main path was easy to walk on and the summit was so beautiful. We took the normal router route down and it was overcrowded and annoying having geriatrics and guided parties on the trail.

A great mountain and no need to hire a guide if you feel confident in your abilities. Gouter route is easy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottplume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“chamonix mont blanc”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Chamonix is a very quaint town at the foot of a valley, lots of bars, restaurants and some super shops; the scenery is outstanding.

I don't have young children, but there appeared to be lots for children to do with sports areas, a childrens park with bob sleigh. There is a train in the town that takes you up into the mountains and to see glaciers and a cable car to take you right up to mont blanc, but pay to go to the second level, as you may be disapointed with the first level. There is hire car facility in the town, definatley worth doing as the borders to Geneva and Italy are not very far at all and you can travel through the Alps. Make it one of your places to visit it's lovely.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A week at Chamonix between summer and winter seasons...”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just had a superb first week of October 2013 at Chamonix - weather was mostly good with just a little rain, but good visibility of spectacular Alpine scenery almost all of every day. Stayed in a very comfortable mazot just below Mt Blanc and walked around Le Lac Vert one day; visited Lac Annecy for another great day; went up Mt B in the cable car - an excellent experience in every respect; and a final day spent around the Emosson Dam. Because the week was 'between seasons' the crowds weren't there, so getting around and seeing the sights was just so easy.
Going up Mt Blanc was simply fabulous - the sky was bright and clear and there was no queue for the cable car, or anywhere at the top. Spent almost five hours at the top, and loved every minute.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LeBoulevardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Network of Trails”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Well worth taking a day or two and hiking the trails. We did the classic traverse and it was an amazing walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mont Blanc also viewed

 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing