We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a ski stay in Chamonix!”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good choice for a ski stay in Chamonix!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a nice stay at the Hotel De L'Arve for 4 nights in February. This hotel is perfectly located for skiing and for exploring Chamonix. The ski bus stops just around the corner - key to have a short walk when you're all suited up in ski gear! And the buses give you easy access to all the main ski areas, especially the Brevant-Flegere area, which is only 2 stops away. There is a ski rental shop nearby (across the street from the bus stop) which was easy and convenient. The hotel has a storage room with lockers for skis and gear. We also enjoyed the simple but hearty breakfasts before heading out for the slopes (think: breads, cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs), as well as the sauna for relaxing afterwards! The lounge/bar with fireplace in the lobby is also nice - the wifi works well there but is spotty in the rest of the building. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. Walls were a bit thin, so could be a bit noisy at times. Overall, recommended for a budget-friendly but comfortable stay in beautiful Chamonix!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the river-side, with a view of Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peace2494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    219
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
106
280
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I recently stayed for a few days in this charming hotel, chosen because of its proximity to my daughter's appartment in Chamonix. The position in the centre of town and close to the Brevant lift system - but away from the road - is ideal; the hotel was spotlessly clean and the modest website does not do justice to the civility and warmth of the staff. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Booked into Hotel De L'Arve, recommended by friends, good central location, a must in Chamonix. Breakfast a bit ordinary, dinner in restaurant good, but menu did not change in 10 days, slightly more imaginative than you usual Savoyade fare which can be very heavy and the same in every restaurant in town. Note Chamonix is not a beginners resort, mostly black runs back to the town and then you need to catch a bus.
All skiing areas spread out along a very long valley, excellent high skiing and off piste when the weather is good, but the valley fills up with fog and low cloud whilst other nearby resorts, such as Megeve, do not suffer from this problem.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of Mont Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Nice rooms, quiet, clean. Wireless is spotty and had to sit in lobby for reception. But the key factors were a good price, fair value and proximity to town center and rail station. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you face the river, you have a beautiful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrekkerPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had a very pleasant stay. The hotel generally was excellent, we have a few minor complaints. They advertise free WiFi, to make it work I had to sit within 2 metres of the transmitter. The rooms on the river side have private balconies and a spectacular view, but the river can be noisy. Since there is no air conditioning, you have to choose between being too hot or listening to the river. The breakfast was very good, but sometimes they ran out of items, such as scrambled eggs. There is a laundromat within 2 minutes walk of the hotel. It was easy to see all of the sights of Chamonix from this hotel. The exercise room was small but remarkably well equipped, it even had a climbing wall.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HowardFreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Excellent location in downtown Chamonix. Walking distance to all the restaurants and bars. Breakfast is adequate, but nothing special. I had lunch one day at the hotel restaurant and it was fantastic. Rooms were clean and of adequate size. Overall, this was an excellent value for a ski trip in Chamonix.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmo213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed here while I was in Chamonix for a friend's wedding, and compared to all the other rooms I saw or heard about I think we got the best deal in town. Rates were totally reasonable, our room was huge, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is a CLIMBING WALL in the hotel's fitness/spa area!

Highly recommend this place, you can't do better in terms of value for money in Chamonix.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank data_wrangler_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Property: Hotel de l'Arve
Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing