We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service but poor connections”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our group of 24 was staying at Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons. All our requests were handled very professionally and politely by the hotel staff. 50 cm of snow during night created some challenges but they were able to sort most of them. Food was generally very good, breakfast excellent quality.

Rooms are basic but clean, very sound-proof. Pool area with sauna is nice, although the jacuzzi could be bigger.

Biggest trouble was the hotel location. Bus connections were a hassle, sometimes the bus came to the hotel, sometimes not - then you needed to walk 800 meters with ski boots. Bus might come, or not. If you miss the bus, calling a taxi can take up to 30 minutes. Taxis in Chamonix are expensive, very unreliable and pricing is random.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 938 reviews

An Accor traveller
Larkhall, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed 10 January 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We picked this hotel for one night because of the location on our roadtrip.

The hotel is outside of Chamonix and you do need a car if you want to go to the town itself; this must then also be the key reason why this hotel is cheaper than others closer to the town.

The rooms are rather basic, but will do for one night. Main issue are the overly soft matresses.
In general the room, bathroom and facilities are fully in line with the price you pay and the level of quality you expect from this chain.

Check in and check out were friendly and efficient.

Biggest area for improvement: drinks & food.
We considered diner at the hotel after a long drive, but decided to go into the town centre as the menu was not attractive and the dining room not inspiring or inviting.
After dinner we sat at the bar for drinks, and again the atmosphere was rather boring and service mediocre.
Breakfast was disappointing as well, for the same three reasons: limited quality & variety of food, unattractive breakfast area and rather poor service.
In brief: nothing is really wrong with the hotel, and at the same time nothing stands out.
Good enough for one night when passing by.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joris_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Great vacations with my wife.... We visit the hotel the first day of the season and the service was excellent.
Great pool - sauna with view to the beautiful white Chamonix !!!

Best hotel for couples !!!!

Room Tip: View to chamonix !!!!
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We drove from Italy through the Mont Blanc tunnel and stayed here for the night with our pet dog. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room clean with a comfortable bed and good linen. The restaurant staff helpful and the food and drink fine. Would happily stay here again, especially as on other trips through France some hotels have been forgettable, regrettable and terrible.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Excellent hotel, very good services, very kind and helpfull personnel. The only thing you need is a car, since the hotel is 4 km away from the Chamonix center and the bus passing near hotel (bus stop is aprox 800m from the hotel) has a program not so good and if you want to stay in the eavening in the city you need to come back by taxi. The only bad thing during our one week stay was that the pool was almost not usable due to the high level of chlorine all day long.

Room Tip: Rooms on south site have view to Mont Blanc, but those facing north to the main road and Brebent.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neamtu2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My family (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago. Fantastic views of Mt. Blanc and the glaciers. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly. Noise levels from the adjacent rooms and the halls were on the higher side. Express breakfast (7 euros) - coffee, croissants, bread & orange juice with kids eating free was a good deal. Overall, satisfied with the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with view of Mt. Blanc. Glaciers are breath taking and appear close enough to touc...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hydtrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
2.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons

Address: 59 route de Vers le Nant | Les Bossons, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#23 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £65 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chamonix les Bossons welcomes you to its completely renovated premises. 89 airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, Cote Glacier, featuring traditional cuisine, a bar, La Jonction, with lounge area facing the open fire, and a relaxation area with sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Les Bossons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing