We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My fiance and I are spending a week here before Christmas, a week before the official beginning of the ski season. The hotel is modern, charming, quiet and very comfortable. The breakfast is varied, our bed is comfortable, there is a ski storage area which is heated and they serve tea and coffee after your day of skiing. The staff is friendly and the housekeeper makes up the room every day. Excellent value for money.
We live in Switzerland, so we are used to well organized transport links. However, having come here this time by bus, we depend on the bus service to get to the ski lifts.
The bus company has recently changed it's timetable from summer to winter service but they have not yet updated the timetables at the bus stops. So we advise to make sure you are aware of the bus timetable before you end up waiting an hour like we did!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear guests,
We thank you for your positive comment following your stay with us,
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast as we have made several changes to improve it for this winter season,
We are sorry for the disagrements caused by the bus organisation...they were not very efficient before the high season, hopefully we finally received the new timetables and they have updated them at each bus stop...We hope they will be more in advance next year!
We are hoping to welcoming you again in the future,
Best regards,
Hôtel de l'Arve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    202
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
98
253
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We planned on staying in Chamonix for one night but extended our stay to 3 nights because we liked it so much. All 3 nights were spent at the l'arve, the first two we stayed in a superior room with a king bed and great view of Mount Blanc. There was no shower curtain which got the bathroom a bit messy..the river was right out front of our windows which was soothing and not loud like you'd think. Third night we down graded to a standard room which had a shared patio but still had views of mount Blanc and a queen bed. Standard room had an enclosed shower, but was small. At 6", 190 pounds I was bumping into the faucet.
Overall I would recommend this hotel, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Being only a few steps from the city center, it was very quiet and convenient.
Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HammockMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

There are many parking slots in the hotel. Walking distance to train station and all cable car stations. Close to the main street of the city. Breakfast is good. My room has a lovely balcony with mountain view and river view. Very relaxing...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had reserved our room w/ balcony and view of Mont Blanc 6 months in advance. We confirmed reservation before we left. When we arrived, we were told our room was taken and we'd have to settle for something else. They had a busy weekend!!! They gave us a choice of 2 VERY substandard rooms - no view of Mt Blanc, room SO small you couldn't open up the door to the TINY balcony and the ceiling was VERY low. Female staff member that assisted us was the rudest we have experienced in our previous 25 European hotel stays. We, within 30 minutes, went down to see about a different room. Fortunately, this female staff member was gone and a very helpful young man helped us and we got the room we had requested. This female staff did not tell us about the gym nor the hours of the front door. She was rude when I didn't understand what a car park was. She had an attitude of being lazy and totally not caring about the hotel's clientelle. I knew we were about an hour early for our check-in and if our room wasn't ready, she could have told this and we could have understood we'd have to wait a bit. But nope, just showed us pitiful rooms. When we wanted a drink in the bar, we used their menu and had to go down to our 4th choice because the bar was not stocked properly. The maid staff was terribly rushed. And yes, our rooms were rarely cleaned by the time we came back for the afternoon. We did enjoy the location, free/easy parking, & river/mnt views. Although we finally got the room we wanted and had the lovely views of Mt. Blanc, I still cannot recommend this hotel. Too many things wrong w/ management allowing such things to happen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandyp33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear guests,
First of all, I am really sorry about the troubles during your stay with us and I apologize for the inconvenience,
I do understand your negative opinion concerning your arrival and the attitude of the first member of the staff you met which was not corresponding to the image of the hotel, the second member of the staff who answered your requests did react properly and accordingly to our policy as we always make our best to satisfy our guests'wishes.
I do inform you that the person who welcomed you on the 1st of September was at the end of her contract and is no longer a member of the staff of the hôtel de l'Arve.
The bar and lounge area of the hotel are generally very quiet and relaxing places, it happened that a group was staying at the time of your stay and asked for many drinks at the bar that evening...We normally have large supplies at the bar to answer all orders,
Concerning the housekeeping staff, their shifts are from 9am to 4pm the latest. The hotel being full at that period they needed the all day to clean all the rooms, when requested in the morning they can clean your room at a specific time,
I am pleased that you finally had the rooms of your preference shortly after your arrival, and that you enjoyed the view and the location.
Thanks for your comprehension,
Best regards,
Emilie Poirot - Hôtel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The room was cozy, decorated like a log cabin, with a sliding door and a balcony overlooking the magestic Mont Blanc and the Arve river. Everything was sparkling clean, and there is also a clothe drying rack in the bathroom. The hotel staff was very friendly and the hotel has it own free parking lot. The view from the room was breathtaking, and the hotel is a short block from the town center. We have a wonderful stay and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed with a couple of friends at this cosy hotel in early October. Both our rooms were lovely, our friends were delighted to have picked the key for the room with a balcony overlooking Mont Blanc whilst we got a spacious, very comfortable room overlooking the back and side of the hotel. Hotel de l'Arve is centrally located, perfect for restaurants and shops and only a short walk away from the Cable Car to go up the Aiguille du Midi (highly recommended!) The relatively small size of the hotel made it feel more personal, staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfasts were very good. We would certainly stay there again and would happily recommend this hotel to any of our friends planning to visit Chamonix.

Room Tip: We were originally given a room at the top of the hotel which was smaller and darker than some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. the accommodations are very good. the rooms are very large and very clean. the design or layout is different from most, in that it affords a great deal of privacy for the persons sharing it. the separate wc is a big plus. the big breakfast with lots of choices is a great way to start the day. and the views are nothing short of spectacular!

Room Tip: some rooms have large private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milokathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Property: Hotel de l'Arve
Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing