We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK experience”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We stayed for 5 nights in mid-June in the suite room. The room was very spacious with a separate living room (with a sofa bed) and bedroom (w/ double bed). The furniture is a bit worn out, but all was kept tidy. There was a bad smell in the room so we kept the windows open.

The location is great. Everything is walking distance. Supermarket is close by, as well as a nice cute bakery, so we just bought our breakfast everyday. There is no fridge in the room, so that was a bit inconvenient.

Staff were very friendly, and the price of our stay was reasonable. It is a 2 star hotel, so you can't expect too much, but if we were to go back to Chamonix, we would probably want to try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toto1toto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de l'Arve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2008

We stayed here for three nights in April of 2008...it was not our first choice - that was a different property but their prices were much higher for the Friday and Saturday nights we were going to be there, so we had to change to the Hotel de L'Arve...location is fantastic - right in the heart of Chamonix...the room was 'okay'. Kind of old feeling, the bed was very uncomfortable with a thin, old blanket. This wouldn't have been too much of a problem but there must have been a problem with the plumbing in our room - it smelled absolutely horrific so we had to sleep with the windows open and therefore were freezing. We mentioned the smell, something was done but it never fully was gone (but it got better). Breakfast was pretty good - good selection for the buffet and the dining area was nice.

All in all, not a bad deal for the money but next time we'll try something else...

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tkln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

A party of 25 of us stayed here to celebrate my 60th birthday. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. The staff were brilliant always helpful but never intrusive. The rooms are clean and comfotable, much better than 2 star standard. The meal on the Satrday night though simple was just what we needed to get everyone in the party mood. The location is ideal particularly for non skiers as you can easily walk into the town centre and to the rail and bus stations. Thank you very much we'll certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Philgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Excellent location. Right in the center of town on the river. Excellent bed. Clean. Quiet. Nice staff. Decent breakfast. Price is low compared to similar hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fellowtravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Overall a great little hotel. The rooms were tidy and had a great view of the nearby area. A great afternoon experience is to sit outside with a nice cup of coffee and just listen on the river rushing by. While the hotel itself does not have a huge list of amenities there is a larger hotel right next door that can be accessed for stores and a laundromat.

The only tip I would give is to plan plenty of time for a shower, sometimes you need to leave the water running for 5-10 minutes before it warms up.

One of the strangest,and best, items was free high speed wi-fi(which performed extremely well) and the amazing cell phone coverage in Chamonix. My vacation took me to four European countries and the best cell phone coverage and internet access was in Chamonix a remote village in the French Alps.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Matt_Pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

In October 2007 I stayed at the Hotel de l'Arve (named after the river running through Chamonix, which the Hotel borders).
What a grand surprise. I found this hotel just by walking into the Office de Tourisme in Chamonix and asking for a recommendation. They gave me three and this was the first and only one I went to. It is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting in the middle of the town with walking to everywhere including the aerial tramway up to the Aiguille du Midi. The desk people were extremely relaxed and friendly and spoke English very well. The room was spacious (it was October and they let me change from a darker room to a lighter and bigger one-it was luck because the next week teams of Scottish curling players were taking over the hotel (in, I gathered a rather rowdy but friendly way). The rooms are walked with varnished wood so that you really feel you are in a ski resort. From my window I could see the large and beautiful chalet next door to the hotel with its beautiful array of well-cared for flowers. I didn't eat in the hotel, since there were many brasseries and other restaurants available in the town, so I can't say anything about the food, though the prices seemed reasonable and the dining room looked out on the adjacent river. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was excellent, clean and efficient. Certainly an excellent deal and a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank parismirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2007

Our group of six walkers completed the 10 day Mont Blanc circuit in July 2007. We stayed at the hotel one night before the walk and 2 nights after the walk. The hotel was great and we had rooms overlooking the river. The rooms were generous in size and clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was simply wonderful, particularly for six hungry walkers. The sauna soothed our aching muscles. The hotel was very central and I highly recommend it as a good value for money hotel in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ossietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £67 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing