We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Morgane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Morgane
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a few days at Le Morgane. This is a wonderful hotel modern decor with a real attention to detail and a fabulous restaurant. But the real success of this hotel is the staff. I have never experienced such helpful friendly staff nothing is too much trouble and always with a smile on their face.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonHettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear JonHettle,

Thank you for your great comments following your recent stay at the In Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane.

We are delighted by your entire satisfaction leaving an amazing and unique experience during your stay.Your very nice comments regarding the staff will be shared with the team.

We do hope have the privilege to welcoming you back again, in your Chamonix residence,

Sincerely Yours

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    285
    65
    18
    8
See reviews for
143
438
32
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Once again I find myself torn between a rating of average (which this was not) and very good (which this was closer to but just 'good' would be a better description). Would I stay here again though? Absolutely but there are some things the hotel doesn't get right. Its good points outweigh the bad.

Positives: Location is superb. Close to the centre of town but far enough away not to be noisy. Lovely views of the mountains from every room I suspect.
(Some of) the Staff. Those that were good were very very good (but those that were bad were all the more notable for this.) Reception/concierge excellent. Geoffroy who looks after bags and driving and pretty much eveything - superb. Restaurant also very good (but the bar staff were only good when you could find them.....)
Overall design was also very attractive if you like it contemporary (although some negatives in room design mentioned later).
Restaurant - first class, particularly in the evening. Some have criticised the breakfast - we found the choice slightly small but what was served was all of a high standard.

Negatives: Some very tatty aspects around the hotel. Damage to one of the lifts that looked like it been there for ages and just not repaired. Didn't affect the running of the lift admittedly.
Same in our room - bits of plasterwork had come off the walls and just hadn't been repaired. Some plug sockets that didn't work.
And despite the overall attractive design in our room we felt the bathroom layout was odd, there was not enough room for someone to sit at the table and the other person to get past, and the lighting in the room was so poor it was hard to see in the wardrobe when it was night even with all room lights on. Mood lighting is one thing but it needs to be functional also.
I would also say that while there is enough clothes space for a week-end stay it would not be anything like enough for a week (we stayed four nights and struggled when you included ski gear).
None of this made us feel that we should complain (and some issues just can't be fixed) but overall they left you with an impression that this is at the low end of a 4 Star standard Hotel rather than a place trying to maintain a high standard.

But just to repeat, the good definitely outweighs the bad and I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarKir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear LarKir,

First of all,thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed the location, the view, the staff and the restaurant, the design and breakfast.

Regarding your comments about the room be sure they will be shared and forwarded to the concerned department. After renovation made on the lobby last Autumn, we have the pleasure to inform you that renovation on the rooms will be for next Spring.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in order to make you live another enriching experience.

Best regards

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife booked to stay at this hotel just before the ski season kicked off- it's a great time to visit Chamonix. The hotel has a great modern chalet look to it. Room was well sized, bordering on suite really with two large sofas and a killer view of mont Blanc. The lobby is super cosy with a fire and plenty of seating. Parking was literally 2 mins walk and the hotel is perfectly situated for après (bars and restaurants). Spot on service by staff. I would definitely stay here again but, would probably request a room on the front of the hotel, although our room had a killer view it was right on the train tracks which was surprisingly busy and pretty noisy!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Amaka1,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your feedback following to your visit at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane.

We were happy to read that you had a wonderful stay among us and that we managed to meet your expectations in terms of quality .

Your compliments about the staff represent our best reward and will certainly be shared with the entire team.

We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in order to make you live another unforgettable experience.

Sincerely Yours.

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I just came back to Geneva after four days at Le Morgane with my daughter, and, although Chamonix remains a very charming place, with wonderful landscape and great ski, the hotel was truly disappointing. Our room had a tiny bathroom and no place to hang wet skiwear. Breakfast was poorly served, with a couple of overwhelmed staff trying to do ten things at a time. The one-starred restaurant served me overcooked fish at dinner. The spa was minimal and messy, with lots of used bathrobes laying as decoration over the four (yes, four) chairs available, and unruly, water-throwing teenagers getting crazy around a relaxation pool. Is it really difficult to have someone to supervise the premises from time to time? The icing of the cake was my massage appointment - not honored because the receptionist didn't bother to ask at what hotel I was staying in, although, as I learned later, this is actually a spa offered in two different places!
I can't believe this is a four-star hotel, because I stayed in much better places in Cham before (unluckily, they were fully booked this time around). A couple of good things? Friendly staff, a good location, and after-ski hot chocolat - but, frankly, I would expect more for their four stars and price.
Don't go there!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciainParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Mrs MarciainP,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane.

As Guest Relations Manager, I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as our main goal is to reach our valuable guests's satisfaction .

As explain at your departure, we regret that you had to wait your coffee for your first day breakfast. Following your comment, we have the pleasure to explain you that we add a coffee machine on the buffet. For the "overcooked" fish, we regret that you did not mention that the fish was automaticaly replace and that you had a great diner as you told with the Chef. Concerning the Spa, we understand your request but we can not refuse the teenagers, specially during the school holidays. For the Spa appointment, be sure your comments will be shared with the concerned departments.

Would you please contact us at : direction@hotelmorganechamonix.com to provide more details about your bad experience of hospitality and customer service.

Looking forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience,

Sincerely yours,

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. After a problem with her accommodation my friend was left with nowhere to stay last week. We looked around the top five hotels in Chamonix and this was the best we found. They had the largest rooms which were very well decorated, it was great value for money and the staff could not have been more helpful, they went above and beyond at all times. Chamonix is a wonderful resort and this is the hotel to stay at if you go!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Lakie82,

First of all, thank you very much for leaving your comments following to your recent visit at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane.

We were happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we managed to reach you expectations in terms of quality.

Your satisfaction is our main goal and it is always a real pleasure for us to read such a wonderful feedback.

Be sure it will be shared with our entire staff !

We sincerely hope you will give us the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at the Morgane Hôtel.

Best regards

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

it is cozy hotel i feel care from the staff and they was friendly and helpful . joiner suit room was great and big with nice city view . i like every think in the hotel except the house keeping which they don't clean the room will. also if the breakfast added to room it will be great that will give customers option to have diner or launch in the restaurant since i have heard they have good restaurant but i was not courage to try it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SondusA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear SondusA,

First of all,thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane.

Thank you very much also for mentioning the quality of the Hôtel and service delivered by the staff in general.

Regarding your comments about the variety during breakfast and the house keeping, be sure they will be shared and forwarded to the concerned department.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in order to make you live another enriching experience.

Best regards

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is reasonable value for money and in a wonderful location but I wouldn't choose to stay here again without some improvements.
On our first night we arrived after a very long journey across the world from sunny Australia. We were not used to the freezing, below zero conditions and had never been in snow before. We wanted a simple casual dinner on arrival and the hotel only has a super expensive gourmet bistro which didn't have anything appealing to us at all. In fact it doesn't fit the standard of the hotel at all, or the needs of its guests, hence why the hotel guests don't eat there much! The room service was only from the fancy restaurant menu with little or no vegetarian choices.
So we were told to walk ten minutes into town to a restaurant. This was a huge mistake! We were not dressed for the freezing cold and also exhausted, so the expedition to find some food on arrival was a terrible experience both there and back. Later in the trip when we moved to the Albert Premier Hotel, that hotel offered chauffeured transfers to restaurants in the evenings.
Had the Morgane offered us this on arrival, or even a room service menu with some nice simple options we would not have had to suffer on our first night.
In addition, the next day we found a nice simple cafe just 3 min away from the hotel which should have been suggested to us, not the one 10 min away and up a hill in freezing snow.
The buffet breakfasts were basic; scrambled eggs only and a few breads, fruit, basic cereals, yoghurt. No fried or poached eggs allowed, no tomatoes or mushrooms or spinach.
The coffee was ok, service ok.
This very average breakfast served ironically in the fancy Michelin star restaurant!
Our "junior suite" had a great view, that is the best feature of the hotel. The beds are ok, not great and the floors are all grey slate. I'm not a fan of stark grey slate, wooden floors are far more cosy. The bathroom was absolutely tiny and the bath/shower clean but tiny. The suite was below my expectation, but it was adequate for our needs.
The staff were courteous, but they could benefit from some training in customer service at the Albert Premier Hotel. Overall the experience was lacklustre but given the price of the rooms, reasonable value for money.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilyblake123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Lilyblake,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

We are sorry that the restaurant service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies. Our choice is to propose a restaurant with one star on the "Michelin" guide to our clients.

Also, we offer transfer to restaurant during the high season like Albert Premier, but we are located on the city center and the car don't have access to the walking area. Albert Premier propose this service because this excellent hotel is not located on the city center. We understand your suggestions but you compare with a five star hôtel (with differents prices).

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Jérôme Ridel

Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Morgane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Morgane

Property: Le Morgane
Address: 145 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Morgane 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the heart of Chamonix and at the foot step of the Aiguille du Midi cable car, Le Morgane combines the elegance of a 4 **** hotel with the relaxed, sporting mood of Chamonix offering a breathtaking view of the surrounding mythical peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Morgane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Morgane Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing