We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel terrible service - don't book half board”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
south east england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel terrible service - don't book half board”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a week over half term to ski in the area. We have been skiing in this part of France for many years so knew exactly where the hotel was before we arrived - as we drive down from GB the out of town location of the hotel is not a problem for us..in fact it is a benefit as there is ample parking on site and its only five minutes drive to Chamonix one way and Les Houches the other. We booked half board as the rates quoted on the Mercury website were very similar whether for half board or B and B.

Our initial welcome was great - the receptionist couldn't have been more pleasant. All of the rooms in this hotel are identical and are on the small side for three (we were two plus an 8 year old). When you have the double sofa bed pulled out you cannot use the desk and leather easy chair. The drawer and hanging space was, for us (with all our skiing gear), inadequate but we managed. The rooms are plain and functional but spotless - as are the bathrooms. Fresh towels are delivered daily as needed. We booked a mountain view room but the extra £200 odd pounds it cost to do this is not worth it as all of the rooms have a good view of the surrounding mountain ranges and none of the rooms have balconies. One plus point of the hotel is the indoor pool. Though its not large it again is newish, well maintained and spotlessly clean (though the temperature of the water was a little cold especially in the mornings) - great if you have children with you (and they are allowed in at all times unlike some hotels). There is a small whirlpool and sauna in the pool area and additional towels are also provided for swimming. One drawback was that the pool didn't open until 9.30 in the morning which prevented an early morning swim.
The public areas of this hotel (bar, dining area, lounge) are all in one huge space under a high pitched roof so its quite impressive. The decor is modern and stylish and though there is an open fire which is kept lit all the time this is more of a decorative rather than functional feature as it gives off very little heat - the hotel is not cold though. In this area is a billiard table which was great for my son who is 8 and can play properly but we were a bit suprised that parents were letting children as young as three play without supervision which meant that they hogged the table for long periods and in the week we were there alone three cues were broken from misuse (e.g. we saw some little girls riding them as hobby horses).
The breakfast buffet we would say was adequate rather than good. There was a fair array of cold meats and cheeses each morning plus french bread yoghurts and tinned and fresh fruit. However the hot food - which usually consisted of burnt and fatty bacon, local (but not very nice) sausage and very strange tasting rubbery scrambled egg was not good and was never hot. In addition you could never find a bowl or spoon (or fresh milk for the small selection of cereals offered) and I had to ask on several occasions for these. Tea and coffee is help yourself from a machine which takes forever and again is okay taste wise. My son loved the freshly made pancakes but if there were more than a few people wanting these it took forever to get them (and once they forgot us and they tended to serve French families first even when they had arrived in the restaurant well after us - is this a cultural thing?).
We would never again opt for the full board option at this hotel as the food in the evening was only adequate and the service was in fact horrendous. On two (out of a total of four) occasions we waited for our main course for half an hour only to be told the chef had lost our order - we would accept that this might happen once maybe in a week but twice? When we asked for carafes of water we rarely received them - the same with bread. Some of the waiters were very arrogant and unhelpful (though some the opposite to be fair) and even when we complained they seemed to adopt a 'shrug of the shoulders approach' rather than seeking to apologise and rectify the situation. We could only think it was due to our half board status (and thus lack of tips therfore no incentive for the waitors to give us good service) or the fact that the hotel is a large corporate chain. Most nights dinner consisted of a help yourself buffet which was very hit and miss with a poor selection of salad starters and hot mains. The nights we had table service (four out of seven) the food was better and you chose off a menu comprising of three starters/three mains/three desserts but that was when the service was bad so you couldn't win. A couple of other gripes we had were (a) the wine list which is pushed on the tables and is clearly aimed at tourists and comprised of corporate branded wines at exhorbitant prices - we ordered a bottle the first night - it was about 30 euros and it was not very nice so after that we stuck to water. It wasn't until the end of the week that we twigged that the French guests were purchasing wine from another list which when we looked was less pricey (and possibly nicer quality) (b) we had a to pay a surcharge of 25 euros per night for the half board option for our son which we though was expensive as for bed and breakfast for him it was free so essentially we were paying 25 euros for an evening meal. The cost of the childrens evening meals cost half of this price on the menu so we would have been much better booking B and B only and we will do this next time (c) last gripe - my son was cold at night so I asked for a quilt for the sofa bed as he only had a sheet and a blanket. We didn't get a quilt just another blanket so we had to keep the heat on in the room.
My final comment on this hotel is to book your room through one of the many discount sites and get it as cheap as you can (don't book direct through Mercury) - get breakfast included if you can for convenience but don't bother about half board if you have a car and can get out as its not worth it for what you pay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardenttravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    378
    150
    44
    29
See reviews for
332
304
46
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

I stayed for one night in the hotel during a road trip with friends at France - Switzerland. Let's bullet my experience:
- Personnel: Very helpful. We arrived late at afternoon and they try to find us a table for dinner in the city, they gave us all the information we ask for and the only drawback was that their english wasn't so good.
- Room: Clean, with enough space for 2 persons. For 3 persons there is a sofa, that transforms to a bed. It is not so comfortable, but it is ok for one night.
- Breakfast: Very nice buffet, with variety and people very eager to service you.
- You need a car. It's about 2-3 klm from the Chamonix Center, so you will need a car for your transportation.
- I saw families with children and young people with their skis, so I assume that this hotel is a good solution for everyone.
I would suggest it to a friend that visit Chamonix.

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere and the effort of the staff to help you.
  • Disliked — The space of the room is not enough for 3 persons.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Thanos79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2008

We have just got back from a four night stay at this hotel. We booked a mountain view room and included breakfast.
The hotel was very comfortable quiet and clean with beautiful views from the room. The hotel has a pool (good sized), sauna, jacuzzi - you can swim along seeing the mountains at the side and end through enormous picture windows. If you choose your time you can have it all to yourself. The breakfast (buffet style) was the best we have ever had. After one evening meal we asked if we could go demi pension the food was so good. We did not regret it. The staff could not have been more helpful. They were friendly to exactly the right degree. The hotel is not in the centre of Chamonix but ten minutes away by a free public bus (not always reliable) While this might not suit people interested in noisy night life it suited our needs perfectly. We cannot thank the staff and manager enough for making our stay so enjoyable and such a bargain.

  • Liked — peaceful
  • Disliked — You need a car
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

The hotel had just been refurbished a few months before our arrival and was absolutely fantastic. Very nice and very clean rooms, overwhhelming breakfast and really friendly and excellent staff.

Teh reception lounge has a huge open fire and feels absolutely fantastic after a day on the slopes, swimming pool brilliant.

Restaurant was very good. The bar was a bit expensive on drinks but nothuing out of the ordinary.

Our 7 year old son loved it as it was very child friendly and we are now plannning to return for Xmas and New Year's Eve.

Teh only downturn is you will need a car but taxis are quite cheap so still manageable.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

Our stay at Mercure. Le Bossons was fine. Clean, Comfortable, Friendly Staff, But...when we came to settle the Bill of 900Euros the Electronic System was not working, it was also not working two days previously. We were shocked to be driven to a Cash Point to withdraw cash, this has resulted in extra cost to ourselves, also considering that they already had our Card Details when we booked, we cannot see why?? We are still awaiting communication from Mercure with regards to this.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Settling the Bill
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StaffsLass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

Only stay here if you have a car. To get to the trainstation at les bossons village is a half hour walk and the same to get to the bus stop. - The last bus and train back is at 7:30 pm. A taxi to chamonix costs €15-20

The pool is great and there is also storage for skis which is useful.

It is not ideal for families with more than 2 children.- You will be made to book another room.

If you are skiing then the bus takes about 15 to 30 mins to skifields.

I would recommend the Hotel Rhodedendrons at Flegere. It is only 2 stars- I didn't book it because of this- but i regretted not doing so. It looks great and is about 50m from cable car.

  • Liked — The indoor pool
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UkSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

Everything about this hotel is great; Very good food, clean pool, sauna, hot tub, free parking, friendly staff.
I'd recomend this hotel especially to famlies with small children, and groups.
It has large open bar area that is the focal point of the hotel, real fire, pool table, piano, tv, music. Creps served apres ski (yum!)

The main drawback of this hotel is it's location, it is a long walk (800m) to the bus stop and taxis are very (very) expensive. typical cost of a taxi from this hotel to the town centre is 30Euro, but I have been charged 55eur late at night. The distance is 4km, so this makes it costly. The bus service is very good, about every 15mins, so if you do make the walk, you will get a free ride into town (10mins).

This is a very good place to hold a conference, the meeting room is 1st class and the hotel organiser (pauline) is on the ball.

If you've a car this is a great location to visit the different ski locaitons.

  • Liked — modern decor, fire, bar, food
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DetoxRetox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons

Property: Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Address: 59 route de Vers le Nant | Les Bossons, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#23 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chamonix les Bossons welcomes you to its completely renovated premises. 89 airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, Cote Glacier, featuring traditional cuisine, a bar, La Jonction, with lounge area facing the open fire, and a relaxation area with sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Les Bossons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing