We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”
Review of Le Morgane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Morgane
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Stayed one night. Frederick went out of his way to make us feel welcome! We stayed in a corner room that had two balconies with stunning views of Mont Blanc! Would definately stay here again. Chamonix is a primo ski town!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lv2TravelDelafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for Le Morgane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed for one night as part of a road trip. We had wanted to get the cable car to the top of Mont Blanc but the visibilty was not good enough. We enjoyed the sauna/pool within the hotel and the foyer and restaurant next door were beautifully furnished - clean lines and lots of wood! This hotel is in easy walking distance of the shops within the centre. I have never stayed in such a comfy bed is was huge!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorienstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Great staff, quality of accommodation and location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

As others have commented, le Morgane is the kind of high quality business hotel which one could happily stay in anywhere on the continent. It’s a very good individual Best Western (a chain with which I’ve had mixed experiences over the years). But it also caters very well for skiers (storage room for boots and skis, handy for the relevant connections ), and has touches which are a kind of modern twist on the classic Alpine theme (the fires, for example, are where you’d expect them to be, but are in keeping with the cool, modern, minimalist decor – none of your gemuetlich nonsense here). There’s a reasonably-proportioned salon in which you can use a free internet connection (there’s also free wi-fi in the rooms). I could see this being a good location for a certain kind of corporate ski-weekend bonding experience.

Our room (a superior) was, in common with the experience reported by almost all reviewers, very tightly-proportioned (except, oddly enough, in the entrance lobby to the room, where there was lots of unusable space). The bathroom was particularly small (though this was at least partly the result of the odd, but not unwelcome, separation of toilet from bathroom). The toiletries were high-end. The beds were really comfortable, and (very much appreciated when space is tight) had no sharp edges and corners on which to hurt oneself. There was a small balcony, which is probably nice in summer, though not really of much use in winter.

The food was excellent. The things you’d expect to be good about breakfasts in France (which is basically all the food which they themselves would eat) did not disappoint. Even the egg-boiler (a perpetual challenge in continental hotels) worked faultlessly. I can’t vouch for any other kind of breakfast stuff, since I tend not to eat it. The restaurant has a Michelin star, which speaks for itself (its popularity means that reservation is essential, though this tends to be true everywhere in France, even when you wouldn’t expect things to be busy – food being a secular religion for the French, its purveyors do rather insist on being treated with the respect they feel is their due, part of which involves anglo-saxons not simply bowling up and expecting a table as if it was their local chain eaterie).

The staff were, by and large, friendly and helpful. They very kindly did not charge us when we had to cancel an extra booked night in order to take alternative transport back to the UK following the Great Icelandic Cloud of Doom Panic which caused Eurocontrol to lose its marbles that week. As ever with the French, provided you play by their rules, you’ll do OK. Their English was almost always exceptionally good.

I’d recommend this hotel to anyone looking for value and quality in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatureLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

arrived by private tranfer from Geneva airport (50 mins 160 Euro) easy check in although bags were not taken to the room for us.
Hotel is in a good location.
Room modern, very clean, well equiped, they put a dvd player in the room as per our request.
The bathroom however is tiny and although the room is very nice it has the feel of an average hotel very nicely decorated. At 460 euro per night i have stayed in better hotels.
The restaurant in the hotel is fantastic for dinner. breakfast was included in the price. it was just better than average.
the staff were very friendly and helpful, they gave us excellent restaurant recommendations.
Massage at the spa was terrible, the therapist was inexperienced.
In summary it was a good hotel but i would also consider other hotels in this price bracket.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank adlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

After six years returning to Chamonix, I can't believe I haven't found this hotel before. It will definately be one of my first options for future visits. Service was friendly and of a high standard without exception, and the spa was very welcome at the end of each day on the mountain.
Decor and cleanliness is of a high standard throughout. There are a number of restaurants and shops in the immediate area but it is only a short (5 min) walk to the centre of town. I would particularly recommend "La maison d'en bas" a restaurant only 50 yards from the hotel that offers excellent savoyard food slightly different from the usual fare.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerfrom203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

The staff here at this hotel are very accommodating - Emily, Marianne, Zoran - everyone has been such a pleasure. The room is a junior suite - nice decor and very eco-friendly (need a key for the lights to work - something american hotels should do. Don't have anything bad to say - it was a wonderful trip made better by the wonderful hotel staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nj2la4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Morgane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Morgane

Address: 145 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £75 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Morgane 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the heart of Chamonix and at the foot step of the Aiguille du Midi cable car, Le Morgane combines the elegance of a 4 **** hotel with the relaxed, sporting mood of Chamonix offering a breathtaking view of the surrounding mythical peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Morgane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Morgane Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing