We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, lovely atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as Accor Platinum members, which was recognised well by the hotel - Privilege room, welcome drinks etc.
The hotel itself is a little dated as others have noted, but we found everything to be in order, and the facilities quite OK. Staff were friendly, and resolved a minor issue with the room very effectively.
The view from our room, straight up Bossons glacier and Aiguille du Midi was sensational. Those big windows really allowed us to soak it all up, and I thoroughly enjoyed that.
The spa was lovely after a big day hiking, and although not large it was still very relaxing.
We had a car, so transport wasn't an issue for us. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment.
We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woolygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We chose to stay overnight in a Mercure hotel in Chamonix because of our good impression of the Mercure chain in Troyes and hopes of views of Mont Blanc. How different can two hotels be? The facilities and bedding in the room were clean but were also very tired and shabby as were the furnishings and carpets throughout the hotel. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The express breakfast was good but pricier than the one in Troyes which we thought was odd as the hotel room was considerably cheaper. We took the car into Chanonix for a meal in the evening so can't comment on the restaurant food. The public approach road and hotel access road/carpark are very badly potholed. Wouldn't use this hotel again even for the views.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieCaerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you have a car, this is a good location away from the bustle of Chamonix. It is also located right by the trail up to the Les Bossons glacier, which we hiked to--and highly recommend doing. The room was like a typical American hotel. We stayed here in the off-season (after winter and before summer), so it was uncrowded. We did have one breakfast in the hotel dining room, which was a really nice spread, but overpriced. The room was comfortable, the bed was nice, and the windows were almost sound proof (our room faced the Route Blanche). Some of the service staff were nice and friendly; others did not understand they were employed in the tourism industry. The hotel also had a pool, hot tub, and sauna; although the "hot" tub does not actually get past warm.

Room Tip: get a room facing the glacier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

First off don't put the address into google maps and assume you are close to the centre of Chamonix. Search for the hotel however and Google maps does find the right place. I made the mistake and my non skiing partner was basically stuck in the hotel as she wouldn't risk the buses on her own. There are buses to the ski areas but the walk to the main bus stop is not one I'd savour in ski boots and carrying lots of gear at the end of the day. But a car is fine as the Flegere and Grands Montets car parks are free.

The hotel is clean and spacious with a nice pool, spa and sauna. Free ski lockers are provided. The staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good but there is no lunchtime service in the restaurant. Vegetarian food is non existent so again you need a car for a trip to Chamonix.

Overall a good base for a ski trip if you have a car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekTarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

While I would give 5 stars to the front office staff for their service and helpfulness, the F&B staff running the only restaurant where breakfast and dinner are served need considerable retraining, what with the manageress standing around with arms folded and not greeting guests as they arrive. I even noticed a spoon that had dropped on the floor being surreptitiously placed back on table after being given a quick wipe...on her cardigan!
The rooms are presentable, although getting into the tiny lifts with one's baggage can be a real problem.
All said, this is not a place for those who don't have cars as the bus-stops are quite some distance away and the nearest restaurants are in Chamonix town which is a 10-15 min bus ride away. The hotel will gladly call you a cab but the one way fare of 25 Euros is rather prohibitive.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DoctorBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in early March for a few day ski trip. Wanted to split this review into two parts, the first of which is the factual pieces of info that we had to dig around for before we went, for anyone that’s new to the area and the hotel:

Facts

The hotel is a 10 minute bus ride from Chamonix, on Line 2, there are two bus stops - the one opposite the hotel runs at 8:30am, 9:30am, 4:50pm and 5:10pm only - the bus driver will stop at the hotel entrance on the way back as the bus has to turn around in the car park anyway.

For the rest of the day there’s a bus stop about a 10 minute walk (Tisseries) for which the bus runs approximately every half hour. It’s at least a flat walk to the other bus stop.

The hotel provides ski lockers (free), underground parking (surcharge) and also a safe in the room that is big enough for all your valuables (we had a couple of laptops, iPads, etc). They have a rental shop but as per other comments, it’s cheaper to pre-order in town.

Only food in the evening is a buffet which is currently 24EUR for two course, 29EUR for three course.

Our Opinion:

We found the staff at the hotel really friendly and helpful, we don't speak much French but they were more than happy to converse in English and resolved all our queries with minimal fuss. One of the better European hotel service experiences we have had for a while.

The hotel room (standard double) we had was a bit tired, with a large quantity of woodchip on the walls, ceilings, etc - definitely something out of the 70’s, but the price was cheap so no real complaints - I would say you get good value for what you pay. The room was however, clean with all the amenities you’d expect; though the shower had a tiny head and the mounting pointed it more into the wall than in the direction of the user.

We found the breakfast and dinner options in the hotel perfectly acceptable, a good variety for both and good quality, a buffet may not be everyone’s cup of tea but after a long day skiing it suited us just fine.

A few have complained about the temperature of the Spa and we also found it to be “warm”, the Sauna was however absolutely fine.

Overall we found it to be a good value hotel, more 3 star rooms but 5 star service from the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merlinwiz2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here for a 3 night Feb end-of-half-term ski trip and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel staff were very welcoming, the buffet dinner on each of the 3 nights (different on each) was really excellent and the rooms were comfortable. Provided you have your own transport this is an excellent base for exploring the Chamonix Valley. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheerychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
880 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons

Address: 59 route de Vers le Nant | Les Bossons, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#19 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £75 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chamonix les Bossons welcomes you to its completely renovated premises. 89 airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, Cote Glacier, featuring traditional cuisine, a bar, La Jonction, with lounge area facing the open fire, and a relaxation area with sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Les Bossons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing