We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - But not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Pretty good location - But you do need a car.
A bit "souless" as a hotel - much more of a base than a place to enjoy and relax.
Staff were friendly, hotel was clean and rooms were functional.
Breakfast was good but other food was over priced and of poor standard - Very, very disappointing.
Nice swimming pool/sauna etc.
BEWARE - Virtually impossible to get out of the steep driveway in the snow. The driveway is not gritted and staff are able to offer little assistance.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HectorBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

We spent 4 nights at this hotel. I was initially a bit dismayed at realising it was not walking distance from anywhere and also right next to a motorway! However, inside and in the garden area at the back, you would never know there was a road there. The hotel has a relaxed, calm atmosphere, staff were very welcoming and our air conditioned room was excellent - comfortable, roomy and with a desk for the laptop and a sofa bed to sit on. The restaurant and food were very good. There is a small swimming pool and Jacuzzi and sun beds outside on the terrace. The Jacuzzi was handy when tired after alpine walking. Free parking and plenty of space to park. The cable car to Les Bosson glacier is within walking distance. Chamonix is a 5 minute drive - I'd recommend the large car park to the right just as you come into the town, it's free and has plenty of space. Drive further in and parking is impossible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LabOwner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

140 Euros prpn without breakfast, dirty footbath and unlockable lockers at pool, cold bath tub, no new towels brought to room you need to collect them by yourself, and you better not insist...
They charge you like in a 5 star hotel, and welcome you in a 2 star way. Vive la France...

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank krisslyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Stayed for 4 nights with friend for wedding in Chamonix. Hotel is spotless, leisure facilities are excellent, breakfast the best (although runny scrambled eggs) staff very attentive and helpful and location powerful! The upgrade to Mountain view room is spectacular!

My only negative point is the distance from Chamonix, the choice of transportation to Chamonix and the RIP OFF taxis. For a 7 minute taxi ride they charged Euro 28!!! A shuttle from Geneva Airport to Mercure Les Bossons is an hour ride and they only charge Euro 25!!! We had the same taxi driver twice and both times he ripped us off. Also, be aware, the free bus from Chamonix to Les Bossons stops at 7.00pm.

Therefore you need a car to stay here... end of!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THETRAVELEDAGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

A stunning location with great views of towering alps and glaciers, but which do not compensate for the other shortcommings. Located about 10 minutes drive from the centre of Chamonix this is not for those wanting a central location. Hotel is really for skiers / winter sporters and not for general vacationers - rooms and non-public areas are battered and well worn.
The food was awful - young waiting serving staff tried hard but were poorly trained / supervised. We waited 45 minutes for a badly cooked main courses to arrive before giving up and going straight to the dessert (which was OK). At breakfast mixed fruit was going brown and fermenting in rancid juice. We complained about food / service and all restaurant charges were deducted.
Front of house staff tried very hard to deal with complaints but were struggling with a badly managed / tatty hotel. Extensive roadworks at the front of the hotel, although presumably temporary, detracted from the location and made access very difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorsetraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a week over half term to ski in the area. We have been skiing in this part of France for many years so knew exactly where the hotel was before we arrived - as we drive down from GB the out of town location of the hotel is not a problem for us..in fact it is a benefit as there is ample parking on site and its only five minutes drive to Chamonix one way and Les Houches the other. We booked half board as the rates quoted on the Mercury website were very similar whether for half board or B and B.

Our initial welcome was great - the receptionist couldn't have been more pleasant. All of the rooms in this hotel are identical and are on the small side for three (we were two plus an 8 year old). When you have the double sofa bed pulled out you cannot use the desk and leather easy chair. The drawer and hanging space was, for us (with all our skiing gear), inadequate but we managed. The rooms are plain and functional but spotless - as are the bathrooms. Fresh towels are delivered daily as needed. We booked a mountain view room but the extra £200 odd pounds it cost to do this is not worth it as all of the rooms have a good view of the surrounding mountain ranges and none of the rooms have balconies. One plus point of the hotel is the indoor pool. Though its not large it again is newish, well maintained and spotlessly clean (though the temperature of the water was a little cold especially in the mornings) - great if you have children with you (and they are allowed in at all times unlike some hotels). There is a small whirlpool and sauna in the pool area and additional towels are also provided for swimming. One drawback was that the pool didn't open until 9.30 in the morning which prevented an early morning swim.
The public areas of this hotel (bar, dining area, lounge) are all in one huge space under a high pitched roof so its quite impressive. The decor is modern and stylish and though there is an open fire which is kept lit all the time this is more of a decorative rather than functional feature as it gives off very little heat - the hotel is not cold though. In this area is a billiard table which was great for my son who is 8 and can play properly but we were a bit suprised that parents were letting children as young as three play without supervision which meant that they hogged the table for long periods and in the week we were there alone three cues were broken from misuse (e.g. we saw some little girls riding them as hobby horses).
The breakfast buffet we would say was adequate rather than good. There was a fair array of cold meats and cheeses each morning plus french bread yoghurts and tinned and fresh fruit. However the hot food - which usually consisted of burnt and fatty bacon, local (but not very nice) sausage and very strange tasting rubbery scrambled egg was not good and was never hot. In addition you could never find a bowl or spoon (or fresh milk for the small selection of cereals offered) and I had to ask on several occasions for these. Tea and coffee is help yourself from a machine which takes forever and again is okay taste wise. My son loved the freshly made pancakes but if there were more than a few people wanting these it took forever to get them (and once they forgot us and they tended to serve French families first even when they had arrived in the restaurant well after us - is this a cultural thing?).
We would never again opt for the full board option at this hotel as the food in the evening was only adequate and the service was in fact horrendous. On two (out of a total of four) occasions we waited for our main course for half an hour only to be told the chef had lost our order - we would accept that this might happen once maybe in a week but twice? When we asked for carafes of water we rarely received them - the same with bread. Some of the waiters were very arrogant and unhelpful (though some the opposite to be fair) and even when we complained they seemed to adopt a 'shrug of the shoulders approach' rather than seeking to apologise and rectify the situation. We could only think it was due to our half board status (and thus lack of tips therfore no incentive for the waitors to give us good service) or the fact that the hotel is a large corporate chain. Most nights dinner consisted of a help yourself buffet which was very hit and miss with a poor selection of salad starters and hot mains. The nights we had table service (four out of seven) the food was better and you chose off a menu comprising of three starters/three mains/three desserts but that was when the service was bad so you couldn't win. A couple of other gripes we had were (a) the wine list which is pushed on the tables and is clearly aimed at tourists and comprised of corporate branded wines at exhorbitant prices - we ordered a bottle the first night - it was about 30 euros and it was not very nice so after that we stuck to water. It wasn't until the end of the week that we twigged that the French guests were purchasing wine from another list which when we looked was less pricey (and possibly nicer quality) (b) we had a to pay a surcharge of 25 euros per night for the half board option for our son which we though was expensive as for bed and breakfast for him it was free so essentially we were paying 25 euros for an evening meal. The cost of the childrens evening meals cost half of this price on the menu so we would have been much better booking B and B only and we will do this next time (c) last gripe - my son was cold at night so I asked for a quilt for the sofa bed as he only had a sheet and a blanket. We didn't get a quilt just another blanket so we had to keep the heat on in the room.
My final comment on this hotel is to book your room through one of the many discount sites and get it as cheap as you can (don't book direct through Mercury) - get breakfast included if you can for convenience but don't bother about half board if you have a car and can get out as its not worth it for what you pay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardenttravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

I stayed for one night in the hotel during a road trip with friends at France - Switzerland. Let's bullet my experience:
- Personnel: Very helpful. We arrived late at afternoon and they try to find us a table for dinner in the city, they gave us all the information we ask for and the only drawback was that their english wasn't so good.
- Room: Clean, with enough space for 2 persons. For 3 persons there is a sofa, that transforms to a bed. It is not so comfortable, but it is ok for one night.
- Breakfast: Very nice buffet, with variety and people very eager to service you.
- You need a car. It's about 2-3 klm from the Chamonix Center, so you will need a car for your transportation.
- I saw families with children and young people with their skis, so I assume that this hotel is a good solution for everyone.
I would suggest it to a friend that visit Chamonix.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Thanos79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
2.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
398 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
874 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons

Address: 59 route de Vers le Nant | Les Bossons, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#19 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £75 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chamonix les Bossons welcomes you to its completely renovated premises. 89 airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, Cote Glacier, featuring traditional cuisine, a bar, La Jonction, with lounge area facing the open fire, and a relaxation area with sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Les Bossons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing