We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, spectacular view, good apartment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, spectacular view, good apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a 2 bedroom apartment and stayed at quiet time of year (October). This meant a few things weren't available in Chamonix (cable cars etc) but meant that there weren't major crowds to contend with either. It did mean we got a very good rate for the apartment so value for money was high. Apartment is modern and reasonably spacious, good sized bathroom and a nice balcony with a view of Mont Blanc and the Arve. Self contained, adequate kitchen, could use a few more appliances/implements/pots and pans if you really wanted to cook a full meal. Good technology with wifi and British satellite TV (for the non-French speakers a God-send). Good free parking, very quiet and helpful and friendly staff. We had a minor problem with a blocked shower (nothing serious) and we found the beds a little hard. Overall, great summer spot in Chamonix, no major issues and we would stay there again, especially at that rate.

Room Tip: Larger apartment would help if you have more than 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neils01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    202
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
98
253
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in the new superior apartment which is in the building in front of the Hotel - it was fantastic. It was 2 bedrooms and on 2 floors, very spacious and looked brand new. Full sized kitchen, large bedrooms and bathrooms - even UK tv! We stayed with 2 young children for 2 nights and we wish we could have stayed for 2 weeks. Service was fantastic - a stair safety gate and baby cot were installed within minutes of us arriving. Location was great with being literally 1 minutes walk from the main centre and from a supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiTraveller08032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a gem this place is. It is next door to the river, right in the centre of town (but quiet), and if you have a river facing room you can leave your door/ window open and fall asleep to the sound of it rushing past.
A family run hotel, run with more warmth and efficiency than we have found in many similar establishments.
Great public areas with a cosy bar (cheap alcohol!) and sitting room area, with fireplace for winter and pool (as in snooker) room for the kids. A small but perfectly appointed garden faces onto the river, and from here you can literally walk up some steps to one of Chamonix's good Italian restaurants.
Breakfast was good but not as expansive as some others around - a little more focus on variety of bread, and some compote to go with the yoghurt (and some nuts?) would take it up a notch.
Our room (17) was good, with good storage, but a trifle small. Fine for a short stay, with a balcony looking over the river and nice ensuite but I wouldn't have wanted to be in it for a week.

Room Tip: For those with a bit more luggage, or who like a bit more space in the room, ask for 14, but I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz_eco_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
478 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

To find a nice affordable hotel in Central Chamonix is a difficult task. We have tried several hotels, but two years ago we ended up at Hotel de l'Arve. And this summer we returned. The hotel has an ideal location, just a few steps from everything essential. And with a big room facing Mont Blanc, we had the river (l'Arve) just outside the window. The river, which passes by the hotel, is very fascinating. The hotel has a nice exterior and the common rooms are really attractive. The rooms are more simple, but we had a huge good room. The breakfast is adequate and the people in the reception were welcoming. Hotel de l'Arve is such a hotel that you just do love even if there isn't any luxury. We will probably come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights in the hotel annexe. The apartment was very spacious and suited our needs. The kitchen area had a large cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer and dishwasher. The bedrooms were ample. The only downside was there was no wardrobes or cupboard space in the second bedroom and clothes had to be stored upstairs in a cupboard at the entrance to the apartment. The apartment was modern and spotlessly clean and amply equipped. Only reason not giving the apartment a 5 rating is the noise from the water pump feeding the apartment. Any person in the block of 4 using taps or flushing toilets during the night would set of the pump which could waken the dead.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank j4mbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear sir,
Thanks for sharing your experience at the Arve's apartment,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Chamonix,
Following your departure, we noticed when cleaning the apartment that the water pump had a problem, we managed to fix it but as something was stuck inside the pump was unusually noisy and long when working,
We are really sorry for the inconvience caused and hope that we will welcome you again for a future stay in Chamonix!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here recently after a long hike and were looking forward to our final night in Chamonix at the Hotel de l'Arve, which looked nice, central, and next to the river that runs through town. The location was great, and our rooms (four in total) were all of a good standard -clean, plenty of room, comfortable beds, etc. The only thing that would stop me from recommending this was the curiously cold, indifferent staff who were there during our stay. After so many other positive experiences in various hotels and refuges on our trip, it was a shame that our last night was dampened by a surly 'patron' and unhelpful receptionist. For many travelers, the friendliness or otherwise of their welcome can make a big difference to their stay, and in our case, it was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skimom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I am taking good note of your remarks and my team and myself are totally concern about the importance of a warm welcoming. I do really apologize for the impression you had which is not the one we normally give. We will be even more careful and attentive in the future in all moments and I hope that if you come back one day you will give us a chance to give you a warm and friendly welcoming as we usually do with all guests.
Thanks for your comprehension,
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We are currently staying in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Hotel de L'Arve in Chamonix...Would highly recommend as the apartment is light, spacious and has everything you need! Fridge/Freezer is great as the weather is glorious...and the bonus is a big balcony with table and chairs. The only thing lacking is a washing machine..but the hotel have been very helpful and informed me the location of the launderette in Chamonix. Great location for the centre of Chamonix and great views ..also overlooks the river. Big bonus for here is the car parking...we have a Volvo XC60 with a top box so looked for a hotel with "overground" car parking...plenty of room for the car. Would come back here again next time we are in Chamonix.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Bonjour!
Thanks a lot for your very nice comment concerning our apartments,
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a lot your stay with us and in Chamonix,
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next time you would stay in the region,
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Property: Hotel de l'Arve
Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing