We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer in a ski resort. How odd!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Hameau Albert 1er
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Cote d'Azur
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Summer in a ski resort. How odd!”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Chamonix is alive in the summer with mountain climbers,fresh air enthusiasts and fo course Japanese tours. The opportunity to get a fast lift to a cold 3800 metres is too good miss. It's an enjoyable town and what better way of maximising the enjoyment than to stay in the Grand hotel prince Albert 1st. A hotel of great charm with a large spectrum of different rooms including your own little hutte. We stayed near the swimming pool. These rooms are trendy French but very comfortable. It's the restaurants that are the star turn. The have a brasserie and a gourmet. We chose the gourmet. It's a lovely restaurant with large windows and a real buzz to it. The food is just wonderful, inventive and beautifully presented. The service is attentive but not stuffy and this all added up to a top evening.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BergerBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    50
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
70
151
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Paradise found. Chamonix in summer is beautiful. Le Hameau Albert 1er was a great choice for our stay. They catered to our needs and wants in every way. The room was beautiful with no a/c, but it is really not needed. The rooms are completely made of wood and keep the temperatures low. It was very well decorated and appropiate for the place.The bathroom was great. This is a romantic hotel, but it is great for a family trip. Chamonix is beautiful for hiking, picnic and skiing in winter. The restaurant was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploringeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Albert 1er, two-starred Michelin restaurant, have a “last-minute-offer” - by ordering one of their tasting menus and wines to match, the night in a double room is free of charge. Offer valid on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday nights. As we are, not very welled payed skiers, we took this offer and we had a wonderful evening with delicious food and fantastic wines. The sommelier Monsieur Martray shared a lot of his great wine knowledge, which was an amazing experience for us.

Our visit ended at it´s best when Monsier Martray took us down to Hameau Albert 1er´s
great wine cellar the day after. It will always be a good memory!

We will absolutely recommend Hameau Albert 1er in Chamonix!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnS0fie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This hotel was excellent and we will definitely be returning.

The hotel itself is in a convenient location in Chamonix, with its own car parking. The rooms are very good.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. We were travelling with our baby. When the hotel saw how much luggage we had (most of it baby stuff!) they made sure we had a spacious room, which was very kind of them. They were also very helpful when our baby became unwell and found a local doctor for us. They were also very accommodating with meals.

We visited in summer, but I imagine it is even better in winter when covered in snow.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here for 1 week and it was a pleasure. Great location just outside of the main street and away from tourists. Two excellent restaurants, one with Michelin stars. Try the flan and chocolate cake. Free wifi, parking and bike rental.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_and_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Excellent in every way. Standard room was large with balcony looking out to the Aguille du midi. Good bathroom with large bath with jets. Great shower.
Ate in the Carrier restaurant one night - it was OK but nothing special.
Breakfast room service is a luxury but really good quality.
They have an arrangement with th enearest ski shop who having taken your sizes bring th eskis round and put them in the locker for you. The hotel mini bus takes you to whihc ever lift you want in the area and arranges a time to pick you up - this is brilliant.
Staff all good and discreet.
When I have saved up we will return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dog377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Albert Premier 1er for a long weekend which was a very rejuvenating experience! The hotel is very well located, within minutes of the town centre and the spa and pool were amazing. We were in a standard room which was large enough, very comfortable and stylishly decorated. The bathroom was lovely - marble, nice bath and the rain shower was great. We liked the little touches around the hotel and the service was fantastic. There's a trendy bar downstairs that looked inviting and we enjoyed lounging in front of the log fire for hours! Breakfast was great - a lot of choice + hot options too. The hotel has two restaurants, one of which is apparently according to my friends who frequent Chamonix, the best in the town. We ate at their other restaurant and had a wonderful meal - v cosy bistrot! Cannot recommend their spa more and spent a lot of time in the pool from which one can drink in the views of the mountains! There are loungers around the pool with outdoor log-fire heaters which was lovely for relaxing in and enjoying a drink. At a small charge, the hotel can arrange transfers to the ski lifts and back which was appreciated given we were short for time. Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Chamonix - we will most definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0_the_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hameau Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau Albert 1er

Property: Le Hameau Albert 1er
Address: 38 Route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Hameau Albert 1er 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of mont Blanc, Pierre Carrier, Perrine and Grand Chef Pierre Maillet have taken over this hotel, devoted to exceptional cuisine and local delicacies, founded in 1903 by 'great grandfather Carrier'. The rooms in the main hotel or the chalets in the garden offer both modern and warm comfort. On the one hand, there is the superb menu at the Albert 1er with its elaborate recipes influenced by the Piedmont and Liguria and, on the other, the Maison Carrier restaurant with its specilaities to be enjoyed in the atmosphere of an old farmhouse or on the terrace while gazing out at the majestic beauty of mont Blanc. The indoor/outdoor swimming pool also boasts views of the eternal snows on the roof of Europe. An equally stunning and delicious address for winter or summer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Hameau Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau Albert 1er Hotel Chamonix
Le Hameau Albert 1er Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing