We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Hameau Albert 1er
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

You should definitely visit the starred restaurant. The food is excellent, and the service generally good.

The hotel however doesn't really deliver. We knew the location would not be great - as the hotel is sandwiched between a busy bypass road and railway line, overlooking the dreadful architecture of the national ski school. (But the walk to the centre is only 4 or 5 minutes).

But what was more unexpected was the failings in service. It's not that the staff are not good. They are in fact first class - particular compliments to Lisa on reception and the excellent Colin the driver. Rather it is a lack of management focus - from no one to take your bags on arrival, because he has to serve guests in the bar, to not enough towels in the rooms, to tables in the common parts frequently having empty glasses and not being cleared away. You need to request a turn down service - it is not automatic. And despite the hotel having 2 restaurants, we were told they were both closed when we arrived at 10 pm the first night.

The rooms are spacious, but with a far to complicated light system, which we never mastered in a 4 night stay. Similarly it took me 2 days to work out where the electronic control was to open the shutters in the bathroom. The spa is split between 2 buildings - and whilst the part in the 'farm' is very attractive, the sauna is cheap and ineffective, the hamam didn't work, nor the jets in the jacuzzi.

You pay on a room only basis generally. Breakfast is extra, at 25 euros a head, and whilst it's fine, I was expecting something rather more impressive at that price. I would say the same about the hotel generally.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the room you take - the old building and the 'farm' are completely differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussy-guests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Our first White Christmas in the French Alps was a beautiful and luxurious treat at Albert Premier in Chamonix. Our room in the Chalet complex adjoining the heated pool and spa was classy and spacious, with a stunning view of Mont Blanc. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom beautiful. I've stayed in the world's best hotels and this hotel ranks among them for charm, service, quality and style. The individual chalets look amazing if you have a bigger family or group. Although it's only a 5 min walk into the city centre, the hotel car service and drivers are extremely obliging and happy to drive you anywhere around town if they have a spare 10 minutes at any time. When it's freezing cold and you're feeling tired, this is a huge help which we used a few times. The taxis charge 20 Euros to drive you just 5 or 10 min so walking is worth the effort if the hotel car is booked out. The reception staff are friendly and happy to help, Anais was amazing. She made us bookings at restaurants and organised our fabulous driver to Geneva airport, always with a gorgeous smile. The waiters in the lounge & bar were always caring and efficient, and the quality of drinks and snacks just perfect. One evening we selected from the most incredible cheese buffet I've ever seen, and served in the lounge. We dined at night in the more casual restaurant of the hotel which was delightful, but breakfasts were the only disappointment of this hotel. We couldn't get fried eggs or omelettes, or multi grain toast. However, we found a great solution to this, a 5 min walk down the road to the most fabulous breakfasts in town " La Petite Kitchen" a quaint little cafe restaurant which cost us half and was ten times as good, serving us delicious eggs even after noon. Luckily the hotel is situated close to some great cafés and restaurants. All in all I would definitely stay at this hotel again, it has everything you need for a completely luxurious and gourmet stay in the French Alps.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Lilyblake123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked a few weeks before leaving and there was very limited availability, so we took the one room available (chambre classique) for three nights. The room is designed with dark wood so the room lacked warmth and it felt a little smaller than 23sqm. I suspect the rooms in the Ferme are worth paying the extra for. Service was good and the breakfast was fine. We drove in a hire car (essential for Chamonix) and the car parking was excellen at the hotet. For some reason we didn't try the Spa but it looked very nice with a small pool and saunas. On the final day we couldn't check out late so we had to change out of our ski gear (in mid afternoon) in the gym room where the shower was cold and a guest came in to use the gym (not so surprising!) - I would expect a luxury to try a little harder here and at least allow you to use a spare room for 30 mins.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Le Hameau Albert 1er in their suite "3" Aug/Sept 2013 for 7 days. It had a large bedroom with a sitting area, along with a small day bed. There was a stocked mini bar that was re-filled every day, a jet bathtub, an updated shower, small area to hang up technical gear and 2 closets.
This suite is located in the building with the heated pool and the spa. The staff was friendly and helpful (we are not fluent in French) and provided us very good care.
We dined at both of their restaurants and were very pleased. We had breakfast in the dining room every morning. It was roughly $30.00 per person for the buffet. It was a bit weak (breads, jams, yogurt) but it was convenient. The spa was average. My husband and I both had massages and were disappointed but it was not terrible.
Overall we had a wonderful experience and I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for luxury mixed together with lots of charm!

Room Tip: We stayed in suite "3" a wonderful room..everything was updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMT1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was the best place we stayed on our recent trip in the Alps region of France. Beautiful room, spectacular views from our room, great pool facility. Also loved the breakfast before going out on a days hike. The staff at the desk was very helpful at recommending hikes, restaurants in town, and even directions to Geneva (our next stop). I would love to come back in the winter!

Room Tip: I think any of the views high up in the main hotel will provide an excellent view of the town and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

One of the best restaurant experiences ever! Old school French service with great Maître D and outstanding sommelier Christian Martray, in fact all the people working there try to make your stay as perfect as possible. The cooking is really world class, we had langoustines, duck liver and great poularde de Bresse stuffed with truffels. All this accompanied with local wines from Savoie of outstanding value for money. The sweets were heavenly good as was our staying at the hotel. It is not the cheapest experience but if you have a special moment to share, go there! Chamonix is a marvellous place, the scenery is dominated by the Mont Blanc, just impressive!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joskeversmissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Everything about the meal we had was excellent from the greeting at the door to the pre dinner drinks, the attentiveness and knowledge of the staff and of course the presenatation, quality and taste of the food - and all the little extras thrown in. Excellent. My seond visit and will be going back every time i revisit Chamonix be it for skiing or sumemr activities...

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ColinMcDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hameau Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau Albert 1er

Address: 38 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £190 - £1,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Hameau Albert 1er 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of mont Blanc, Pierre Carrier, Perrine and Grand Chef Pierre Maillet have taken over this hotel, devoted to exceptional cuisine and local delicacies, founded in 1903 by 'great grandfather Carrier'. The rooms in the main hotel or the chalets in the garden offer both modern and warm comfort. On the one hand, there is the superb menu at the Albert 1er with its elaborate recipes influenced by the Piedmont and Liguria and, on the other, the Maison Carrier restaurant with its specilaities to be enjoyed in the atmosphere of an old farmhouse or on the terrace while gazing out at the majestic beauty of mont Blanc. The indoor/outdoor swimming pool also boasts views of the eternal snows on the roof of Europe. An equally stunning and delicious address for winter or summer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Le Hameau Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau Albert 1er Hotel Chamonix
Le Hameau Albert 1er Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing