We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly, centrally located”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Nice rooms, quiet, clean. Wireless is spotty and had to sit in lobby for reception. But the key factors were a good price, fair value and proximity to town center and rail station. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you face the river, you have a beautiful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrekkerPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had a very pleasant stay. The hotel generally was excellent, we have a few minor complaints. They advertise free WiFi, to make it work I had to sit within 2 metres of the transmitter. The rooms on the river side have private balconies and a spectacular view, but the river can be noisy. Since there is no air conditioning, you have to choose between being too hot or listening to the river. The breakfast was very good, but sometimes they ran out of items, such as scrambled eggs. There is a laundromat within 2 minutes walk of the hotel. It was easy to see all of the sights of Chamonix from this hotel. The exercise room was small but remarkably well equipped, it even had a climbing wall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HowardFreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Excellent location in downtown Chamonix. Walking distance to all the restaurants and bars. Breakfast is adequate, but nothing special. I had lunch one day at the hotel restaurant and it was fantastic. Rooms were clean and of adequate size. Overall, this was an excellent value for a ski trip in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmo213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed here while I was in Chamonix for a friend's wedding, and compared to all the other rooms I saw or heard about I think we got the best deal in town. Rates were totally reasonable, our room was huge, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is a CLIMBING WALL in the hotel's fitness/spa area!

Highly recommend this place, you can't do better in terms of value for money in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank data_wrangler_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Great hotel I go to Chamonix climbing and find this place home from home.
Really freindly peopel and laid back.
Nice breakfast and always warm on tidy after a day on the hills
Hidden little gem.
Have booked no problem via email and paid on departure they just take a card for a deposit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel de L'Arve for eleven nights in August 2011. We picked the hotel based on the favorable reviews we found in TripAdvisor and we couldn't agree more. If you like sitting on your own private balcony with Mount Blanc towering above, the river running immediately beneath you, paragliders floating by in the distance, a public promendade immediately across the river that affords unlimited fun people watching, delicious breakfasts, and exceedingly helpful and lovely staff, then try this hotel like we did. We were delighted.

By the way, if you want the larger size room (two twin beds and a full sized sofa in the room together with a sitting area table), plus the advantage of a corner room with windows one one side and a sliding door to the balcony on the other, then ask for either room 39 (second floor, the one we had), or room 45 directly above on the third (and top) floor. There are also two other though smaller rooms on each floor adjacent to rooms 39 and 45 that otherwise have the same views and frontage to the river, if a smaller room suits your needs.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is only a couple minutes walk from the center of town and yet it is tucked away nicely so that you feel a comfortable separation from the noise and faster pace of the central area.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for 1 night at the beginning and 1 night at the end of our TMB walking holiday
Great location very central for the town also right next to the River - hence its name
Friendly staff, lovely rooms and a great breakfast
Would love to return

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £66 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing