We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Location Right Staff”
Review of Le Morgane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Morgane
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Very nice interior accommodations and centrally located, but the best was the overall service and doing more than required. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Chamonix and the Alps. We walked with our bags from the train station and were given a warm reception by the desk personnel. Our room was upgraded because I had requested a shower, and the room was beautiful. Free wifi, and safe. The petit dejuner is expensive (as is the restaurant) but coffee was good and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Really loved this place,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bordeauxbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We were on our honeymoon and travelled here for 4 nights and 5 days. Since we went in May which it turns out is their low season, there were some hotels we looked into that were not open. However, Le Morgane was at the top of our list even before we knew that. We were just researching all of our options. In any case, Le Morgane was open when the others were not so it narrowed down our choice fairly easily. We were surprised that this place was a Best Western because in the U.S., it seems that Best Westerns aren't known to be luxurious. However, Le Morgane is indeed luxurious. We conversed with Tiphaine via email as we were booking the room and she was extremely responsive and very helpful in answering all of our questions.

From the moment we checked in, we were impressed by the service. Frederic checked us in and he knew English, which was crucial for us since we knew mostly "Hello" and "Do you speak English" in French and that's about it. He was super helpful and friendly throughout our stay. He escorted us up to our room and showed us around. They upgraded us to a junior suite since it was our honeymoon, which was unexpected but definitely appreciated. They also sent up a split of champagne and a deck of playing cards in a neat little zipped pouch with a personal note thanking us for staying with them. These little details were unnecessary but very much appreciated.

The room was extremely clean and felt very modern (but not in one of those overly-modern sort of weirdly decorated ways). The bathroom was somewhat small but we didn't see huge bathrooms anywhere we stayed in France. In any case, the bathroom was very nice, the shower was great and we just took our time getting ready in the morning so we never had to crowd each other in the bathroom.

The lobby was also very modern looking and clean. Lots of sitting areas, which we hadn't seen in Paris, so that was kind of nice. The restaurant was great. We never ate there for anything other than breakfast because it was included and we wanted to try other restaurants in the area. The dinner menu seemed a bit pricey but they touted a lot of accolades for their food, so I'm sure it was delicious. Their breakfast was great - typical baguette and other bread products for France, cheeses, yogurts, jams, fruit and juice. Plus they had scrambled eggs for the more "American" types. :) Everything was very fresh and the service was always attentive. Their cafe au laits were equally delicious. Also, if you wanted you could have them deliver breakfast as room service for you free of charge.

We had drinks a couple times there as well and they make a mean cosmopolitan. The lounge area is very relaxing.

There is a spa that we did not use, but down by the spa is a heated pool, steam room and sauna. No hot tub, which was a bummer, but we got over it. We used everything else and again, everything was very clean and well kept.

Our balcony faced Mont Blanc and Aguille du Midi, which was awesome! Though we were on one of the main roads, it was not noisy at all with the doors shut. This might be different during high season, but we had no issues with noise.

The hotel also offers free bikes to check out and ride around town with. They have locks included so you don't have to worry about anything. We thoroughly enjoyed riding around and getting a look at all corners of the town one day.

They seem very earth conscious as well, which we appreciate. There is a trash bin in the room that has separate bins for recyclables. The room necessitates one of the plastic card keys to be inserted into a slot right when you walk in for the electricity to work. This is great for not being wasteful since you can leave on some lights and just pull out the card as you walk out so the electricity isn't going while you're not there. And then when you walk back in you just put the card back in and voila, lights. Also, the hallway lights go out after some time and there are little switches all along the walls to turn them back on when going to the elevator. This is nice since most of the time hallways are lit with no one in them.

We were taking a bus in the late afternoon of the day we checked out. However since our room was not going to be used that night, they allowed us to check out as late as we liked without being charged. So we were able to walk around the town during the day and then return to our room to change, freshen up, etc. before checking out around 3. Again, unnecessary but very much appreciated.

In the high seasons this place is probably busier so maybe it's a completely different feel but we loved it while were there. We spoke to Frederic as we were checking out about being there during ski season and he mentioned that there are other places that allow folks to ski right off the trails to their hotels. This place is not one of those places but is so well-situated in the midst of great restaurants and cafes that we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nunce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Nice hotel, with parking, with views of the Mont Blanc.
walking distance to downtown.
Great bathroom with fantastic shower.
free wifi
great breakfast too
what more can I say, recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingridH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The staff was extremely nice. The location is very good (about 100 meters from the main shopping/restaurants street) and there is free parking. Comfortable room. I would definitely go back there if I stay again in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

we stayed at Le Morgane in the busy week of the French half term... Service was absolutely fantastic, beginning with making maybe 30 phone calls for us re ski school for the kids to reserving restaurants for us every single evening on the the most lovely restaurants in town. A hard task reserving for 8 people on such a busy week. Room was lovely and very quiet. We enjoyed an all incl deal which meant eg incl mini bar. A nice touch of a hotel, not costing them lots but a great benefit when you are used to the insulting minibar price policies of most hotels...
There is only a few critisism of the hotel: the additional sofabed (for the children) is not good enough as it is basically a camp bed. A higher quality of sofabed could make the experience better for the whole family. The main bed was fantastic though.The restaurant Le Bistro was also unfortunately a disappointment. We had high expectations as we were first told it had a Michelin star (not sure about that though). The tasting menu sounded ambitious, but didn't really deliver,lacked identity and taste really despite you could really see that they had tried hard. The breakfast was lovely, everything wonderfully fresh. Maybe cofee shouldn't be seved in china pots as it goes cold incredibly fast.
All in all a wonderful hotel with the most helpful front desk staff (David is a real gem) and can warmly be recommended.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank NomadWays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I have stayed in this hotel for the period 01-08.01.11 and loved the stay so much, so that I would recommend for everyone to stay there, who is going to Chamonix, as this hotel is unique, beautiful, location is good and the staff is GREAT!!! There are the most pleasent staff I have ever met, as they helped with every single thing I have asked them for, starting from where to go to ski till how to book tickets to Geneva.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate-go-round
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Morgane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Morgane

Address: 145 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £74 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Morgane 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the heart of Chamonix and at the foot step of the Aiguille du Midi cable car, Le Morgane combines the elegance of a 4 **** hotel with the relaxed, sporting mood of Chamonix offering a breathtaking view of the surrounding mythical peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Morgane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Morgane Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing