We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff”
Review of Le Morgane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Morgane
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and staff”
Reviewed 3 April 2010

The staff here at this hotel are very accommodating - Emily, Marianne, Zoran - everyone has been such a pleasure. The room is a junior suite - nice decor and very eco-friendly (need a key for the lights to work - something american hotels should do. Don't have anything bad to say - it was a wonderful trip made better by the wonderful hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nj2la4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    294
    66
    18
    8
See reviews for
144
450
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

stopped here for 4 nights in march. Not your typical ski hotel- def worth the 4 stars. lovely beds, nice sauna/ steam and plunge pool.

location just off the main strip of a lovely town, not at all rough! some really nice restaurants nearby and ski bus stops literally outside of the hotel or a 5 min walk to main stop.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geordie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I stayed at the Morgane last summer, and really liked the "mineral" decor, a sleek re-invention of mountain style. Tiny yet functional, comfortable room (with noise from the nearby Garage club when the balcony window was open at night), stunning view of the Mont Blanc, great location, excellent breakfast and friendly staff.
I look forward to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchLIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

A very comfortable and modern if not particularly enchanting hotel. Good location, minutes walk from the town centre and to both railway stations. Recommend taking the room on the higher floors and facing Mont Blanc.
Wardrobes without doors take a while to get used to.

The restaurant, Le Bistrot, run by the Michelin-starred chef is probably a must if you are into those things otherwise La Caleche restaurant in the centre of town is absolutely brilliant and full of character but quite reasonable and with good selection of wines.

Stayed in Chamonix during a weekend just before the main season. Unfortunately, half of establishments were still closed so if you are not into skiing or mountain-walking and with scarcity of shopping facilities this place is not really for you. Definitely recommend trip on the Montenvers train for breathtaking views of the valley and the glacier.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Managed to get a great deal on a weekend stay here in early Dec. This is very much a smart modern City style Hotel in a Ski Resort with chic and well designed public areas, which would be normally more akin to Dusseldorf than Chamonix.
Staff are brilliant, and dining is totally sublime ( if you don't stay here, make sure you book and go to the restaurant, totally recommended. Tip, go for the surprise menu, it's great value and fun).
Bedroom carry the same chic style, our only concern here here are the bathrooms are tiny, which seems odd considering how good the hotel is. Shower in Bath as well ..aghh. Pool and spa area also very small.
Top Hotel, but best for a short break only.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Toolbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Everything good written about this hotel is true and all the bad (is there any?) is a lie. It was the best place we stayed on this Europe trip and I would ecstatically recommended it.

Room: loved the views! We had a nice balcony facing the mountain and it sure beats the view I have in my tiny NYC apt. Can I trade please? The bed was like butter- I melted into it. The bathroom was clean and modern with lots of plush towels. We got lucky with the weather for late October- sunny and warm but it was freezing at night. No worries about the heat in the room- it was hotter than Georgia asphalt. We lowered it and happily fell into slumber.

Breakfast: delish! The baguettes were so fresh and the cheese plentiful. It would be nice if breakfast was until 10:30 (instead of 10) but hey, I won’t be a hater.

Location: We drove from Lausanne and wow was the ride spectacular. The fall foliage looked like a fallen rainbow- simply stunning. There is free parking in back of the hotel which is thoughtful. Thanks for that. You can walk everywhere from this hotel as it’s centrally located. There is also free internet downstairs so you can update your Facebook status at your leisure.

Overall: what’s not to like in Chamonix? The food is spectacular and smiles a plenty. My only tip? Avoid the Moncler boutique at all costs or be prepared to spend too much money on a jacket you love but don’t need. But I deserve it, right?

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

My wife and I stayed here one night at the end of October. The hotel had a special deal on the room and I couldn't pass it up. It is located about 10 minutes walking distance from the Gare SNCF. It's a pretty, easy walk. Once we arrived, the hotel staff could not have been more friendly. We showed up early...around 10:30 and they still had our room ready.

The hotel is clean and modern, with a alpine flair. We had a standard room situated on the first floor with a beautiful view of Mont-Blanc. The rooms are a fair size, especially for a European hotel. The bathrooms are clean and nice. There is a heated pool, or so they say. When I felt it, i could barely put a foot in it was so cold. Maybe they heat the pool during ski season, I don't know. There was a nice sauna and steam room though, along with a full spa services which were nice.

We ate in the restaurant twice, once for dinner, the other for breakfast. Both were fantastic. The restaurant is a must, especially for dinner. The prices range greatly depending on what you order, but you don't have to spend a whole lot to get a great meal. This was much appreciated.

One last note, the staff let us check out late, four hours later than normal. My wife and I both really appreciated it. The staff is extremely accommodating and very helpful. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwicksail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Morgane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Morgane

Property: Le Morgane
Address: 145 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Morgane 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the heart of Chamonix and at the foot step of the Aiguille du Midi cable car, Le Morgane combines the elegance of a 4 **** hotel with the relaxed, sporting mood of Chamonix offering a breathtaking view of the surrounding mythical peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Morgane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Morgane Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing