We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME PLACE WITH INCREDIBLE VIEW”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE WITH INCREDIBLE VIEW”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We are a familty of four with 2 kids, 6 and 8. The room was able to accomodate all four without a problem. We had a double bed and a single bed with a pull-out bed.
This hotel was by far the best throughout our one month stay in France (we stayed in 11 hotels). The room (#45) was extremely clean but the bathroom was so clean that you could have eaten a meal on the floor! We had a nice balcony accessed via a patio door and we had a big window on another wall. Balcony had a table and 3 chairs. Our view, nothing else but the Mont-Blanc and the Aiguille du Midi right in front of us. Lying down in our bed, we could see the entire mountain range. Just spectacular. Free parking and internet is 3E/30min. Employees were very nice and helpful. Looking straight down from the balcony was the Arve river.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutaouaisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    223
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
109
289
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We returned to Hotel de l'Arve after 21 years and found it, and Chamonix, to be much larger than we remembered. With two teenagers, we were happy to have a quad room with separate beds for the teens. Beautiful mountain views and great location make this a great choice. Daily breakfast was adequate but at 44 euros per day for a family of four, I would skip it next time around to enjoy some of the local spots in the morning. Evening cocktail at the small bar was nice addition. When staying at the l'Arve, don't expect luxury, but it is clean and the staff generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentlyinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed at this place several times, were more than satisfied every time.
Rooms are clean, spacious, breakfast is plentiful and varied, and you are in centre of Chamonix. Cannot ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Beautiful little hotel located right in the heart of amazing Chamonix, along the Arve River. A 2 minute walk and you are amongst the shops and restaurants.
Our room was on the second floor, a Mont Blanc view room. The room was cosy and spacious, the best part was that our room was one of three that have a door to access a huge balcony. This balcony has tables and chairs and the view of Mont Blanc awesome.
I would highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends, hopefully I can make it back to Chamonix one day and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This is the third year in a row we've stayed at Hotel L'Arve. Can't really fault it. Brevent slopes are within walking distance and handy for bus to other ski areas. Worked out at around £35 b&b for a room with a view (just) of Mount Blanc. Breakfast excellent and worth 11 euros. Restaurant appeared last year and had lunch there, which was good, but much cheaper options at Neapolis, next door & L'Etape just round the corner (the stakes at this place are top notch). Will be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I stayed hear with five male friends on a trip to ski the Haute Route. We spent 1-2 days just exploring Chamonix and Mt. Blanc, three days skiing(Grand Montets) and preparing for out adeventure and then returned for one night before we left for the USA after we finished our expedition. The hotel is benefited by its location near the center of town and by its location near two bus stops (one at the end of their driveway and one 2 blocks away). The buses can take you to all the local ski areas and are very easy to use. The hotel is on the river and is quite picturesque. The continental breakfast is good and quite comfortable. They cater to skiiers and alpinists so you will see climbers and skiiers in their equipment in the dining room. The atmosphere is relaxed and casual. The rooms are small but clean. I stayed in two different rooms. The beds are ok. They are the small twin beds typical of small European hotels. There is a ski room at the front of the hotel with locking cabinets to store your skis. The best part of the hotel, hoverver, is the staff. They are exceptionsally helpful. The lobby has a small bar. There are two living-room like rooms off the main lobby that are great to just sit in or to have group meetings.They understand English and put up with our group with all our equipment without a fuss.We had many needs and many questions about the local area and we never felt like we were imposing on them. It is a great value in a beautiful location. Our guide for our trek said their company had used many other hotels in the city, some of which were 4 stars, and they had found this hotel to be the most comfortable primarily because of the hepfulness of the staff.If you do stay there ask for a room facing the river for a great view. I did not use the climbing wall or sauna but heard they were good from my fellow travellers. The restaurant Napolis which is right next door on the river side was a great value. It was nice not to have to go far for a good meal at a good price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingDuo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2011

we stayed here for a week in January 2010 and feel in love with not only Chamonix but also this charming hotel, welcoming and very friendly staff, great sized rooms and excellent value for money. Make sure you ask for a Mont Blamc view, its worth it!! Loved the town and this hotel so much we came back in the Spring to see it again ...all the way from Australia!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Property: Hotel de l'Arve
Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing