We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Morgane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Morgane
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location, Value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is reasonable value for money and in a wonderful location but I wouldn't choose to stay here again without some improvements.
On our first night we arrived after a very long journey across the world from sunny Australia. We were not used to the freezing, below zero conditions and had never been in snow before. We wanted a simple casual dinner on arrival and the hotel only has a super expensive gourmet bistro which didn't have anything appealing to us at all. In fact it doesn't fit the standard of the hotel at all, or the needs of its guests, hence why the hotel guests don't eat there much! The room service was only from the fancy restaurant menu with little or no vegetarian choices.
So we were told to walk ten minutes into town to a restaurant. This was a huge mistake! We were not dressed for the freezing cold and also exhausted, so the expedition to find some food on arrival was a terrible experience both there and back. Later in the trip when we moved to the Albert Premier Hotel, that hotel offered chauffeured transfers to restaurants in the evenings.
Had the Morgane offered us this on arrival, or even a room service menu with some nice simple options we would not have had to suffer on our first night.
In addition, the next day we found a nice simple cafe just 3 min away from the hotel which should have been suggested to us, not the one 10 min away and up a hill in freezing snow.
The buffet breakfasts were basic; scrambled eggs only and a few breads, fruit, basic cereals, yoghurt. No fried or poached eggs allowed, no tomatoes or mushrooms or spinach.
The coffee was ok, service ok.
This very average breakfast served ironically in the fancy Michelin star restaurant!
Our "junior suite" had a great view, that is the best feature of the hotel. The beds are ok, not great and the floors are all grey slate. I'm not a fan of stark grey slate, wooden floors are far more cosy. The bathroom was absolutely tiny and the bath/shower clean but tiny. The suite was below my expectation, but it was adequate for our needs.
The staff were courteous, but they could benefit from some training in customer service at the Albert Premier Hotel. Overall the experience was lacklustre but given the price of the rooms, reasonable value for money.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilyblake123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Lilyblake,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

We are sorry that the restaurant service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies. Our choice is to propose a restaurant with one star on the "Michelin" guide to our clients.

Also, we offer transfer to restaurant during the high season like Albert Premier, but we are located on the city center and the car don't have access to the walking area. Albert Premier propose this service because this excellent hotel is not located on the city center. We understand your suggestions but you compare with a five star hôtel (with differents prices).

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Jérôme Ridel

Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    282
    64
    18
    8
See reviews for
143
433
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I went there with my family (four people) the week of Christmas.
First the hotel is really well positionned, near to everything you need in Chamonix. The hotel staff is really kind and responsive, always taking care of you. The room was great, with everything needed. Every day we received candies in our beds. I enjoyed the breakfast which was really good. The hotel parking is adapted to "big cars".
The one star restaurant is really good with a menu changed every week. A litlle bit expensive for eating there everyday, but you can enjoy it once or twice. Take the time to look at the wine menu!
We enjoyed the swimming pool, and the SPA.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Mr William E,

Thank you for your nice and objective review.

We can't be nice awarded when our valuable client, like you, share this kind of feedback.

We do hope have the pleasure to welcome you back in your Chamonix residence, at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane.

Best wishes for 2014.

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel was nice - we couldn't fault the cleanliness but for the price we paid for it, the room was very very small. We couldn't even open our suitcase fully! Worth upgrading to a superior room if you're staying more than 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Ekmac,

Thank you for giving your time by writing a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel. Nevertheless, rest assured that all your other comments were reported to the head cheif of each departments.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in Chamonix for another stay.

Best regards

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

For a non-skiing visit, this hotel was well positioned for ease of getting around. My Husband and I had booked a Christmas stay here which turned out to be just perfect. The Hotel was very comfortable although the bedrooms were on the small side. The staff were very welcoming. Everyone we dealt with was very pleasant and were very helpful in every aspect of our stay.We ate in the hotel dining room. The menu choices were just incredible and very difficult to make as everything sounded so tasty. We were not disappointed in our menu choices and had a very nice evening. The waiting staff were so friendly and very knowledgeable on the food prepared by the chef. On my list to go back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Mrs FionaAW,

First of all,I would like to thank you very much for your recent visit at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane and also for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your experience.
We were happy to read that you had a wonderful stay among us and that we managed to meet your expectations in terms of quality .
Your compliments about the staff represent our best reward and will certainly be shared with the entire team.
We are sincerely looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in order to make you leave another unforgettable experience in your Hotel.

Best regards from the Mont Blanc.

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a skiing holiday. It is in a great location in Chamonix by the river with beautiful views of the mountain. The staff were all excellent, their level of service and attention to detail was superb. The room was fantastic, very relaxing and I was particularly impressed with their environmentally friendly features. The spa was lovely and the food delicious. I would definitely stay there again. Superb!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiegoneskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Ruthiegon,

First of all,thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane.

I am really happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback.

Be sure that your comments will be shared with the rest of the team in order to let them know they managed to reach your expectations in terms of quality.

All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Morgane hôtel.

Best regards,

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-tyne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have stayed in Chamonix many times but this was the first time in this hotel. Fab location, gorgeous views, welcoming staff, beautiful rooms and fantastic views. Could not have wished for more.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Joanne T,

Thank you for the time you spent relating your experience at the Morgane hotel.

We can't be best awarded ,when our commitments to offer the highest level of service is celebrated by this kind of review.

Thank you for your visit, all the Morgane team will be honoured to welcome you back in your "Chamonix residence".

Kind Regards

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for my husband's 40th from 16-20 November and booked a Junior Suite (room 402).
The reception staff were really friendly and helpful - I had booked a helicopter flight for my husband but hadn't had a call from the company. Joyce on reception very kindly offered to ring them for me to confirm the booking.
Our room was nice and comfortable but just far too dark once the daylight had gone. One floor lamp didn't work and that left two bedside lamps, a floor lamp in the seating area and a dull lamp on the desk.
The bathroom was just as most people have reviewed - ridiculously small. In order to open the shower door, the bathroom door had to be closed. There was no way of climbing into the bath around the shower door as the sink butted up against the bath, leaving a 4 inch space! The plug also took about 20 mins to drain the bath!
The view from the room was amazing though - Mont Blanc to the left and the village to the right. It snowed on our last day and the village looked beautiful!

If you are considering staying here during the ski season, you can walk to the Aguille du Midi station in 2 minutes.

We ate in the 1 Michelin starred restaurant on the night of my husbands birthday. The staff were very attentive once we'd actually been seated. We'd made an 8pm reservation a week beforehand and the restaurant was empty- yet we weren't seated til 8.30pm. My husband had the taster menu, I opted for the Guinea Fowl. The food was very nice once it had arrived (and we had deciphered the odd menu!) and the chef sent a happy birthday message out with the candles I had provided.

We tried the pool out once and unfortunately only lasted 10 minutes. The water was freezing cold, the steam room was out of order and the sauna just about fitted 3 people in. If you are over 6ft tall,you wouldn't be able to sit on the top level as the ceiling was so low!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodhi1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Bodhi1405,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience further to your recent stay at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane Chamonix.

It will be a great pleasure to share your comments with the entire team!

We do hope to welcome you back to Chamonix in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Morgane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Morgane

Property: Le Morgane
Address: 145 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Morgane 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the heart of Chamonix and at the foot step of the Aiguille du Midi cable car, Le Morgane combines the elegance of a 4 **** hotel with the relaxed, sporting mood of Chamonix offering a breathtaking view of the surrounding mythical peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Morgane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Morgane Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing